Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAA Akron Automobile Club

Phone: (330) 762-0631 Fax: (330) 762-5965 View Additional Phone Numbers 111 W. Center Street, Akron, OH 44308 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.AAA.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Akron Automobile Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AAA Akron Automobile Club include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAA Akron Automobile Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 12/26/1906 Business started locally: 12/26/1906
Business Management
Mr. Kevin Thomas, Vice President Ms. Gail A Lee, Secretary/Assistant Treasurer Mr. Brian W. Thomas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Thomas, Vice President
Business Category

Road Service - Automotive Airlines - Ticket Agencies Travel Agencies & Bureaus Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Auto Financial Services

Alternate Business Names
A A A Automobile Club Akron Automobile Association, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAA Akron Automobile Club has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Priceless. I call AAA emergency roadside assistance at 3:47 PM on 10/24/2015. We were in a dangerous area of I77S with Ptl Joel M***** Copley Police My granddaughter, daughter-in-law and I had a flat tire in a very dangerous section of I77 S. Office Joel M***** were present and asked me to tell AAA to get Stan's Towing, which was right up the road to come take care of our situation. I spoke with Jasmin call number **** from the Akron area AAA office. She refused to call Stan's and said she had to call Roger's, if was their area. I asked to speak to her supervisor, she said there were none there. I told her again that the police officer wanted the car moved because we were in a dangerous area. She said she had to call Roger's and it would be over an hour, I told her to call them and I was going to file a complaint because she was not following the direction of the law enforcement office. I waited an hour, so did Ptl. Joel M***** and then call back, I was told it would still be 20 minutes. I expressed my upset and told the dispatcher from Columbus that I wanted to talk to a supervisor. He called the Akron office and came back to the phone and said he was sorry but there was no supervisor available it should be 20 minutes. 20 minutes later I call again, I told them we were not in a safe place, as I had said before and it had been over an hour and half since we call. I was then told someone from Irace would be there shortly. I said that I was told Roger's and this dispatcher repeated and said Irace. When the driver showed up from Irace Automotive Repair, Highland Towing he showed me the paperwork that he got the call at 4:45 PM. My first call was made at 3:47 PM, he got the call nearly an hour after I call AAA. My family were in a dangerous place on I77 S all this time and AAA did not do what they promised, to provide the service necessary in a timely manner. They did not even call for the service until 58 minutes after my first call. This is inexcusable, we could have been killed sitting there! I told AAA we were not in a safe place!

Desired Settlement: The action of the Akron AAA office is inexcusable. This could have cost the life of one of my family members. I want a refund of my membership fees. I will find another organization who cares about people or I will handle it myself. I no long want to be associated with such an organization that would leave people in a dangerous situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/06) */ Virginia also contacted her club of membership (AAA Ohio Auto Club), requesting to talk about this issue that occurred in our (AAA Akron) territory. We worked with that club to provide a refund of $114.50 for her portion of the membership on that account. We took the opportunity to review the call, and to help educate the call receiver on their options when a customer makes a specific provider request, and especially when the member is in a potentially or particularly unsafe location. AAA Ohio Auto Club spoke directly with the customer to reach the amicable solution, and our Road Service customer service rep will also be following up with Mrs. H******* directly, per her request via AAA OAC.

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a tow and 5 hours later tow truck still had not arrived. Called back and driver told dispatch he was 5 min. away 25 min later, no arrival AAA account # is **********. Spoke with dispatcher on duty at that time, I believe her name was Donna. She did say her managers name was Bob. On June 23, 2015 at 9:15 am I called and requested a tow truck to pick up my disabled vehicle at ********************** and tow to ***************., the repair shop. I was told tow would be there in 90 minutes. At 2:05 pm, approx. 5 hrs. later, the tow truck had not arrived. The repair shop was closing at 3 pm. Dispatcher spoke with tow truck driver who said he was 5 min. away but at 2:29 pm tow truck driver had still not arrived. I had to cancel tow because repair shop would be closed by the time they got there, IF, they ever showed up at all. I now have to wait until Friday to have car towed to repair shop because owner will not be back until then.

Desired Settlement: I just want to make sure I don't lose one of my tow credits for this which I was assured I would not and I would like for AAA to be more cognizant of what is going on when they dispatch a driver to make sure that they get there in a timely manner. I would have hated to have been a lone woman on the side of the road waiting for 5 hrs. for someone to come on a dark night.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/29) */ We verified that the call was not counted as one of the annual entitlement calls, and concur that we should have and continually need to be vigilant in managing services requests through the entire process and including fulfillment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have been assured by this response that the call was not counted as one of our annual entitled tows and they have acknowledged that the call should have been managed better from dispatch thru fulfillment.

4/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor towing services for plus membership. My vehicle became disabled on Sunday, February 9, 2014. I pushed the vehicle a short distance into the Sheetz station at the corner of RT 43 and Fairchild. After calling AAA for towing services they told me they would only tow my vehicle for 10 miles. My AAA plus membership does not have this 10 mile limit. I have never used AAA before but both my wife and I have the memberships. They stated the weather was the reason for the 10 mile limit. The AAA representative stated I can have the car towed 10 miles then call back tomorrow to tow it the rest of the way. The location of my house was 16.7 miles away. I didn't pay for a membership to tow my car 10 miles and then push it home the other 6.7 miles. AAA is misleading their customers on its service. My issue was not weather related and they should honor what they are selling. They are creating fraud by misrepresenting their services.

Desired Settlement: Total refund of services for both my wife and me for 2103. Plus another $5000 for putting me through the aggravation of dealing with AAA and misrepresenting their services to thousands of customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Our records and indicate that, even though we do reserve the right to limit services during extreme weather conditions - which we were encountering at the time of this incident - and have such information in membership policy which every member receives a copy of at least once a year, the AAA contracted facility that responded to this call did, in fact, tow the vehicle to the member's residence, even though the member was advised that the responding AAA club had invoked a 10 mile tow limit because of the need to keep equipment in town and available. AAA Akron does not intend to take action on this request, as AAA was within policy provisions to restrict service, and because service was ultimately fulfilled per the member's request.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AAA Akron Automobile Club
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart