Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

The University of Akron

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 972-7111 Fax: (330) 972-8652 View Additional Phone Numbers 302 East Buchtel Avenue, Akron, OH 44325 http://www.uakron.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The University of Akron include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The University of Akron
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970
Business Management
Ms. Lori Meek, Advertising Manager Mr. Larry Burns, Vice President for Advancement Ms. Becky Hoover Denise Moss, Director of Business Office Dr. Scott Scarborough, President Ms. Dana Zaratsian, Office of the President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Meek, Advertising Manager
Customer Contact: Denise Moss, Director of Business Office
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
University of Akron

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    302 East Buchtel Avenue

    Akron, OH 44325

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Buchtel Hall Room 114

    Akron, OH 44325-4702

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not be able to get my assoicate degree in the spring semester class. I have workas a part time employee in the dinning service for the university of akron for 7 years and 3 to 4 years i never was told that the school would pay for my class because i was never told until last year someone told me and i try to take my final class in the spring and was denied because i didnt take a class but turn around and told me that i could right after the class have started Now since they wont pay for my class because another company bought out the dinning services from the University. I am one class away from graduating with a associates in web development

Desired Settlement: Allow me to take the classes that i cant take to graduate with a bachelor's degree and my associate

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/26) */ RE: Case number ********: ** ******** ****** Dear Ms.********: The above-referenced complaint was forwarded to my attention for a response. Material allegations raised in Mr. ******'s complaint are not accurate. Not only has Mr. ****** received the fee remission benefit to pay for classes at The University of Akron (UA) at least since Fall 2013, but according to our records, Mr. ****** is currently enrolled in one class for the fall 2015 semester and his remission for that class was approved and posted on August 12, 2015. Mr. ****** is currently a part-time employee in UA's Dining Services Department. For this reason, his request for fee remission to take a course this semester was approved. For these reasons, Mr. ******'s complaint is moot. If you would like more information, please feel free to contact me. Very truly yours, M.Celeste C*** Associate Vice President and Deputy General Counsel

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lying to potential students. False advertisement. Deceiving students. The University of Akron commonly lies to students at other colleges and technical institutes by saying their general education credits for things like English, Civil speech, etc will transfer over. And as is the case every time they do not. Once they snag you signed up and sometimes a few semesters in, the advisory finally breaks the news. None of these credits do in fact transfer over and you wasted thousands of dollars getting them in the first place only to be swindled by unfair recruiting practices to bolster the university's numbers and line their greedy pockets. Why is it that year after year 100s of students are fed lies? Why are they cheating so many students this way? Why can't they just be honest right off the bat and be upfront about the transfer policies. Rather they are vague at best! This is the only complaint I'm filing about this university. Although I could come up with about 20 more scandalous business practices at this institute easily. I'm a student at the university, this has never happened to me because I came here first for school. However I see it happening to so many students I thought I should say something.

Desired Settlement: I want the university to be open about it's practices in regards to transfer credits and the media to shed the light on this ridiculous scam. This has been going on for years without anyone saying a word. It's as if the community just accepts it as "the way it is". Well dishonesty should never be allowed to be "the way it is". And why you're at it call them out on slightly modifying text books every year or two so students have to keep buying 'new' additions. It's a racket! And the sad part is it's as nobody cares. It's bad enough we are plagued with debt to have to deal with additional senseless greed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/08) */ The business response was received by the Bureau via postal mail: October 31, 2013 **************************** Better Business Bureau of Akron 222 West Market Street Akron, OH 44303 Dear Mr. ******: Thank you for your letter of October 25. I am responding to the attached customer complaint (Case #********) you submitted to The University of Akron filed by Mr. ************ of ******************, ***************. According to your letter, a response is requested by November 8. Our transfer requirements are clearly specified on our web site as follows: Transferring Credit: http://www.uakron.edu/transferstudents/transferrinq-to-ua/transfer-resources.dot Transfer FAQs: http://www.uakron.edu/transferstudents/transferring-to-ua/transfer-resources.dot Transfer Equivalency Guides: http://www.uakron.edu/transferstudents/transferring-to-ua/transfer-guides.dot Ohio Transfer Module: http://www.uakron.edu/transferstudents/transferring-to-ua/transfer-resouroes.dot Transfer Assurance Guide: http://www.uakron.edu/transferstudents/transferrinci-to-ua/transfer-resources.dot Students are also provided with Degree Audit Reporting System (DARS) report access. As you will see from http://www.uakron.edu/registrar/services/darsstudent.dot, DARS is an online tool that helps students track progress toward a degree. DARS displays a student's academic record by showing which requirements have been fulfilled, which requirements are in progress and what needs to be completed to graduate. Our Transfer Office reviews DARS reports with students. Students may access online anytime they wish to confirm course transfer credits and which courses/requirements remain to graduate with a particular degree. Textbooks used for classes are selected by faculty and may include input by a department or college. In an effort to remain current on course content, faculty can and do opt for the latest edition to be required for their respective classes. New and used books are sold at our UA Bookstore. I hope this response has been helpful. Sincerely, We wish Mr. ***** continued success and would be happy to meet with him if he so desires. Sincerely, ********************************************** The University of Akron Akron, OH 44325-4710 ******************* The University of Akron is an Equal Education and Employment Institution


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The University of Akron
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)