Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Great Escape (Ohio Locations)

Phone: 70833960601109 Fax: (330) 467-4565 8163 Golden Link Blvd, Macedonia, OH 44067-2066 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.shopthegreatescape.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Great Escape (Ohio Locations) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Great Escape (Ohio Locations) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Great Escape (Ohio Locations)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 2011 Business started: 05/01/1972 Business started locally: 05/01/1972 Business incorporated 12/22/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Coughlin, Ohio General Manager Mrs. Shannon Hill, CS Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Coughlin, Ohio General Manager
Customer Contact: Mrs. Shannon Hill, CS Mgr
Business Category

Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Awnings & Canopies Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Billiard Equipment & Supplies Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales Furniture - Outdoor Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

Alternate Business Names
The Great Escape The Great Escape of Ohio Universal Pool Corporation

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Great Escape (Ohio Locations) has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8163 Golden Link Blvd

    Macedonia, OH 44067-2066 70833960601109

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: unprofessional pool install. The top rails were not installed properly on two sections. Top rails are not aligned properly, rail caps to cover screw area, doesn't cover screw area as intended, pool buckleing on one side. Why the pool installers left the pool in that state is beyond me. The situation was very visible. We refused to fill with water till issue was serviced. Contacted sales person Shane (************)and pool contractor to service pool before filled with water, sent picture of area. Pool contractor ( Shea * N*****, ************)stated it's OK to fill pool, whenever they are in the area they will stop by and fix it, the issue can be serviced. Conversed with Amy S******, ************ a couple of times about concern of pool she also stated it was OK to fill pool. I didn't see how it could be serviced properly when filled with water, but the experts kept stating it's OK to fill with water, it's a 5 minute fix, just a matter of unscrewing the screws and moving it over, so we went a head and filled the pool with water. The pool installers arrived 6 days later and stated they cannot fix the issue with the pool filled with water. Now what? Amy and Shea said to go a head and fill the pool and we did. I cannot have the issue fixed properly and I also have a large water bill to pay now. Apparently the pool must be drained to fix the issue. Who is gonna pay the water bill for this? Product_Or_Service: 54" x 24' complete pool pkg. Order_Number: Acct# **** Account_Number: inv. ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to have the issue fixed and have my extra expense of the water billed paid or issue a refund and come and get your pool.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/05/24) */ The swimming pool installer was able to correct all issues with the pool to the customer's satisfaction. We are very sorry about the confusion in regards to filling/draining the pool. The repairs were made without draining the pool. The Great Escape strives for 100% customer satisfaction and we appreciate your business. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/05/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I'm very glad the installer was able to fix the issues without draining the pool.

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An online order with wrong product was sent to me.Multiple emails and calls have been made to ask for correct product and return info with no response I placed an online order for a set of billiard balls on 2/16/15. Order # *****. Cost was $109.00 Was informed the item was shipped on 2/25/15. I received a shipment form the company on 3/1/15 that was not the set of billiard balls that were ordered. I went to the website where it told me to email customer service which I have done 3 times now. I was notified that my email was very important to them, but never an actual response on correcting my order. There is a phone number to call as well for returns listed on the web page. I have called this # multiple times during business hours always ending up on an answering machine. I have left 3 or 4 messages again all without a return phone call. There is no other contact information on the website for internet orders. I am sure calling one of the retail stores is not going to provide any assistance. Very frustrating. I am sure they do most of their business in retail stores but the online part of their store seems like a bait and switch with no recourse once the incorrect product is sent out.

Desired Settlement: I just want to send the product they sent me back and have the correct product sent to me. If they don't have it refund me my money. I don't want to pay for the return shipping as they are the ones who pulled the wrong item and sent it to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/03/25) */ We are sorry for the delay. The correct item has been re-shipped via UPS on tracking number ******************. There is no need to return the incorrect item. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2016/03/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I finally heard back from the company. Once I did the correct product was sent to me and I received it without any problems. Once I heard back from them the customer service was promt and professional.

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My pool liner and wall are covered under warranty, damaged, now unusable. Attempted to seek assistance at Avon and N. Olmsted locations. Contacted Avon location via phone, explained that my liner had holes, needed to order new liner. Was quoted price, I responded that my liner came with a warranty, was told not for just holes in liner, you can repair/patch yourself. So I went to location, purchased patch kit and spoke to employee because now one of the walls was coming down. He explained that the wind was causing it to fall-it was not windy at all mind you. I came home took photos and called again. I was told via phone patch it up, fill it up, it will push the walls up, no problem. I began to patch holes and noticed a rip along the main middle seem, after patching everything and filling it up the wall problem became worse. It was separating from the top ledge in more than one place. I took more photos and went up to Avon location. Showed manager photos and he now tells me that the post lifted up from the ground due to freeze /thaw and that he had a couple guys that could do it for me, or I could drain the pool, take the ledge off, pound the post in and have someone stand inside pool and hold wall up while it was filling. I left and promptly called the N Olmsted location. I explained everything that had previously happened to the manager Brian G***. He said he wasn't that familiar with the warranty process but would look into it and call me back, in the meantime to email him pictures or damage and liner. So I emailed him many pictures. He called me back only to say that they don't handle the warranties in house and that I would have to contact the maker of the liner myself, Swimline, and fill out the paperwork with them, as far as my wall he said there was nothing he could do to fix the damage(even though it is under warranty as well). On the Swimline website it clearly states that when a liner is bought all warranty info should be provided by the The Great Escape to the customer, which obviously isn't happening because we never got a copy of the warranty and the manager did not even know how to proceed for the warranty. Even on the Great Escape website it states to contact the Great Escape for any problems. I had no idea who swimline was or anything, and come to find out that the warranty is prorated so I still have to pay 70% of the liner cost myself in addition to installation of the liner. None of that is made aware to the buyer when we purchased the pool. We paid extra money to have an upgraded package, parts,and warranty. Now we are stuck having received bad advice, given the run around, and now and empty pool we can't use because of them.

Desired Settlement: I want a new liner installed, and the pool wall fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/19) */ Installation date for this pool is 2009. The Great Escape offers a one-year labor warranty on swimming pool installs. The customer went into the Avon store and spoke with a salesperson in mid-May. She showed him pictures of what her pool looked like. He explained to her that the damage to her pool was caused by ice pushing up a few of her uprights on her pool over the winter. He explained how to fix the problem and offered to send an installer out to do the work. He also explained that winter damage is not covered by the manufacturer's warranty so all charges for the repair would be her responsibility. The customer told the salesperson that her husband could handle the repair and she did not want to pay any money. The Avon store has not been contacted by the customer since that day. The customer then e-mailed the North Olmsted store on 6-3-15 showing a patch on the bottom of her liner asking about warranty. The salesperson gave the customer the phone number for the manufacturer of the liner and explained that the liner warranty covered seam separation only not puncture holes. The customer stated she would be contacting the manufacturer. The Great Escape is willing to work with all customers where issues arise. We would be happy to connect the customer and our installers at a reduced rate for the repair but certainly some financial responsibility falls on the customer after the one year warranty has expired. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1)Per my original complaint I did the following steps before contacting the N. Olmstead location due to lack of service and further damage to my pool caused by following Avon's "advice"--- Contacted Avon location via phone, explained that my liner had holes, needed to order new liner. Was quoted price, I responded that my liner came with a warranty, was told not for just holes in liner, you can repair/patch yourself. So I went to location, purchased patch kit and spoke to employee because now one of the walls was coming down. He explained that the wind was causing it to fall-it was not windy at all mind you. I came home took photos and called again. I was told via phone patch it up, fill it up, it will push the walls up, no problem. I began to patch holes and noticed a rip along the main middle seem, after patching everything and filling it up the wall problem became worse. It was separating from the top ledge in more than one place. I took more photos and went up to Avon location. Showed manager photos and he now tells me that the post lifted up from the ground due to freeze /thaw and that he had a couple guys that could do it for me, or I could drain the pool, take the ledge off, pound the post in and have someone stand inside pool and hold wall up while it was filling. This "advice of how it could be fixed" makes no sense whether I do it or someone else because how would someone hold a wall up for over 8 hrs while the pool is being filled up by a garden hose??? My next issue with their response is- I do not have a husband, so how could I say my husband would do it, and that I wasn't going to pay money for it wasn't an option because no prices were ever discussed with this manager while I was there showing him my pictures. 2) I called the N Olmstead location first, that's how I got his email. I attempted to resolve it again over the phone, per my previous complaint----promptly called the N Olmsted location. I explained everything that had previously happened to the manager Brian G***. He said he wasn't that familiar with the warranty process but would look into it and call me back, in the meantime to email him pictures or damage and liner. So I emailed him many pictures. He called me back only to say that they don't handle the warranties in house and that I would have to contact the maker of the liner myself, Swimline, and fill out the paperwork with them. Per my previous complaint---On the Swimline website it clearly states that when a liner is bought all warranty info should be provided by the The Great Escape to the customer, which obviously isn't happening because we never got a copy of the warranty and the manager did not even know how to proceed for the warranty. Even on the Great Escape website it states to contact the Great Escape for any problems. I had no idea who swimline was or anything, and come to find out that the warranty is prorated so I still have to pay 70% of the liner cost myself in addition to installation of the liner. None of that is made aware to the buyer when we purchased the pool. Swimline customer service informed me that whether its seam seperation or holes, they don't ask for any pictures, they only ask that you fill out the form and mail it back with 70% of the original cost. They mail you a new liner, which then needs to be installed. So what kind of 10 yr warranty is on this liner if I have to pay 70% and pay to have it installed. As for my walls I asked how they could be repaired and was told to use 2x4's with a clamp to straighten them out, otherwise there was nothing that could be done. How does that work really??? How do you physically put clamps on a pool wall with 2x4's?? The pool itself structurally is supposedly warrantied, but noone has mentioned yet to me about that or to have someone come look at the continued damage caused by following the Great Escape's "advice". I have repeatedly tried to contact them via phone, email, and in person to resolve my problem before contacting the BBB and continue to get the run around with no results. If the liner and pool are covered by warranty then why would I still have to pay their installers?? I absolutely refuse to have service by the Avon location, I have repeatedly had problems with them over the years with various issues regarding my pool, this is the last time I will be given the run around by them. If the N Olmsted location can provide me with service I will absolutely be willing to work with them but only after receiving concrete explanation of what needs to be done to repair my pool, and with what price if any, for repairs done to my "warrantied" pool. Thank You. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/07/16) */ An inspection of the pool and liner was done on 7/14/15. A repair plan and estimated cost was provided to and agreed upon by the customer. The Great Escape has committed to having the repair done in 7-10 days.

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had the pool for less than three months and removed stairs to winterize and found that a 3-4 inch impression in the liner and base. It caused the liner to stretch to the point several holes appeared. The local dealer from which it was purchased was contacted (Mr. ****** Youngstown, Oh) who became very argumentative with my father, almost to the point of tears. Only after I made a trip to speak with Mr. ****** and only after he also became aggressive toward me did he agree to look at the issue. He showed up after dark to try to inspect the issue with the use of my flashlight and when I attempted to explain the obvious problem again he again became argumentative offering no costumer support for my issue and stated it is usual for holes to show up and large impression and used a used car analogy for our 3 month old pool. He then proceeded to walk away while I continued to question him about the issue and possible fix and once at his car he yelled if I contact a lawyer he will be unable to speak about or resolve the issue. Also several people witnessed Mr.******'s aggressive demeanor and lack of costumer service. I feel the defect is not a normal issue for a pool that is less than three month old and should be covered under one of the two warranties in the purchase agreement. It may be an issue with improper installation of base material (sand not be smoothed and compacted) or liner defect. I have witnessed or been approached by a business manager with such an aggressive attitude and total lack of consumer rights. I feel this may be the only avenue to remedy our disheartening situation. Thanks

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like a liner replacement and a different dealer representative to handle my issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/18) */ My name is *********** and I am the store manager for The Great Escape in Boardman, OH. Mr. **** (your father) came into the store yesterday and said when he took the ladder out of the pool he noticed a small puncture in the liner and asked what the warranty was on the liner. I informed him it only covered seam separation but the good news is, liners are easily patched. He thought the warranty should also extend to punctures and the analogy I used was if you had a two month old car and it got a door ding, the dealer (or manufacturer) would not replace or repaint the car. I was not argumentative at all and your father was not on the verge of tears. He said he was not happy and I apologized. You came to the store at approximately 4PM and became very aggressive with me, insisting that it was our responsibility to repair the liner. You then told me the liner had a 4" depression in it causing the liner to tear. I told you I would stop out after work at 8PM and take a look. You insisted on getting my corporate number which I gave to you. At 8:15PM I arrived at the house and looked into the pool. The area where the step was attached to the deck showed no visible signs of indentation but an area about 4' away had a small round indentation that appeared to be about 1/2" deep. There was no tear as you described, and no visible punctures but your father had said they were pinholes so they would not likely be visible to the naked eye. I reiterated it was not a warranty issue, you were unhappy with this and were quite aggressive in your response so I excused myself and left. The Great Escape strives for 100% satisfaction. We apologize that we did not meet your expectation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The issue was resolved at a higher level than Mr. ****** who's facts seem to defer from ours. In the end we are satisfied with the compromise and did receive a new liner. Thanks BBB Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/09/29) */

7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Manager who stated his name was ****, was extremely rude, condecending, and unhelpful. This person was asked for a size of a pool filter. Refused 6/19/14 10am. Hung up on me twice, refused to let me speak to anyone else. Stated he would not give me any info to order supplies online which was never in consideration. Would not give me a supervisor/owner name to call back and speak too. Stated he would only give me information if I came into the store and bought it there.

Desired Settlement: Would like to be able to address a supervisor or owner in regards to the outrageous behavior of their staff member.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ I left a message for ****** on the phone number she provided, but have not heard back from her yet. I did call and speak with not only **** at my ******* location, but also ***** who ****** also spoke with. I went over the serious nature of the complaint with both employees and how to better handle situations of this nature in the future. I let **** know that kind of behavior will not be tolerated and is unacceptable in any circumstance. I will try to reach out to ****** Farmer again if I do not hear from her in the next few days. ****** on behalf of The Great Escape I would like to appologize for how you were treated and if yuo ever need anything in the future please feel free to call me directly. ************************** Regional Manager

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought spa it worked less than a week and called for service. Told them parts needed. They showed up late without parts and now delayed another 2 wek Bought a spa and had it delivered, had electric installed on may 30th and everything worked. On 6/2 it quit working and we call great escape for service. They gave us a two week appointment. In the meantime I had my electrician troubleshoot the issue. We took pictures of part and sent to service asking they bring the part with. Told that would not be a problem. Repair man showed up two hors late without the part claiming he gave it away earlier. Now we are told we have to wait another two weeks. I had this repair planned to meet a party I planned, which didn't work and now we have to wait another two weeks. Yet we are making payments on something that isn't working

Desired Settlement: Want the spa fixed this weekend

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ Part was ordered with overnite shipping. Spa technician was dispatched to customer's home on 6/20/14. Part has been replaced and spa is running.

5/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 27' above ground pool and a hot tub, both very nice, for close to $10,000.00, September 2013 from Great Escape in North Olmsted. The salesman told us "not to worry" when we asked: what if there are any problems with the pool? Because the installers could not deliver/install for a couple weeks and we were not going to have it running till spring 2014. We were told, when making a purchase late in the year they don't start the guarantee till the following season as the equipment wouldn't be in use for several months. So we had the electrician hook everything up and the installers from ******************** (sent by/work for: great escapes)set up the pool. We called great escape when they finished to inform them we had the wrong pump AND the **************** left behind 1 1/2 bags (approx. 750) screws. We didn't know if the pool was properly installed or not. April 2014, excitedly waiting a few more weeks to open the pool and prepare for family, grand babies and pool fun we find the pool cover sunk in the pool, a torn liner, the side pulled out and most of the water drained. We called the pool company immediately, they said they would see what they could do and try to give us a deal. A deal!! We have never used the pool or turned on the pump, not once. The final "help" response they gave us tonight was that they would replace the liner and what we needed but we would need to pay $400.00 for them to fix the liner. We already paid a lot for install once. Then we need to pay to fill the pool again. Thank You Product_Or_Service: 27' above ground pool

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We would like the GREAT ESCAPE to send "********************" or a company of their choice to fix all the pool install problems for no charge. Since we already paid a lot to purchase AND install without any use we don't feel we should have to pay again. We also aren't sure it was ever installed properly to begin with. Thank You

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/26) */ On 08-29-2013 the customer purchased a 27' pool packaged and it was install shortly after that. In March of 2014 they emailed me pictures of their pool that had winter wind storm damage to it. The wind pulled the winter cover off along with part of the frame which holds the liner. The liner was pulled off the top of the pool wall allowing the water to drain out.unfortunatly no warranty covers storm damage.The customer did not want to involve their insurance company so what we did to help him out was give him a new liner at no charge replaced the parts that needed replaced at no charge and drastically reduced the labor to repair the pool. As of Saturday 04/26/2014 The customer and I came to this agreeable conclusion. Thanks *** The Great Escape Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not agree that the damage is from wind, why didn't this happen sooner then? The "wind damage" is what the store came up with to put it on us instead of them. We called them after the pool was put up and told them we had a lot of screws left over and we didn't think the pool was installed correctly. They didn't come check it, they told us they were sure it was fine. Then the frame became dented while trying to get the liner out and now they told us to put shovels against the sides to help prop it up for support during the high winds and storms that are expected this coming week. We wonder why they didn't have the installers come out the very next day instead of a week and a half later. We should have been a priority. They want us to file with our insurance but why should we have a claim against us for a pool we have never used! Our new pool already looks worn, torn and tattered. Thank You Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/05/12) */ I spoke to Mr ****** in late winter or early spring about the wind damage and the plan to replace the liner and all the parts he needed at no charge even though no manufacturers warranty covers acts of God. We also agreed on the greatly reduced labor charges. The *************** scheduled the repair and completed the repair. Mr ****** paid the bill. Last year I went out and inspected the installation of the pool it was installed properly.

4/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We found a rusted out hole in our above ground pool we purchased from Great Escape. We've only owned the pool for less than two years. 2/21/14 - we found a rusted out hole in our above ground pool we purchase from Great Escape 2/22/14 - visited store where I purchased the pool to let them know of issue; **** told me to email ****, the store manager, with details including pictures of the hole and my invoice number 2/27/14 - still hadn't received an email or phone call from my local store or **** 2/27/14 - in the morning I emailed the local store again 2/27/14 - in the afternoon I called the corporate office of Great Escape and a customer service rep had me leave a voicemail with ***; I left my contact info on ***'s voicemail requesting he call me back 2/27/14 - late in the afternoon **** ****** (store manager) emailed me and stated "I sent the pictures over to our corporate office on the 22nd of Feb. They then send them to ****** (the pool manufacture)." 3/5/14 - I emailed **** ****** and asked what is the plan to get this fixed. 3/7/14 - still no word back from **** ******, TGE corporate or ****** 3/7/14 - it has been two weeks and no one has committed to fixing this issue so I am filing a BBB complaint in an effort to force someone at Great Escape to resolve this issue

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a replacement pool wall including the labor to make the repairs. We purchased this pool because we were told it would not rust out. *********** told us "I have been here for 5 years and this is the first pool wall issue like this that I have seen." I consider the product defective and it should be replaced. Since we paid for The Great Escape to assemble the pool originally we are seeking the labor to make the repairs also be included in this settlement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/12) */ To whom it may concern, We have received the complaint from Mr. **********. I have been in contact with Mr. ****. We are dealing with the manufacturer and this process takes time. This is not an issue that gets resolved over night. I have assured him that I am doing everything I can to have this issue resolved. I will contact you when it has been resolved. Thank you. *********** Store Manager The Great Escape-Canton Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** has been responding to me but so far the manufacturer has ignored my Warranty Claim # **********. It has been nine days since I uploaded all the info and they have not responded. **** is great to work with but neither The Great Escape or the manufacturer have agreed to replace the defective part. It has now been 31 days since I contacted The Great Escape and I'm still waiting to hear how this will be resolved by The Great Escape or the manufacturer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/27) */ In response to the above letter. The customer has to realize that the manufacturer handles their own warranty issues. I have been trying to speed this process along and it will be handled. He states that the Great Escape has not responded to this. The next sentence he says "**** has been great to work with". I am the representative for the Great Escape. This issue will be resolved. We would not be doing anything to his pool for another month. I know it is a process but he simply is being being very impatient. I will contact you when this issue is resolved. *********** Store Manager The Great Escape-Canton

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor customer service. We purchased an 18foot pool on 6/6/13. The sales person encouraged us to upgrade the pool filter but never informed us that the pool panels come as one piece nor were we informed that the pool had to have a special pump to remove water from the top cover.As a result 3 panels buckeled and are not replacable. I called the store and was told thats the chance you take living in North East Ohio, there is nothing they can do. Sales rep.(*****) eager to sell the pool and the up graded filter but apparently lacked the knowledge to inform us of what additional items we needed to care for the pool in the winter.Maybe he just didnt care. Either way we are now out 2268.46

Desired Settlement: The exact same pool, installed at no charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/25) */ I spoke with Mrs. ****** on Monday February 24th about this situation. I informed her that this is an unfortunate situation that no one can predict or stop from happening. It is a result of the harsh winter we are experiencing. It occurs when a quick thaw melts the ice on the side of the pool and allows the top solid block of ice the shift. That being said, I also let her know that The Great Escape and myself are here to help in all ways that we can. She is sending me pictures of the damage so I can better assess the situation and see what can be done. This type of damage is not covered under manufacturers warranties. Also the ******s did hire a third party to close their swimming pool, not The Great Escape. But I am not here to point fingers or blame. I will work with the ****** family to get this situation resolved in a fair manner. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am willing to accept this response as long as the company follows through as promised with a new poolwall and replacing the liner if it is damaged.

11/25/2013 Delivery Issues
8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yard destroyed by their hired out contractor when pool delivered. Pool installed with a broken pump, liner is a bumpy mess and not one ordered. We ordered our pool from *** ****** at the Great Escape on 6-01-13. Mr. ****** was an excellent salesperson. We ordered an above ground 15 x 30 oval pool for approx $5800. The pool was delivered the first week of June. On 27 June 13 the contracted out installers hired by Great Escape came to our home to install the pool. The Great Escape sent out **** ******** of ** ********** to level our yard for the pool and install it. We paid Mr. ******** an additional $575 for the extra grading. Mr. ******** brought his bobcat and it had tank tracks instead of regular wheels. Mr. ******** started at the sidewalk on the side of our home (we live on a corner lot) and drug his bucket dropped back and forth across our yard to the pool causing an absurd amount of damage to our yard. We expected some work to need to be repaired but not our entire side yard to include the devil strip. As soon as he took our check he bolted for another job. The workers he brought continued to put up our pool after he left. I was then made aware the wrong liner was sent. They scrambled to even find a liner the correct size and I ended up with one I didn't even choose when I placed my order in the store. It was not until after they left and the water tanker came that we realized they installed a broken pump. I called the store and the manager a week later came to our home to bring us a new pump and look at the yard. The manager **** had forgot to even bring the new pump and told us we had to call **** ******** about the yard. Finally almost 2 weeks later after the water just sitting in the pool **** sent another kid to install our pump. On 8 July 13 my husband and I went to pool school offered by **** the store manager. We then informed him that we had finally gotten into our pool and the liner was a bumpy mess and friends had even commented on how bad it was. He informed us he would contact **** ******** and have him contact us about it. After a week and no call we called again to the store. Within a few hours Mr. ******** showed up at our house. He approached us with attitude the minute he got out of his vehicle. I explained the pool issues and he told me there was water in it and maybe by next summer it would even out. So I said what your saying is **** that you are not going to do anything am I correct? He replied maybe it will settle with the freeze and thaw periods. Basically, too bad. I had friends over at the time and they even tried to tell him to no avail. We paid for this pool through their credit card called a Splash Card. Credit card number **** **** **** **** As of today 7 August 13 we have not heard one more thing from Mr. ******** or the Great Escape. I think someone should have followed up with things and I should not have to keep calling them chasing them down. I am paying monthly on a pool that was nothing but a disaster from the beginning.

Desired Settlement: I paid $5800 plus the extra $575 for a pool that is not what I was shown would turn out like. The pools they show you in store are beautiful and fault free. It was embarrassing having friends and family over this summer and being told over and over how wrong it all is (liner, pump issues, problem resolving time frames and yard) and how we got ripped off. I have been researching cost on a 15x30 oval pool and they run anywhere from $1500 to $2000 for the pool itself. I feel our bill should be for the cost of the pool only so at max $2500.00. I should not have to be liable for crappy installation issues, lack of proper ordering on liner, failure to make sure equipment works properly before leaving the site with a broken pump, poor workmanship with a bumpy liner across entire pool and Mr.********'s personal attitude issues when told we are less than satisfied with his work. I also feel it was wrong for the Great Escape to expect me to handle the contractors they hire out for their company. They contract them to represent them.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/12) */ On 8-12-2013 I called **** ******** to discuss the issues in the complaint she filed with the BBB. After a lengthy discussion we agreed on a course of action to rectify the situation. She seemed very pleased with the conversation and will be notifying you that this case has been resolved. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I spoke with the manager in regards to this complaint. **** the manager agreed to give us a free liner to replace the one we have and was willing to put it in our file for us to receive free in the future. He also agreed to compensate us with some free items such as a winter cover, chemicals etc. We discussed the contractor and that if things are not satisfied by next summer he will have the contractor drain the water and fix the issues and refill the pool on the contractors dime. I accept this response from **** as he was very apologetic and willing to do his best to resolve our issues.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Great Escape (Ohio Locations)
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart