Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Al Brown Construction, LLC

Phone: (330) 677-9247 Fax: (330) 677-9247 4777 Mogadore Rd., Kent, OH 44240


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Al Brown Construction, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Al Brown Construction, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Al Brown Construction, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 07/01/1976 Business started locally: 07/01/1976
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Al Brown Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Al Brown Jr., Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Patio & Deck Builders

Alternate Business Names
Al Brown Roofing & Construction
Industry Tips
Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 4777 Mogadore Rd.

    Kent, OH 44240 (330) 677-9247

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not finish the work he agreed to do. Also some of what he did do was not acceptable. We went into contract on 7-1-13. The contract was to do the following: Remove vinle siding on wall by slider doors, then remove doors, fill in opening to accommodate new windows and one French door. Re-side outside walls and add ne 1x8 barn siding on inside and matching same. Add insulation first and all trim work to complete job. Windows to consist of low e vynle clad with grills matching previously done on house windows. Haul away all debris. Material and labor. I copied this word for word from his estimate. The problem we had was with him finishing the interior wood. His first try in staining the wood was horrible. Finally after much debating with him on the stain not matching he did take down the wood and replace it. Instead of making an effort to match the wood he walked away from the job. When my husband called him he hung up on him and has not returned any of our calls. Also he did a poor job with the wood trim.

Desired Settlement: I have had to hire someone else to fix the trim and to do the staining. I would have liked for him to do the work but as I said he never returned any of our calls. I had to estimates, one was $985.00 and the other for $800.00 I paid Mr.********* $5200.00 in cash. I felt at the time that he was trustworthy since he had done previous work for us in the past. I was very surprised at his whole attitude this time. When I had a problem with the French doors locking his said to me "OH **** they worked yesterday" Later he found out that he had left a nail out which prevented the deadbolt from locking.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/26) */ First I would like to mention 85% of my business comes from referrals or repeat customers; including this customer who filed this complaint. I obviously have a good reputation or my customers would never recommend me to others. In my 35 years of working as a contractor, and taking over my father's business have I ever experienced any complaints. I also want to note, I have never cussed nor will ever cuss in front of a customer so her (the customer) "complaint" that I said, "Oh **** "is false. I also never hung up on her husband; I told him I was hanging up right now. This is the contract dated 7/1/2013, as stated, "Remove vinyl sliding on walls by slider doors, then remove doors, fill in opening to accommodate new windows, and one new French door. Re-side outside walls, and add new 1 X 8 barn siding on inside matching same. Add insulation first and all trim work to complete job. Windows to consist of low E vinyl clad with grills matching previously done on house windows. Haul away debris." ** There is no mention or noted in this contract that I am to stain or varnish any trim/boards. Here is a timeline of the transactions/work complete. 8/3/2013 - Job was started 8/7/2013 - I added the deadbolt and knob combo as a nice gesture (not included in the contract) when they paid me cash on 8/7/2013. I also took out steps to sliding doors, and had to add wood to bottom to fill voids - which also was not included in contract. Total cost of both was $350.00. 8/9/2013 - Finished 1 X 8 barn siding and trim boards then as a good gesture I tried to get a close match to previously polyurethane wood previously done 2 to 3 years earlier by someone else. She (the owner) looked in and the first words out of her mouth were, "This looks horrible," then all she (the owner) did was question things and complain. 8/10/2013 - Numerous times I tried to match the wood boards already stained with different stains, I had bought, to match tarnished polyurethane wood on existing walls. I could not match it to her (the owner's) satisfaction so I asked her (the owner) to see if she could find a match. 8/15/2013 - She (The owner) called me and said she found the perfect match at ******* ******** in Cuyahoga *****, so she asked me to pick it up. (I'm not sure why she couldn't have bought it and taken it home). 8/16/2013 - I picked up the stain she (the owner) agreed upon on the match from Sherwin ******** and it cost me approximately $15.00, and told her (the owner) I would be there on Saturday 8/17/2013 to stain. 8/17/2013 - I show up with the stain, and promptly stain a trial piece to see if she (the owner) liked it, and she (the owner) questioned if it was the right stain she picked. I started to stain the barn side wood, and she (the owner) questioned the stain color on the same piece of wood? It's barn siding so it has a grove in the wood, so one side of it I stained, then I stained the other side, and she said the stain didn't match. It was the same piece of wood with the same stain on it. So at this point, I decided to change out all previously done wood work and trim boards (which cost me over $300 plus one day of labor). During this time, she (the owner) had questioned if I used the right wood....Same wood as torn off! I finished putting in all new wood work per quote, and I left her (the owner) the stain and said the job is complete. I have finished everything in the contract as such: "Remove vinyl sliding on walls by slider doors, then remove doors, fill in opening to accommodate new windows, and one new French door. Re-side outside walls, and add new 1 X 8 barn siding on inside matching same. Add insulation first and all trim work to complete job. Windows to consist of low E vinyl clad with grills matching previously done on house windows. Haul away debris." I did not return phone calls because she is not be happy with anything I've done at this point as expressed in her letter that my trim work was unacceptable?! I feel I've gone above and beyond to do a good job, and added in extra gestures which were costs to me in materials and labor. It appears to be unappreciated that I tried to match their existing 2 to 3 year old stain throughout the house and staining was never included in the contract. As far as I'm concerned the job is complete as to the contract dated 7/1/2013. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/10/17) */ I am replying to Mr. *****'s response back to you.There are quite a few points that I do not agree with. First he did tell me that he would stain to match the existing wood. Also the wood is not just trim but three of the four walls (the room is done in knotty pine). He told me that he had changed all the wood, but later found that some around the windows was not. I have saved those pieces in case I need to go further with this and to show what a horrible match job he did. The person I hired to complete what Mr. ***** left unfinished was able to almost completely match my existing wood. It's such a shame that it had to come to this. I had recommended Mr. ***** to quite a few people, since he had done such good work for us previously. Also he has never mentioned how or why he had broken the ceramic tiles which are under our gas stove in that room. One other point I wanted to make is that during the entire job he kept complaining how many other jobs he needed to get to and wasn't sure how he was going to do get all those done. Again I am sorry that this had to come down to this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Al Brown Construction, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)