BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

A Ki Restoration, LLC

(330) 591-8477865 W Liberty St STE 170, MedinaOH 44256 Send email to A Ki Restoration, LLChttp://www.akirestoration.com ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A Ki Restoration, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A Ki Restoration, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor was contacted by my husband after a couple weeks set up meeting with insurance adjuster. Contractor no showed on us and adjustor 2 times.
A Ki had done a roof in my neighborhood and we were looking for a new roof so I contacted this company. They never returned my inquiry so I had my husband contact them via e-mail again and this was over 3 months ago. Contractor did come out and at this time informed us how it worked that they would submit claim to our insurance company we were planning on paying for. A new roof, but he said we may not have too. A couple weeks later my husband said insurance adjustor and contractor were coming out. Liberty mutual adjustor showed up, but the contractor never did after about a half an hour my husband called he said he put down the wrong date. So the adjustor turned in his information stating we did need repairs, just not a whole roof. When my husband called contractor back he insisted that if he was there it would have gone differently. The contractor then called the adjustor and left a somewhat unprofessional voicemail, stating that he did not know what he was doing. Over a month and. A half lat after I continually bugged my husband to Get a hold of A Ki another meeting was set up for this past Sunday. Insurance adjustor showed up promptly at 11 and contractor was no where to be found. My husband had even sent him a reminder e-mail earlier in the morning and never got a response. Contractor did not show up again. When my husband called he stated he had a family emergency and my husband stated we would not be using their company. I called office number 5-29-13 to state my frustration with the service and the lack of respect for ours and the insurance adjusters time. **** the contractor called me back and was very short, I examined that I had not called to speak with him, since I had his cell number and that is not what I had called. I simply wanted to let the company know how their customers were being treated. I am 6 months pregnant and wanted to get. A new roof before our baby arrived we started with plenty of time now this one contractor has cost us valuable time that we can not get back. I don't know if anything can be done or should be, but I definitely felt strongly that my voice should be heard. Since the company is not concerned with customer service i had to go this route. Thank you for your time
**********

Desired Settlement
None

Business' Initial Response
Sent: Wed, Jul 3, 2013 7:02:20 PM

A KI Restoration is a locally owned and operated business with wonderful customer service. We strive to be the best in every aspect of what we do for our customers. The estimator referenced ****, did unfortunately write down the wrong date for the first appointment with this customer. However, we are an honest Christian based company so he told them the truth that he had made a mistake and got the date wrong. Because we care about our customers he felt strongly that he could change the outcome of the situation with the insurance adjuster had he been present. So **** suggested that they reschedule the appointment. He then called the adjuster to try to speak with him and point out all the obvious damage areas and roof replacement laws relevant to this particular homeowner. He was very concerned about the insurance adjuster doing the right thing and treating these homeowners fairly. No harsh or disrespectful words were exchanged at any time, we conduct ourselves in a very respectful and professional manner. When the second insurance adjuster came out **** did have a medical emergency with one of his small daughters and again told the homeowner why he was not present. At this point he could sense the homeowners frustration and obviously we wanted to make it right. So we chose to release the homeowner from the contract they signed agreeing to work exclusively with our company. **** apologized to them and gave them detailed information about exactly what they would need to do to get their home approved for replacement. We have a very proactive and responsive team here at A Ki Restoration and we did all that we could to pacify and correct the situation to make these homeowners comfortable. Almost every employee at our company has a family and is very conscientious of our homeowners busy lives. We do what we do to try to lessen the financial and mental burden of getting a new roof especially when it's sustained storm damage. A Ki Restoration would like to offer a formal and sincere apology once more to these homeowners. We will always strive to build strong and lasting relationships with our community. Thank you.

10/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A contract was entered into as an insurance claim on 2/1/12. No work was done; company cashed insurance check.
Ib 2.1.12 I met with AKI Estimator, ***********, at my home regarding roof, siding, screen repair outside and repair to master bedroom from water damage. The company agreed to the do the work based on the claim ********** approved and would accept the initial $1,000 insurance check to cover the project and I would pay my co-pay at the time of completion. Mr. ***** left the company shortly after that and I made repeated calls to the company getting the receptionist only who promised to pass the message on until finally in August of 2013 I demanded to speak with a senior manager, who agreed to send out another estimator and get the work done. ************* came out on 9.11.13 and restarted the claim. I was wanting my money back since ********** had informed me that AKI had cashed the check without doing the work, but I agreed that if the company could get out and do the project, I would continue. Then, I could not get in touch with ***** any longer, left messages, no return calls. I became ill and did not follow up on the matter in the late fall and winter months due to poor health. Upon being released from hospital and skilled nursing facility in late July, I began trying to reach the company again because I had water in 3 rooms in my home because they had not done any of the work needed. I did reach ***** by phone and have learned that the company has folded and that there is a class action lawsuit in place.

Desired Settlement
I need to be part of the action and would like reimbursement of $1000 insurance plus $600.00 spend todate for repairs since July 2014.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AKi Failed to complete contracted roofing job.
Left me without agreed complete roof, took deductible and 1st half payment for job and never produced.
Aki rep *********** inspected roof along with my Insurance agent **************** in end of August 2013.
****** issued check for 3743.03 and my $500 deductible in September 2013. then Aki never would schedule the date for install. I called and spoke to the office rep 2 times to coordinate shingle color, set up color in October, but then they would not call back to schedule installation, they said it would be 1st thing in spring to install.
1 month later (January 2014) Another company called me to let me know they would complete the install. (Quicksilver restoration). after repeated calls I went to the address, they are closed up too.

Desired Settlement
Full settlement $4234.03 is required. I need to contract a new company to execute the originally contracted work by Aki.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A KI RESTORATION REPLACED OUR ROOF IN JANUARY 2013. NOW OUR ROOF LEAKS.
A KI RESTORATION REPLACED OUR ROOF IN JANUARY 2012. OVER THE PAST WINTER WE HAVE HAD LEAKS IN OUR LIVING ROOM IN 6 DIFFERENT SPOTS. WHEN WE HAVE TRIED TO CONTACT THEM THE PHONE NUMBER IS NO LONGER CONNECTED.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THE A KI DID GO OUT OF BUSINESS AND IF WE HAVE ANY RECOURSE TO HAVE OUR ROOF REPAIRED.

03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
compete roof replacement due to storm damage on our property remains uncompleted. Total settlement demand $5388.52.
A contract was signed with AKI Restoration for a compete roof replacement due to storm damage on our property at ****************, ***********. A Claim was filed with our homeowner's insurance and on 10/10/2013 check #**** in the amount of $5388.52 was made payable to Aki Restoration. The check was cashed and cleared our bank on 10/15/13. The roof job was to be completed no later than March 18, 2014. Since the date of the contract which was signed in October we have not heard from AKI Restoration and the roof job remains uncompleted.

Desired Settlement
The settlement amount we are seeking is for the total amount of the check paid to Aki inthe amount of $5388.52. We intend to file a lawsuit if unsettled. Our attorney is prepared to file suit against Aki Resoration or ***********************.

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman *** cut a piece of aluminum siding from my house to use as a "matching" sample for new siding. It was never repaired.
AKI was to replace the siding on my house. They cut a piece of aluminum siding from my house to use as a sample to match for newer siding. The estimate for replacing the siding was never turned into my insurance company. The salesman promised it would be repaired when the siding was replaced. Now I have a large hole in my siding.

Desired Settlement
I want the piece of aluminum siding that was damaged from them cutting a sample replaced. I was shown new sample pieces so I know they exist.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Garage Doors & Openers, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Windows, Doors, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/24/2012Business started: 12/13/2010
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph M. Allen (Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Garage Doors & Openers, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Windows, Doors, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Industry Tips
Roofing Contractors
Condensation on Windows
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 865 W Liberty St STE 170 

    Medina, OH 44256(330) 591-8477

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A Ki Restoration, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Roofing Contractors
Condensation on Windows
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

The following describes a pending government action that has been formally brought by a government agency but has not yet been resolved. We are providing a summary of the government's allegations, which have not yet been proven.

On December 3, 2014 Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine, filed a lawsuit in the Summit County Court of Common Pleas, charges Joseph Allen and A Ki Restoration with violations of Ohio's Consumer Sales Practices Act and Home Solicitation Sales Act. Specific counts include failure to deliver and failure to give consumers notice of their right to cancel.

Case Number: CV-2014-12-5365 is pending.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.