BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/18/2011

Wiese Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 825-7826Fax: (330) 825-07113807 Wadsworth Rd., NortonOH 44203 Send email to Wiese Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/18/2011

BBB has determined that Wiese Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wiese Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Wiese Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hot water tank replaceed on 06/24/14. Agent broke window in door while at home. Also, Expansion tank not attached nor given to us.

On 06/24/14, *** from Wiese Plumbing arrived to replace our water tank. While there he hit the window i the basement door with the tank and broke the glass. Also, an expansion tank is suppose to be attached to the hot water tank. We were informed by *** that there is not enough room to attach it and he would have to rig something up.
In our two follow calls to Wiese Plumbing regarding the above matter, we were told by the receptionist and by ***** that the window would be repaired and that they were having a discussion in reagrds to what to do about the expansion tank. Emails to the office, dated 07/01/14 and 07/15/14 and gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement
We would like to have the basement door window repaired and to either be given the expansion tank that we paid for or to have them install it, as promised by Wiese Plumbing.

Business Response
The above issue has been resolved and taken care of. Part of the delay was the service manager who knew and was dealing with the issue was out for 2 weeks due to medical issues. The window was put back in and expansion tank as well.

03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for permit fee and extra upgrades. Still have not had an inspection that was paid for.
I purchased my home 11/2014. With that, I also purchased a Home Warranty thru ************.
My hot water tank started giving me issues. Company was contracted and after checking the tank out, It was determined the HWT did need replaced. Though ************ did cover the cost of the tank, I was responsible for extra fees including an expansion tank, a pan, electrical disposal fee and permit fee. I was told the permit fee was as expensive as it was because it was a special permit thru the state/county--not the city I reside in. I have made numerous calls to ask when I could expect my inspection. I kept being told, they should call. Now its to the point where the young lady who pulls the permits will not call me back. I paid by cash and check $405 invoice ******. Date of service was 1/8/14. I want my $405 refunded for delay of following thru with inspection and I want the inspection done!

Desired Settlement
$405 for extra fees not covered by home warranty company and the inspection I have been waiting for since January of 2014

Business Response
Our policy is to set up a scheduled time for inspection with the homeowner and the inspector. This requires multiple phone calls between the two to set a date that works for both parties. At times, it can be challenging to get in touch with inspectors and they do not always return our calls. We like to get the inspection asap after installation. Unfortunately, we are human and did make a mistake and the permit was filed with the paperwork. We did call for inspection as soon as we were made aware of the problem. We did speak with the homeowner recently, and she told us not to call her, that she was making the inspection herself.

The expansion tank, permits, and non covered items, were explained to her and approved by her before we would get authorization to do the work by her insurance company. These are vital to ensure the water heater will pass inspection and necessary code requirements. We will however, issue her a refund for the permit cost, due to our mistake. The cost is $100.00.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The permit was not filed until 12/4/14 when the job was installed in Jan. Yes we are human, but the other handful of calls placed, some with no return call, throughout the year were apparently not answered by pulling a permit. I did call the company, and told them I called and scheduled the inspection myself and indicated I was quite upset the permit was not pulled until almost a year after installation. I do have my inspection scheduled on 12/18 and the inspector is giving me a copy of the permit, paperwork and will evaluate whether or not the upgrades were needed. I will then turn it over for review. Until the inspection is done, I do not have an answer. I trusted the company to sell me what is needed--not sell or oversell me things I do not need. I am not in the business of heating/cooling and plumbing. My purchase was NOT an insurance claim. It was a claim processed by my home warranty company ************. I know the only thing covered basically was the tank. The permit and upgrades obviously were not covered by warranty company. An expense I had to pay outside of what warranty covered. The point is, if I did not need the pan or the expansion tank, I would not have bought it. That's why I pushed for the inspection and kept calling and wondering what was going on. I am also in the process of obtaining a copy of the invoice that was submitted to warranty company for services rendered. I also had shut offs replaced for my washing machine. Not only did they leak, I have a hole in my wall that was put there by the tech. That has been left open as well for the inspector to make sure it is not leaking. Both shut offs were replaced on day of my water heater. I have a list for the inspector.
The whole top of the water heater is damaged from when the tech was trying to sauder the welds in the piping. So the $405 might be a low ball amount I expect to be refunded. Its all in the inspector of ************** hands.

Final Business Response
After speaking to Inspector ************ of **************,(as stated in his report) a pan is required by code.

He also mentioned in his report that "it appears expansion tank is not required" but verbally told me he does not diffinitivley know that there is not a check valve in the water meter, thus making it a close system, in which an st-5 would be required.

The work was approved and passed.

Because of the delay in obtaining the permit, we are willing to refund the permit of $100.00. fee this time only if that is agreeable to Miss *****.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just spoke with the inspector ****. He clearly did not say I did need a expansion tank. He did inspect and pass the work performed based on what was there. As far as needing an expansion tank, it was not necessary. The point is:
A-the company charged me for a permit fee that was never pulled until I got in touch with the BBB and when the permit was finally applied for, the company made it seem the work was not done yet. The inspector was made aware the work was done in Jan 2014--but was being applied for Dec. 4,2014 to which he would of fined and charged double for the permit if he was aware of that situation. With that being said, I was being lied to by the office in regards to my inspection. I was told over and over again the permit was pulled but never was.
B-The expansion tank was NOT needed. I would of never bought it or approved it for installation if I did not need it.
C-While the tanks water pan is code according to the inspector, common sense indicates the tank is less than a foot away from the drain in the floor.
Please call **** at the City of ************** Building department at ************. I am sure he will be more than happy to talk to you. At this point its better to get your information straight from the source. Obviously the company can not get the facts straight--Its just like telling me for almost a year the inspector should be calling. I have also read other complaints against the company in regards to being sold an expansion tank and not needing one.
As an overview, I was charged for a permit ($100)and told it was that much because its a special permit and the "county inspector" would be doing inspection. Permit pulled almost 12 months later. I was also told I needed a expansion tank. I not being a plumber trusted I did, but obviously did not. The water pan being needed for code is a given and is needed to bring to code.
I wonder how many other customers paid for permits that never got one or how many other customers are out there that were oversold on things not needed. They are out there. There are a few under companies profile.
I suggest the BBB take the initiative to contact the City of ************** and take it from there and somewhere in between what he says and the company claims will lye the truth
I will settle for a refund of the permit fee and the expansion tank. The pan is code. I am still waiting for an invoice from the ********************* in regards to what the company billed for as well.

01/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to properly install appropriate equipment upon installation of new furnace, to pass inspection.
10/21/14: Technician from Wiese Plumbing came to the house to measure for installation of a 90% fuel efficient furnace. No mention of a need or requirement for any additional ventilation was made.
10/28/14: Received a call about the furnace estimate. Price was agreed upon. No mention was made of a need or requirement for any additional ventilation.
10/31/14: Wiese Plumbing called to schedule installation of furnace. No mention of a need or requirement for any additional ventilation was made.
11/5/14: Furnace installed. No mention of a need or requirement for any additional ventilation was made.
12/4/14: Wiese Plumbing called to schedule inspection of furnace on 12/9/14.
12/9/14: Inspection on furnace failed due to lack of proper ventilation.Too much carbon monoxide in the room. I called Wiese's emergency line. A technician was sent out and he understood what was needed to properly ventilate the furnace. In the meantime, leave the furnace room door open to help ventilate the room.
12/11/14: Technician from Wiese Plumbing came to the house to measure for additional equipment needed to properly ventilate the furnace.
12/18/14: Technician from Wiese Plumbing called with an estimate of $464 to install appropriate equipment needed to ventilate the furnace. I told the technician that I needed to call the office, since I didn't believe I should be paying for their error in not properly ventilating the furnace upon installation.I called Wiese Plumbing and spoke with the HVAC Manager.I questioned why the proper equipment hadn't been in place upon installation. He stated " the technician probably thought you would leave the door to the room open". I told him that the door had never been left open with the old furnace and I shouldn't need to leave it open now.The first technician that came to the house to measure for the installation of the furnace should be held accountable for his failure to know what equipment was/is needed to properly install and ventilate the furnace in it's existing environment and to pass inspection.


Desired Settlement
I should not be incurring the costs of the additional equipment required to properly ventilate the furnace, when "certified" technicians never advised me or the company of the need or requirement to have the additional ventilation added before inspection. It is clearly the company's and the technician's responsibility to know what equipment is needed and required to have a properly functioning and ventilated furnace that will pass inspection and not have the hazard of carbon monoxide in the home.

Business Response
We at Wiese Plumbing correctly installed the furnace at the above address. The technician would have tested for carbon monoxide at the time of installation. We do not usually cut air inlets into doors for make up air. The homeowner has the option to change the door, leave the door open, or cut in air inlets.We will cut air inlets into the door, but can not do so without charging for it. This was not in our initial estimate and therefore is the property owner's responsibility. Per the home warranty agreement, we are to replace the equipment, not modify doors.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Regardless of what the home warranty states, your company was hired to install a furnace in it's existing space and to pass inspection.You gained a permit, knowing your work in the existing environment would be inspected. It is of my expectation for your work to be "complete" at the time of installation and to pass inspection. It did not pass inspection. Obviously, your work was not "complete" or it would have passed inspection!
Your technicians are supposedly certified and licensed. It was clearly a failure on the original technicians' part, to not make note of the environment and the need for additional ventilation due to the environment( a room with a door).
Furthermore, your HVAC manager suggesting " to leave the furnace room door open", is beyond unprofessional! It exudes the behavior of someone with no true regard for the safety of my home or its' occupants!

Final Business Response
Safety is our goal here at Wiese Plumbing. Our company is licensed. Our quoted work was completed. Leaving the door open is an option some homeowners choose instead of incurring the cost to replace or modify a door. The choice is on the homeowner. This was not in our original quote and therefore would be responsible by the homeowner. We did not quote any door modifications. It would be like quoting to replace a faucet and finding the valves leading to the faucet needed replaced. That would be an extra.

08/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wiese plumbing charged $100 for permits that were not obtained and charged us $140 for work we didn't need to bring our plumbing up to code

On 7/15/14 wiese plumbing installed a water heater in our home. As part of our fee we paid them $100 for a permit they never filed for. We also were told that we needed to have an expansion tank installed in order to bring our plumbing up to code. They installed the tank and charged us an additional $140 for this tank. After some investigation I learned that this expansion tank is only required for homes with a check valve on the main line which we do not have. I believe these charges to be fraudulent.

Desired Settlement
I wish to have my permit submitted and a refund for the unwarranted expansion tank

Business Response
At Wiese Plumbing, we take permits out for all of our installations. We did pull a permit for this water heater installation at this address. The person handling permits was on vacation at the time of installation and handled it when they returned. The Ohio Plumbing Code and Ohio plumbing inspectors require an expansion tank on hot water heaters.
Wiese Plumbing has been in business for 90 years and would not fraudulently charge a customer for parts they do not require.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am in contact with the stark county health department and as of today (8/11/14) no permit has been applied for. As for the matter of ohio code, no expansion tanks are required unless there is a backflow preventer installed on the house side of the water meter, which we do not have. I personally called management at Wiese plumbing to resolve the permit matter and they said they would call back but they failed to do so.

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sewer vent pipe and wall insulation damaged by drain snake entering pipe instead of main sewer line during sewer line clean out call.

Sewer line service call to check main sewer line for blockage or possible break causing backup of sewage. When service technician initially tried to snake out the drain, the snake went up the sewer vent pipe instead of the main sewer line. We could hear the snake banging inside the wall. When the snake was pulled back, there was wall insulation attached. This indicates that the vent pipe had broken. The service tech noted my concern on the invoice, but said everything should "Be alright". Called the company for 3 consecutive days trying to address the issue with the service manager. Was told that he was busy, but would call me back. Never received a call. I am concern about sewer gases entering my house and future water damage inside the walls from the vent.

Desired Settlement
Want the business to repair the damaged vent pipe, along with any associated work costs needed to access pipe for repairs, and to restore any damaged or removed portions of cabinets, wall, tiles, insulation. etc. Or they can sub-contract (at theire cost) to another business closer to my address.

Business Response
The reason we did not respond was due to the tech had told the homeowner the same thing while at the house. Wiese Plumbing did snake the drain and it did indeed go up the stack wich is a common and typical thing to happen when a tee fitting is used and not a wye. The vent pipe is the same type of piping as the drain, meaning it is made to handle a snake.
If there was a problem with the vent stack then:
A the pipe was broken before we arrived or
B the pipe is so brittle that it needed replaced anyways, as it is not solid enough to industry standards and a potential hazard. or
C It was improperly installed to begin with.
To fully know what the issue is, investigative work would have to be performed.
The customer was informed we would be happy to come look at issue, but he would be charged.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Tech did NOT explain why he thought break happened, just that it should not be a problem, but he would note my concern on the invoice. And when I tried to find out, it took 3 calls to them from me, and 2 from ********* to get an answer. I have since had the issue addressed independently. I would not do business with Wiese Plumbing again.

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Backflow Prevention Devices & Services, Heating & Air Conditioning, Drainage Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1921
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico

BBB records show a license number of HV HY PL 28417 for this company, issued by Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance. Their web address is http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1972, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James W. Wiese (President)
Business Category

Plumbers, Backflow Prevention Devices & Services, Heating & Air Conditioning, Drainage Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Wiese Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wiese Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc.

3807 Wadsworth Rd.

Norton, OH 44203

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wiese Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.