Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Construction and Remodeling Experts (C.A.R.E.) LLC is one of the leading roofing, remodeling and addition companies in Northern Ohio. We work with only the highest quality materials and experienced, professional craftsmen.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Construction and Remodeling Experts, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Construction and Remodeling Experts, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Construction and Remodeling Experts, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Business Management
Mrs. Lori Deel, Owner Mr. John Deel, Owner Mr. Lloyd Hilton, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Lori Deel, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Basement - Remodeling Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Windows Building Contractors Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Home Improvements Patio & Deck Builders

Products & Services

Certified Installer of Bilco (Sloped-wall & Sided)

Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1035 Rosemary Blvd Ste E

    Akron, OH 44306-3768

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to complete repair work on leaking and damaged garage roof. Has been saying they will fix it since Spring 2014 and will not return calls/mail I bought my house in March of 2014. The roof on the garage was in terrible condition, but it had a 10 year warranty (ending in 2018) Construction and Remodeling Experts fought with me to get the warranty transferred over to me, because it was non-transferable. After I got both of my realtors involved the owner, John D***, signed over the warranty to me in June 2014. I was promised that this work would be done by his office manager, Lloyd H***** and John D*** promptly. I was told by owner John D*** that they well get to me when they can because, and I quote "this job is not putting food on my kids table and the only reason I am doing this is because I liked the previous owner." I was told by his office manager, Lloyd H*****, "we will get to you before snow fall in 2014" The only thing that CRE did do was put a tarp over the roof early summer of 2014. With all of the hard rain we had last year, the rough winter we had, the roof is now in unacceptable condition. The wood on the top of the roof has rotted through to the point where you can see light and the back wall of the garage's wood is warped and I am afraid the integrity of the garage is now compromised. I have been documenting the progression of damage on the roof from when I bought the house until current day, via video and pictures--all available for BBB viewing. I sent a letter to Mr. John D*** roughly two months ago asking the progression of the work, and got no response. I am getting no response from his office manager, Lloyd H***** (************) and John D*** (************) after numerous calls and messages. If the work would have been done when promised, instead of letting all this time and bad weather go by the work would not have been as extensive as it is now. I want CRE to honor their warranty and have the work done right, top to bottom. After being thrown through the loop with this company since I bought the house in March of last year, it is my concern that the work will not be preformed to the extent of which it warrants and if it does not that they will not follow through with repair work in the future.

Desired Settlement: I want CRE to honor the warranty on the roof for the garage at ********************************. I want the work done right and in a professional manner and if follow up repairs are needed, I don't want to be treated unprofessionally and have it done in a timely manner. If this work is not to be completed by CRE I will have it estimated the correct and complete repairs by a company that will return my calls and mail attempts, and honor a warranty until 2018, and CRE can rein burst that company. I have a legal binding contract that has not been fulfilled by Construction and Remodeling Experts. This obviously is not a concern of them. When I bought my house I bought the garage and the roof and the warranty on the roof with it as it was stated is the description of the house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/04/24) */ I will make this very simple for all parties involved. The policy of Construction and Remodeling Experts is that we will transfer a warranty with the proper notification. This did not happen. The real estate people informed us that Mr. ******* was going to back out of the purchase of the home if we didn't transfer the warranty. We relented . We told them the warranty for his roof would transfer. However after transferring the warranty to the new owner, Mr. ******* we were able to take a look at this leak. We took photos of the damage . This "leak " had been going on for an extensive time. So instead of us having to fix a "leak " we were going to have to replace all kinds of wood . The previous owner and Mr. ******* did not inform us of this problem in a timely fashion. You don't call for a leak after 2 + plus years of leaking and expect our company to foot the bill. We told Mr. ******* that we would try to help him out . He constantly told us he was going to get an attorney and file suit against both the previous owner and us. We are under no contractual obligation to repair the work. The leak was reported to us after it had been damaged for years. We sent guys over to tarp it off several times. Our contract expressly states that written notification of damage to your home must be sent . Read the back of the contract which Mr. ******* was provided. If he didn't threaten us and my workers when they were there he might have gotten a better result. My attorney has told me that the buyer in this case did not live up to his part of the warranty therefore we are not liable for any damages to the home. If a roof leaks on drywall you don't wait until the entire ceiling collapses before you call your warranty. We scheduled a date after the warranty transfer to repair the leak . We saw it and realized they waited to long to call .I minor leak became major water damage. I'm sorry but it is not our responsibility. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/04/28) */ The consumer called BBB requesting mediation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Construction and Remodeling Experts, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)