Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fun Center Pools & Spas

Phone: (419) 756-1300 2172 West 4th Street, Mansfield, OH 44906 http://www.funcenterpools.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Since 1976 our family and staff has focused to provide our friends and neighbors with ultimate backyard experience. Experience better health and wellness with our large selection swimming pools, hot tubs & patio furniture from the best manufacturers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fun Center Pools & Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fun Center Pools & Spas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fun Center Pools & Spas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 04/01/1976 Business started locally: 04/01/1976 Business incorporated 02/13/2001 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael E. Getz, President Ms. Juanita Getz, Accounting
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael E. Getz, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair Furniture - Outdoor Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pools- Above Ground

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday, 10am-6pm
Saturday, 10am-4pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
Satisfaction guaranteed
Service Area
Richland, Ashland, Morrow, Crowford, and Knox counties, Ohio
Alternate Business Names
Fun Center Pools, Inc.
Products & Services

Swimming pools, supplies, hot tubs, service, patio furniture


Additional Locations

  • 2172 West 4th Street

    Mansfield, OH 44906

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Andrew G*** (salesman) Lied to us about features included in our new spa and because of his poor management we also had to pay to fill it ourselves. Salesman Andrew G*** lied to us about our new spa being blutooth capable, this was false and will cost us 1,000.00 to add this feature. Also he informed me a water delivery service was contracted and would fill the spa on the delivery date of June 3rd, and the delivery man never showed up. We have very hard water that could have harmed the spa so since it was the weekend we had to pay 200.00 to have the water delivered last minute. I called their service department on the 3rd about a question on the spa and still have received no answer. After contacting Andrew about all these issues he promised to install an audio system at no charge for us because of his poor handling of this. I cannot reach Andrew after over a week. I no longer wish to do business with them and would like my total cash purchase price of 5,897.68 refunded and for them to come take the spa in the pristine condition I received it. We were forced to pay cash so I want my refund as cash.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to refund my paid in cash amount of 5,897.68 the same way we paid in cash. They can have the hot tub back in the same pristine condition I received it on these terms.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/06/17) */ ******************************************************************************************************************** At Fun Center Pools & Spas, we strive to conduct business at the highest level of professionalism and transparency to provide the customer with the assurance that they will be taken care of and provide the clearest picture as to what owning a pool or hot tub entails. Despite this we will make mistakes and we do our best to correct them fully and in a timely manner. Like all customers ***** and ******* had many questions about owning a hot tub including what does it take to maintain them, how do they get installed, and such. Like most of our recent sales we communicated through multiple channels; email, Facebook, phone, and eventually they stopped in the the store to see the display model in person. Nothing out of the ordinary. After some back and forth negotiating on the price, ***** and ******* took advantage of our promotion receiving the Hot Spot Relay with a free upgrade from the Basic Package to the Essentials Package. As part of the negotiating, ***** and ******* agreed to purchase the display model for a final amount of $5,897.68 by either cash or check and on 5/20/2016 they secured the hot tub by paying with a check. After the sale ******* reached out asking if we offered a water hauling service due the hard water at there house. We informed her, as we do with all pool and hot tub customers, that we do not haul water but could coordinate the timing and the water hauler will bill them directly. They accepted those terms and we scheduled the water hauling. The afternoon before the delivery we informed ******* that the water hauler may not make it on the day of the delivery due to recent issue with getting water that had caused jobs to get backed up. Then on Friday 6/3/2016 we delivered the hot tub to ***** and *******. That afternoon we received a voicemail and email from ******* with questions about the delivery pertaining to the water, the missing owners manual, and a potentially missing jet. Via email we confirmed that the jet in the picture was correct and explained that it is a return jet for the ozonator. Later via phone ******* agreed that we would mail the owners manual Saturday 6/4/2016 and we would pass along an update about the water as soon as we heard from our water hauler. Saturday morning at 10:00am, when the store opened, ***** picked up the owners manual. On Monday morning 6/6/2016 we received a phone call from ***************s, the manufacture of Hot Spot Spas, about a customer that expressed a bad experience with the hot tub purchase and delivery. Later that morning we also received an email from ******* expressing the same things ***************s informed us of. We followed up with ******* that day to better understand the frustration and found that they felt mislead because the floor model showed a bluetooth audio system and they did not receive it. We apologized and explained that the bluetooth audio was not included on the hot tub but rather an option. We also checked the brochures for a misprint about the audio, the display sign to see if there was a misprint on the accessories included in the essentials package, and the signed sales order, all of which showed the bluetooth audio was an option and not included. However, we recognized that it may have been confusing to see the display model with the optional audio system, even tho it was not part of their sale, and because of the expense they incurred by sourcing there own water prior to the water hauler arriving the following morning, so on 6/7/2016 we agreed, over the phone, to install the bluetooth audio system at no additional charge to ***** and *******. We asked for 1-2 weeks to do the installation due to the extremely high work load for our service technicians to which ******* agreed. On 6/15/2016 and 6/16/2016 we planned to install the bluetooth audio system but due to unforeseen issues on earlier jobs and weather the service technician were not able to install the audio. On 6/17/2016 a voicemail was left with ***** and ******* to confirm that the service technician would be heading to perform the installation until we cancelled it due receiving a BBB complaint from *******. We do not wish for any of our customers to have a poor experience, but do recognize that from time to time it will happen so we do our best to resolve the issues and correct the problems. We have continually tried to meet the requests of ***** and ******* and will continue to, with in reason, until this is resolved and they are satisfied with the purchase and services performed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/06/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As offered by Mike G***, owner of Fun Center Pools and Spas,I am willing to return the hot tub next week minus the amount of $545.84 from my total purchase price of $5,897.38 to cover delivery charges and chemical use. I will agree to this as long as the company confirms a scheduled pick up and gets here by next week to remove the hot tub and pays me the total amount of $5,351.54 via Fun Center Pools and Spas company check. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/06/24) */ Fun Center Pools has offered to return the hot tub and refund customer by company check. The hot tub is scheduled for pick up on Thursday, June 30th Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2016/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Fun Center made it clear they would only take back the misrepresented hot tub if I agreed to let them keep 545.00 to cover delivery and chemicals. I do not feel this is a fair amount but it was the only way they would take it back. I am not satisfied at all with this except the fact that I no longer have to work with them. Since free chemicals and delivery were part of our original cost, I am sure they will make money on this either way,and they care very little we lost money because of their dishonesty. I will go ahead and close this because they are unwilling to be fair but I am in no way satisfied and to save others this hassle i will leave appropriate feedback.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fun Center Pools & Spas
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)