Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American National University

Phone: (330) 676-1351 Fax: (330) 676-1407 3855 Fishcreek Rd, Stow, OH 44224 http://www.an.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American National University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American National University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American National University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2008 Business started: 01/15/1886 Business started locally: 01/15/1886 Business incorporated 01/01/1886 in VA
Business Management
Ms. Jamie Jackson, Campus Director Mr. Frank Longaker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jamie Jackson, Campus Director
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
National College National College of Business and Technology

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of accreditation and lack of getting what was promised when I started and finished have made the degree worthless I was told years ago that they were going to make the Health Information Technology Program accredited so we could get the certification necessary for jobs. They made promises over and over again that they were working on it. Since I left I have had job interviews and was told that since I am not certified in Health Information Technology that it was a waste of my time to apply. The degree that was given to me seems like it is not worth the paper it was printed on. In addition we were not even eligible to sit for the AHIMA certification because of the schools lack accreditation. I did see that other campuses that the school had that were far from the campus I attended there was a way to get the AHIMA certification. In addition while and after I attended the school has never had a department head so the program could be accredited by and make the students eligible for taking the AHIMA certification like I and other students at the time were promised. To me it seems as if the school was more interested in taking peoples money than focusing on what is necessary to make a degree that is offered worth something instead of a waste of thousands of dollars in student loans used for tuition.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting several ways that they can resolve this issue. 1.Transfer my student records to another and allow me to sit for AHIMA exam as promised to us in the beginning as I waited more than 2 years for the school to get the necessary accreditation and they have yet to get it for this campus. This should be done at no extra expense to me. Since I now reside out of Ohio and in the State of South Carolina I request that they allow me to do this from home or if needed I can travel to Roanoke to the main campus to handle the matter and if I have to travel I am seeking reimbursement for travel expenses. 2.If transfer cannot be done then I demand a complete refund for a degree that is worthless and was a waste of student loan and grant money I received while attending.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/06/01) */ Please see attached. Better Business Bureau of Akron 222 West Market Street Akron, OH 44303 RE: Case # ********: Ms. ************** Please find enclosed a letter that was mailed out to ************** on March 11, 2015. This letter was sent to the most recent address National College had on file for Ms. ****** (*****************************************). Please acknowledge that National College made the transition to University status; as the institution is now recognized as American National University. The letter, itself, addresses any questions or concerns pertaining to Ms. ******'s complaint filing with the Better Business Bureau. However, if additional conversation is requesting, I am personally available to address any needed assistance. Sincerely, Jamie J. ******* Campus Director AMERICAN NATIONAL UNIVERSITY 3855 Fishcreek Road Stow, OH 44424 330-676-1351 Office 330-676-1407 Fax **************** 3855 Fishcreek Rd, Stow, OH 44224-4305 an.edu AMERICAN NATIONAL UNIVERSITY Dear **************, The College would like to provide you with the opportunity to graduate from an accredited Health Information Management program and as a result, become eligible to sit for the RHIT certification exam. The courses will be tuition free. You will only assume the cost of books, membership to ANIMA, RHIT exam fees, and any other materials associated with online learning. You will enroll in three courses, namely Healthcare Management, the RHIT Exam Success Class, and Introduction to ICD-10-CM/PCS. These courses will be taken through the online division of the CAHIIM accredited program in Health Information Management at the Youngstown, OH campus. The courses will be offered entirely online. Additional information regarding online learning is provided in the enclosed handout and at https://www.an.eduionline. You may begin your first term as early as May 4, 2015; the registration deadline is April 17th. In order to take advantage of this opportunity you will need to take all three courses between May 4 and December 31, 2015. If you are interested in becoming a graduate of an accredited HIM program and becoming eligible for the RHIT examination, please contact us by calling 888.410.6109 or via email: onlineadmissionsPan.edu If you are not interested in this option, allow us to take the opportunity to remind you of the fact that several other certifications are available to you other than the RHIT. They are as follows: AHIMA's CCA, CCS, and CCS-P and AAPC 's COC , CIC, or CPC depending upon the type of setting you want to work for. For more information visit www.aapc.com/certification and www.ahirna.ore/certification. Regardless of your decision, we want you to have an opportunity to be successful in your career. Please let us know if we can do anything to help. Sincerely, *************, BS, AAS, RHIT, AHIMA-approved ICD-10CM/PCS Trainer Program Director of Health Information Management **************, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE Vice President of Academic Affairs — Health Science Ed


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American National University
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)