Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ellet Radiator Service, Inc.

Phone: (330) 784-8226 Fax: (330) 784-5018 2802 Albrecht Ave., Akron, OH 44312 http://elletradiator.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ellet Radiator Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ellet Radiator Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ellet Radiator Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1957 Business started locally: 01/01/1957 Business incorporated 02/04/1985 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Friend, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Friend, Owner
Business Category

Radiators - Automotive Heat Exchangers Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers radiator repairs.


Additional Locations

  • 2802 Albrecht Ave.

    Akron, OH 44312 (330) 784-8226

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had radiator replaced twice through them first one they said was bad second one overheated resulting in my car needing a new engine. head is blown. i took my car to have radiator replaced at ellet radiator where they did a head test and a flush. i go to drive my car to the doctors car overheats leaving me stranded under the highway. i have car towed back to the shop where they tell me the radiator was bad and sometimes that just happens. they replace it again and do another head test. they gave me a paper again stating the head was not warped or bad and the car was fine. i go to drive the car to go the doctors again and the same thing happens once again leaving me stranded and scared due to the neighborhood. i again have the car towed to the shop where they first refuse to work on it. my daughter who was out of state dealing with a family emergency called and the next day they offer me what i paid for radiator which is 418 dollars. i have car towed to another shop and while on the way ken from ellet radiator called bob(ken thought that was where my car was towed) and tells Bob not to bother looking at my car because the head was blown. i have proof of the head being good not once but twice and phone calls all recorded. i want half the value of my car and the price i paid them for my radiator returned to me or a new engine. i understand this is a painful situation but most painful for me am a 68 year old woman that cares for her handicapped ex marine husband i need my car to get us to and from doctors appointments. this has been so upsetting for me. my car is gone. My certified mechanic said the head is bad the engine needs replaced or the car needs to be junked. ELLET RADIATOR IS 100% responsible for my car being ruined and the proof is in the paperwork they gave me and by calling another mechanic and admitting they ruined my car. im hoping they do what is right and fix this terrible situation.

Desired Settlement: 3,500$ or a new engine plus cost of my mechanic to replace it. this is half the value of my car im still taking a major loss i just want my car replaced or fixed! ellet radiator is 100% responsible for my car being ruined!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/08) */ Customer Linda F***** brought her 2002 Honda civic to us for a radiator.She stated that her kids were driving it with the radiator leaking for sometime.She also stated she had a backyard mechanic install a coolant temp sensor. Which did not work upon arrival to our shop.Air bag and maintenance light were on.We replaced the radiator on 10/01/15. Daughter called us on 10/22/15 and said it was leaking, we told her to return it and we would fix it.We put a new radiator in and did a block test and it tested OK. We told customer it passed our test but still could be bad due to the type of vehicle.Customers daughter called again on 10/29/15 said it was leaking again, We advised her to return it to us. We did not hear from her again until 11/12/15 14 days later.The daughter was being very disrespectful using very abusive language and threats.We advised Linda F***** we would not deal with her daughter on this issue. Her niece called back we advised her that we would refund the total amount of her bill $418.27, And she needed to take the vehicle to a dealership to find out what issues the car is having. We are not responsible for Linda F*****s car due to the fact she stated it had been driven while radiator was leaking for a unknown amount of time prior to us working on it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ellet radiator was contacted. Car was not being driven even thoough you told me it was the sensor not the radiotor was parked waiting for yet another call back from ellet radiator. Car had been looked at by a certified mechanic . 2 papers stating car was fine from ellet radiator then contacted another mechanic where they thought the car was and told them the head was blown. Several phone calls had been made. All calls were recorded including the one from my daughter who was extremely upset over me being stuck on the side of the road yet again. Eller radiotor absolutely knew the head was bad the second time they replaced the radiator. As I stated car had been looked over by certified mechanic. Coolant sensor went bad from overheating after first radiotor was replaced then again after the second. Ellet radiotor pulled the sensor so I would not know when car ran hot There for I did not drive the car I also did not drive the car because the radiotor was bad and I was extremely uncomfortable with their work. You can say what you want but I have the proof all the proof all calls recorded ,the paperwork from ellet radiotor and the papers from certified mechanic. I will be going to court and I will win. Truth is on my side! You destroyed my car, a car I need and I can not replace. You had a young person do the head check again all has been documented. You called other mechanics to tell them what you had done and that this "kid" did not do a proper check after it was replaced the second time. i will not stop until justice is served. Im 68 years old i trusted you. You are wrong and you know it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/12/14) */ Once again this is our response, this is what happened. Customer Linda F***** brought her 2002 Honda civic to us for a radiator.She stated that her kids were driving it with the radiator leaking for sometime.She also stated she had a backyard mechanic install a coolant temp sensor. Which did not work upon arrival to our shop.Air bag and maintenance light were on.We replaced the radiator on 10/01/15. Daughter called us on 10/22/15 and said it was leaking, we told her to return it and we would fix it.We put a new radiator in and did a block test and it tested OK. We told customer it passed our test but still could be bad due to the type of vehicle.Customers daughter called again on 10/29/15 said it was leaking again, We advised her to return it to us. We did not hear from her again until 11/12/15 14 days later.The daughter was being very disrespectful using very abusive language and threats.We advised Linda F***** we would not deal with her daughter on this issue. Her niece called back we advised her that we would refund the total amount of her bill $418.27, And she needed to take the vehicle to a dealership to find out what issues the car is having. We are not responsible for Linda F*****s car due to the fact she stated it had been driven while radiator was leaking for a unknown amount of time prior to us working on it.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ellet Radiator Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)