BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/2009

Plumbing 911, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (330) 408-5734Fax: (330) 721-7761View Additional Phone Numbers1393 Gardner Blvd, BarbertonOH 44203 Send email to Plumbing 911, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Plumbing 911 is a professional family owned and operated business, providing plumbing, drain and flood restoration services. We deliver prompt, same-day services for residential and commercial properties. Licensed, WRT Certified, Insured & bonded.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/2009

BBB has determined that Plumbing 911, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Plumbing 911, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Plumbing 911, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service performed & failed in upstairs bathroom causing water to drip from ceiling in living room.

On 8/30/2014 Plumbing 911 performed service at 0800-1235 for $400:

"Diverter for tub spout is not working. We will install new tub spout with diverter"
-90 day on install-

"Twist and turn style tub shoe is broken. We will install new twist and turn tub shoe."
Also snake tub drain."

-30 day 1 return for leaks-

It is important to note I signed authorized signature for service.

Then my wife signed upon work performed & I noticed after reviewing paperwork (plumber left already); that it read: -30 day 1 return for leaks (leaks crossed out and clogs added).

Work Conducted
-Tub spout with diverter replaced
-Twist and turn style tub shoe not replaced.
-Snake tub drain completed.

Plumber spent an hour driving back and forth to Lowes three times to get hardware. 1st trip was for all hardware (tub spout with diverter and twist and turn style tub shoe). 2nd & 3rd was attempts to purchase correct twist and turn style tub shoe.

He stated he couldn't find tub shoe to fit tub drain and you must have to purchase the factory tub shoe to fit the drain. Old tub shoe was put back minus the shaft to the stopper which we requested.The tub drain was snaked and he ran water to verify clogs were gone. We were also instructed to not use the shower for 24 hours because the plumbers putty had to set for the tub shoe.

-Price wasn't reduced for twist & turn tub shoe not installed.

-Never stated and still hasn't stated the risks associated with snaking pipes. The only reason I know now is because I called and asked another plumbing company. We wouldn't have committed to the snaking service if we would have been told the risks associated.

On 9/01/14 the living room ceiling had a constant flow of dripping from the upstairs bathroom after a morning shower. The ceiling had pronounced sagging and a bucket had to be put under the drip.

We called Plumbing 911 that morning & our service tech came over. He ran the bathroom water and with the aid of his video camera he found the union broken on the tub trap and stated it was due to the snaking of the drain.

He stated in order to fix the problem it would require everything to be replaced for $800 dollars (not including the ceiling repair).
I stated I don't have that money. He stated he was going to go talk with his supervisor and call us back. He left and hours later he called with a new estimate of 475 dollars which required me to help since it needed two guys for the job(not including ceiling repair). I stated that I would call him back with an answer later. I called later that night and requested to speak with his supervisor and informed him of the situation. The supervisor stated he would call me tomorrow after he spoke with the plumber in the morning.

On 9/02/14 the supervisor called me back and offered to repair only the tub trap and union for 275 dollars (not including ceiling repair). I told him I'd get back with him with an answer.

On 9/05/14 I had a contractor quote the ceiling damage from 400-500 dollars.

On 9/08/14 I called the main office to leave a message for the plumbers supervisor that night. He called back that night however I missed the call.

On 9/09/14 I called him and left a message stating that it wasn't fair that I have to pay for there mistake and that it needs to all be repaired without additional costs.

Desired Settlement
-Fix the tub trap, broken union & the twist & turn tub shoe
-Fix the ceiling: subcontract it out if you don't have qualified personnel to perform work.
-At this point I have spent additional time that I don't have to see that this job gets done correctly. I have also been the utmost respectful throughout this whole process so any additional services you can provide to mend this business transaction would prove fruitful.

Business Response
I am very sorry that you keep experiencing leaking issues. We would be happy to honor our warranty and fix the leak that is still continuing to occur, along with put in a new drywall piece. However, we do not refinish drywall (paining or finishing). This is separate from plumbing services that we have been contracted to provide. But in an effort to help, we will be happy to put the drywall piece in the opening for you to contact a professional drywall specialist to complete this portion of the job.

Our supervisor has left two messages with this option, with no return call. We would be happy to get someone out to your home to complete this service. Please call our office at ************ to schedule this service.

Sincerely,

************
Office Manager
Plumbing 911, Inc.
************

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complaint by telephone/BBB Staff/sq -- Company was contacted and hired on May 19th for sump pump not working and starting to backup in the basement. **** was the technical for the job. Consumer states the company took advantage selling unnecessary parts & services to her son who has a disability. Company installed a new sump pump with out any description of the unit and no detail warranty information. Company changed $1140 for a sump pump and unnecessary camera inspection at $710. There was no estimate given to make a decision with this costly expense. Consumer has spoken with other plumbers and check cost for units, also found that the pump remove is still working. Consumers had another plumber check the unit, that cost would not exceed $350 for a pump.

Desired Settlement
Seek company to issue a refund adjustment for overprice & unnecessary work.

Business Response
Please see attached:

(BBB - Converted from original.)

*************** and ************* are returning customers for our company and so upon receiving this complaint, we pulled their invoices to investigate their issues.

I personally called Mrs. ****** to discuss her main concern for the invoice for $1140. To give you background on our services to this customer, our technician was dispatched on May 18, 2014 due to sump pump drains being clogged and flood situation that started to occur in the customers home. The invoice # 15549 for $710.00 was for hydrojetting the sump pump lines, cleaning out the crock and completing a video camera inspection. This estimate was given before the start of the job and approved by the home owner and we completed this service and collected payment upon completion of the job that day.

The reasons the customer's sump pump drains became clogged was due to rain and also for a malfunctioning sump pump system that the customer had installed by a water proofing company. Our plumber alerted the customer that that this
problem would probably occur again and gave them an estimate to do a hand dig at where the connection was, along with pricing to replace the pump.

The customer said that they would think about it, but was going to try to have the water proofing company repair the sump pump. However, the following day, the customer called back and asked that we come back to go ahead with the work, because they trusted us to get the work done right.

Our technician completed everything the following day as requested by the customer, per signed contract and collected payment upon completion of our services. However, in mid. June we received calls by ******** wanting to know what the price of our materials were for the sump pump and also stated that her water proof company came to her that installed the original sump pump would
only give $350 for the sump pump. I personally took this call and explained that we don't list our prices materials versus job costs, because they were also not considering the hand dig of the connection our technician made. I understood
where ******** was coming from in trying to have the other company compensate the bad pump; however, now we were being labeled wrongly by the
other company but didn't hear anything else from ********.

In an effort to save our relationship and show ******** that she is an important customer and by no ways were we trying to take advantage of her or or son, I called her on Wednesday, April 23rd and apologized that she felt this way and offered a $900 credit towards the $1140.00 job. I explained that our company was willing to lose on this job because there was nothing in writing as to the
type of sump pump she wanted to. We are now in the process of crediting her credit card $900 towards the $1140 invoice and hope that credit shows our care in ensuring that not is the customer happy but that she can trust us and that we do care about her concerns.

Hoping to keep her business and customer relationship,

************
************
Plumbing 911, Inc.
Office Manager

08/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues
08/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The workers came out jetted pipes said they were collapsed and needed replaced 15000 to replace roughly left with pipes still clogged
12/19/2014 IN VOICE #***** TECHNICIAN ***** supervisor ***. My fiancee paid 675 for camera and hydro jet cleaning of main pipes with my citi credit card, Workers were here for 6 hrs of which half was working the rest waiting for hydro jet to come back from other jobs since supervisor kept sending it away saying it was taking too long at our house. ***** was very nice and was trying to get hydro jet back to our house but supervisor said it would be another $200 hence they couldnt fully unclog pipes and told my fiancee pipes were collapsed and needed replaced roughly 15 thousand but would take off 675 if they did replacement.they would not even stand up to there warranty because of supposed condition of our pipes. When i got into town i Called underground connections to get trench less pipe estimate and installation owner came out we ran camera and hydro jet down pipes, he showed me they were not collapsed and cleared all clogs for $275.I called plumbing 911 they say that there camera s don't lie and I still have plumbing issue will credit me 125 but still paying 550 for them to not unclog my pipes.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund and to make sure that plumbing 911 and affiliates will stop taking advantage of women/men/everyone who is less educated about plumbing. We would like to trust the people we hire and think the know what they are doing.

Business Response
Dear Mr. ********,

My name is ***********r, and I was the representative that you spoke with yesterday regarding a credit that our company would refund in the amount of $125.00.

Again, I apologize that you feel that you were taken advantage of, as this couldn't be farther from the truth. In an effort to show this, I would like to increase our credit to pay for your bill with the other plumbing company in the amount of $275, instead of the original credit of $125.

In addition, I would like to explain our company perspective on your job, so that you understand why we are not able to issue a full credit.

1. As we discussed, our plumber was at your home for a long extended time. We have GPS Tracker and time log for how long the Hydrojet truck and driver was at your home and it was ran for over 2 1/2 hours total (2 hours-1st time, 48 mins-2nd time, and 17 mins-3rd time). In addition, our Plumber arrived at your home at 11:49 a.m. and left at 4:17 p.m. and was there a total of 3 1/2 hrs. During this time, we jetted three separate times, as our Plumber was trying to resolve your issue for the approved price of our contracted services. The reason that the hydrojet came back each time was because, we thought we had cleared the line, only to discover with the video camera inspection, that it was not clear. We attempted this procedure a total of three times.

2. The plumber that was at your home is a Master Plumber, with over 25 years of experience. When inspecting your job for a free estimate, he looked but couldn't find and in addition, asked your fiance if you had a main-drain cleanout. She said that the home did not and we approached the job by accessing it through a different, although not ideal point. We explained from the beginning, that there were no guarantees and that time we used in clearing the line would still be owed, but with the best attempt for us to clear the line. After many hours, we did have success with clearing a majority of the lines to the best of our ability.

3. At the conclusion of the job, your fiance discovered the cleanout, but did not approve us to hydrojet this drain.

We wish we could have cleared this line, but did the best from the access we had.

We hope that this credit will establish us again as a plumber you would consider using in the future. We again apologize for any frustration, but hope that there is a fair understanding between what he did attempt and what was allowed to us to attempt.

Please contact our office directly to accept this credit at ************.

Sincerely,

***********r
Plumbing 911, Inc.
************



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I talked to ur supposed master plumber when he arrived at my home and told him where the clean out was via phone. Someone is lying to u they were there earlier than that and ur worker had to wait till the jet truck arrived and hr or so later and did not mention guarantee till he was done and nothing was flushing or draining properly . Why would u pay for another companies work when he says plumbing companies don't charge if they can't unclog sounds like I should be paying $575. And I am the one that suggested the roof access point due to tight clean out area "same place underground connections and I jetted from with a 4000 psi jet trailer which worked in less than two hrs and no collapsed pipes like ur worker tried to tell my fiancee and not $15000 to fix I should be asking for pain and suffering after all the stress and anxiety u put her through but I'm not in this for the money just want what's right. I am in construction for Wayne Homes and if we don't do things up to code or properly we get back charged and usually have to replace or credit buyers/customers the cost. If u would like we can Re examine my supposed collapsed pipes since that's what I have, yes they are a little scaly like all aged cast pipes in ohio.

05/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
work was not done to fix problem, problem was worse once the plumber left. other company came out and fixed perfectly
In January 2013, our basement backed up due to the main sewer line, I called and had Plumbing 911 come out and look at our issue. By the time they were able to come out the water had gone down and we had the basement cleaned up. They stated if it happened again to call back and they could fix our problem by hydrojetting our main sewer line. At this time they did not look into our pipes or do any work, they simply saw our tree in our front yard and said that the tree roots were probably the cause of our back up. He said normal rotorooting or drain snaking would not work on our problem and we needed to have the hydrojetting done. He gave us a price of 580.00. We did not retain there service at this time. March 31, our basement flooded again , we called them back to our home. They came out on April 1 to perform the hydrojetting and camera work, because again they said normal (snaking) rotorooting would not correct the problem and we should not waste our time or money. One man arrived and shortly after another man arrived with a large truck. They started to work in the basement and after about and hour of work they seemed to run out of water and had to hook up there hoses to our home hose. After about another hour they called me down to the basement and said they could not reach the street to fix the problem, and they could not fix it. They never showed me the camera view to confirm this, I never once saw them use a camera on our sewer pipes. They told me at this time the only way to fix this problem was to dig up my front yard and re do the piping from the point of the tree to the street. they stated that our tree roots grew into our pipes and was growing the length of the pipes therefor there was nothing more they could do with out digging up and replacing all of this. They gave me a quote for $3800.00 and said to call them when I wanted them to do the work because there was nothing more they could do. My issue is that when they initially came out in January he assured me and my husband that the hydrojetting would fix our flooding problems and this was the only way we could. The plumbers left that afternoon and the basement proceeded to back up again that night and again every day for the next week. It was worse then it was before they came to so called fix it. I wanted to get a few more quotes before we settled on this company to come back out to do the major repair. On APril 9, I had another plumber come out take a look at our situation and properly fix it within one hour and he ended up snaking the drain, which plumbing 911 lied to us and told us would never work. this new plumbing company came out, did just that and fixed it immediately and we have not had another problem since the good plumbing company came out. I feel like plumbing 911 took advantage of me because when they came out to perform their "repair" i was home alone with my children, my husband was at work and I was naive and trusted them. My husband called them after we had our problem fixed to ask to speak to someone about returning our money bc they did not fix the problem and in fact made it worse. He had to call several times, and finally a woman that he spoke with said "well we havent even charged the card yet" and not to worry about it. This is why we have waited this long, bc we thought this was over. The credit card statement was received this weekend and Plumbing 911 did in fact charge for these horrendous services. My husband again called today and asked to speak with a boss, who was very rude and unprofessional. The boss stated that the women my husband spoke with previous had no authority to tell him they would not charge us, and he was not returning any of our money. He proceeded to get into a shouting match with my husband and then hung up on him. All we want is our money returned to us because the work they said would fix our plumbing problem did not fix it at all, infact made it worse and we had to pay another plumber to come fix it correctly.

Desired Settlement
We would like our money returned to us, because the job that they assured us would fix our problem initially, made everything worse. We had feces and waste backing up into our basement even worse then before they came. We had to pay another plumber to come out and correctly fix it. And when we called to resolve this issue with them we were given the run around and passed from person to person only to again be lied to. We are a hard working family who does not have 540.00 extra dollars to just throw around to companies who do not provide the services they state they are going to provide.there customer service was awful, everyone we spoke was rude and very unprofessional and not willing to fix their mistake.

Business Response
(BBB - converted from original. See document file.)

It brings us no joy when a customer is less than satisfied with our services or company. However, we disagree with the customer's depiction of our company and assessment of our services. We have documented on our job database every call made by Mr. and Mrs. ****** and would like to have this information and our side noted.
On January 14, 2014, Mrs. ****** contacted our company about continuing backup issues. Our technician the same day of the call was dispatched to their residence. Upon arrival, the water began to recede and our technician advised the customer that while we could complete a drain cleaning service, we did not feel it necessary as the water began to drain down. There was no charge for this trip and we advised the customer that if the problem occurred again we would recommend main drain cable snaking for $272 or Hydro jetting for $545. The customer shared with our technician that they have been having ongoing drain issues and was upset with their previous plumber as this problem continues to occur. At this point, our technician explained that since they had already had main drain cabling done, that he would recommend Hydro jetting instead and that it would enable us to perform a video camera service to examine their sewer system, but that we could wait until this happens again.
On March 31, Mrs. ****** contacted our company again and said that the drains were backing up again and wanted us to perform the Hydro jetting service for $545. We scheduled the hydro jet for April 1, between 12-­2 p.m. and arrived on time that day. The original plumber, *****. was there along with the Field Supervisor and the separate truck with Jet. In an effort to go above and beyond for the customer, our crew jetted for over two hours and also jetted from two different locations, one from the stack and the other the laundry cleanout.
This is not typical for Hydro jetting, as typically you can have the drains cleared and flushed within an hour. It is also not typical for us to have to Hydro jet from two separate locations; however, due to the backup, we were trying to go above and beyond for this customer. After jetting for two hours, the water began to recede and the drains became flowing again. However, the experience of the Master Plumber, led him to believe that there maybe additional issues with the sewer line, as the severity of backup, along with the past history of drain issues and time needed to clear the drains.
As another attempt to go above and beyond, we offered to perform a free video camera inspection for Mrs. ****** $247 savings. Upon inspection, the Master Plumber detected a major mass/hump in the sewer line. He showed Mrs. ****** in the basement and explained that this is a main sewer issue and that unfortunately they would have backup continue to occur and it wasn't an issue of if, but when. He further explained, that the only way to correct this issue is to perform a spot repair on the sewer to completely remedy this issue. He gave her the price to repair. I am not sure if Mrs. ****** didn't realize that the video camera inspection was downstairs and that was what she was down their looking at. However, we did do the video camera inspection, otherwise we couldn't pinpoint or determine what needs to be done and a price would never have been given.
Unfortunately this is an issue that we commonly see in NE Ohio as drains do collapse, belly and break. We further explained that this is the pinpoint issue of potentially her past drain issues and while she could have drain cleaning performed, another clog could occur at anytime because of this main sewer issue. This is why she had backing up in January and also in the previous months as it was not an issue of plumbers not doing their jobs, but an issue with a major sewer problem. He explained that there is no

warranty for the Hydro jet, as this problem will only occur again until the real problem has been corrected. We gave Mrs. ****** a quote for the sewer line repair and she said she would talk with her husband.
We then received a call from Mr. ****** about a couple of weeks later saying that we overcharged his wife because he was out of town, that we did not perform a video camera inspection and that he wanted his money back. There was no overcharging as the price that they paid was the price that was estimated in January and we have notes that the customer specifically asked for us to perform this service as she had recalled it being around $600 when quoted in January. Furthermore, the Field Supervisor was the one that performed the video camera inspection, showed it to Mrs. ****** and was able to pin point the exact issue of the problem for our customers. Again, we would not have been able to give a price to repair if we were not able to pinpoint where in the line the issue was. I am not sure what the customer is referring to about us not running the credit card and not to worry we would refund this. No one in our office ever had this conversation; furthermore, a warranty was not given because of the issues on the line, but we still are owed of our due payment for the services we completed. This depiction is completely untrue and I feel fraudulent.
We understand that finding this information out about your sewer line can be upsetting, but our company did not create the situation, but instead uncovered it for the customers for them to determine how next to proceed. The line eventually backed up again for the customers as our Master Plumber anticipated, and then they called us again, saying that we did not do our job and that our Hydro jetting did not work. We apologize that they view their situation as a direct result of us not doing our job right, but this is quite the contrary. The reason their sewer line is backing up is because of the sewer issue, which we discovered through our video camera inspection.
Mr. ****** stated that he did hire another plumber to snake the line and that plumber pulled back tree roots. This only furthermore proves our case that the sewer line has major issues. Tree roots enter through a break and/or belly - they have to have an open access to get in. Unfortunately for our customers, tree root issues are devastating as they grow rapidly and will continue to completely ruin the sewer line. He asked for his money back, and we have declined, because it is not an issue of our services or company, but unfortunate problems with Mr. ******'s sewer line.
On the note that our company was rude and passed them around, I personally apologize if that is how they felt. However, every phone call that they made, we were there to answer their questions and concerns. I do not believe they were happy with our responses; however, we never skated around their questions or calls and have always been honest and upfront with everything from the very beginning. I completely disagree that our company got into a shouting match with Mr. ******, this is completely untrue. We understand the customer is upset, but we did not yell at Mr. ****** or raise or voice.
I understand they are hard working family, as we too are hardworking and deserve payment for our services and expertise. We will not be refunding any amount as we have fulfilled our contracted and completed all services as they approved and agreed too. However, we would like to continue our relationship and I personally will waive the $545 jet fee off the price of the sewer line repair if they would like us to help solve their problem once and for all.
Sincerely,
Sincerely,
************
Plumbing 911, Inc.
Business Manager and Co-­Owner
330-­952-­1900




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although I appreciate Plumbing 911's prompt response I regret to inform you that the majority of the response is untrue and we completely disagree with the response in its entirety. I will respond according to their structure of response. When we initially called in January the technician did not come out the same day as stated in the response which is the initial incorrect statement. There was no water in the basement at the time of the visit, as we were instructed that a plumber could not work if there was any standing water by the person who we set up the appointment with over the phone. We cleaned and dried the basement and proceeded to stay out of our house for the next two days as not to use any water before the technician could come, another false statement made that the water had begun to recede, since there was none at the time of their visit. We again never once state that we had any back up problems before this January problem, which in fact surprised the technician and he repeatedly asked us over and over again, and we continued to state we never had any back up problems ever since we have moved in over 5 years ago, to which he responded, we are lucky and he was very surprised. So again the statement made by your company that we had previous issues with our main sewer line backing up is completely false. The only plumbing issues we have ever had in our home was due to the top floor bathroom tub drain leaking, in which the plumbers we had out at that time in 2010 fixed and put new hot water pipes in the upstairs bathroom, which is the only discussion we ever had about any previous plumbing work. So again your statement that we have had previous back up drain issues is incorrect, nor did we ever tell any of your plumbers or office people that we ever had our drain snaked or main drain cabling snaking done. We have never had this service performed as the incident in January was the first time we ever had it back up. Your plumber promptly stated to us as soon as he walked into our house that our problem was because of the tree in our front yard and normal snaking would not work period and the only way to fix this problem was to hydro jet and if we choose to do the cable snaking, he would not guarantee it and nor would the problem be fixed and it would be a waste of our money. Again we never have stated or had any work done on our drain previously ever, nor was this ever relayed to anyone. When we were quoted the price for the hydrojetting we were told that this included the camera view to properly see the problem, not that the camera option was extra nor that your company was giving us a free service, because again this was told to be included in our price. When the drain backed up again in March when Plumbing 911 came out to perform the work, we were only doing the work that the technicians told us to do and told us was going to fix our problem. We were only going by what plumbing 911 said was the way to fix it since after all they are supposed to be the ones with the knowledge of plumbing issues. Although the plumbers did snake for almost two hours, they also used our own hose line and water to continue the work. There was no receding of water as previously stated in their response because again there was not water in the basement at the time of their visit. Plumbing 911's statement that they performed a free video inspection was false, as I was never shown any video or any camera views of them working or the drain back up or tree roots period. I am not ignorant to the fact of them working in the basement or what a camera view looks like. The only time I was informed of anything was at the end, when I was called down and showed that their hydrojett hose could not go any further and did not make it to the street or fix the problem. This was not by a camera view only by the technician explaining to me that he thought our hill in the front yard was were our pipes connected and at the joint he thought the tree root had grown the circumference of the pipe and therefore there was nothing more they could do without digging up our front yard and replacing all the pipes for almost four thousand dollars. I am not even convinced that a camera of any type was used to begin with or at all, and the plumbers were simply guessing that the tree was the culprit when there hydrojetting was not done properly or done to correct the problem. Again I state based on the response they are stating they told us that this was the pinpoint issue of our past drain issues and why previous snaking had not worked, this is false, we again never had any drain work done or issues before January 2014, so this statement was not true nor in any context of conversation. Even though the work was not completed nor was it fixed I was still charged the entire amount, even after the price we were given was to FIX the problem which was not done. That very same night our drain backed up again and continued to do so for the next week. Until we had another plumbing company come out and correctly fix our drain back up, by cable snaking it and we have not had another problem with it since the new plumber came out and correctly fixed it the very same way PLUMBING 911 told us would not fix our problem. And we were in fact told that our pipes were not busted or crushed or smashed as plumbing 911 told us and even referred to in their response. By Plumbing 911 stating the camera was how they pinpointed our pipe problem, is astounding to me as this was in fact was not and still not the problem. My husband did call Plumbing 911 with our complaints and issues and demanded to speak to someone who could help remedy our situation, at this time he was transferred around and indeed told the credit card we had provided had not been charged at this time. Thus why we have waited to long. Our concerns were never answered or rectified and Plumbing 911 seems to have the attitude that they should be paid for a job not completed and in fact a job in which the problem was made worse by Plumbing 911. We have found a reputable plumber who indeed fixed our issue in a quarter of the time Plumbing 911 attempted to do and they were gracious and professional which is much less then I can say for Plumbing 911. Let me reiterate by saying 1) the problem was not fixed by plumbing 911, simply made worse. 2) we never had any previous drain work or main line sewer back up problems previous to the January 2014 incident in which plumbing 911 was called out and this was never stated to anyone EVER. 3)We were having the work performed that the plumber from Plumbing 911 stated would fix our problem and assured us that the normal cable snaking would not fix. 4) we have since had our drain problem fixed by another company who indeed fixed it by snaking it and we have had no more issues since this. We demand our money returned to us as the issue was not fixed only made worse and Plumbing 911 makes no attempts to reconcile our issues or concerns. We should not have to pay for services that were performed wrong and did not fix our plumbing issue. Although I do acknowledge their attempt to give us a discount on future work, I would never use Plumbing 911 for any services ever again, I would never recommend services to anyone I know, and as I have previously stated their quote for more work needing performed is not needed nor was it ever need period. We would like fully refunded.

03/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GROSS OVERCHARGE - No estimate given.We signed a blank authorization to start work and after five hours we were charged $3690.We were swindled!
8-29-13,invoice 9572..Tech ******,Phone payment to american express. I own apartment buildings.I have been using plumbing companies for over thirty years. I have never been the victim of a dishonest repair company until I called 911 Plumbing.In August of last year,one of my apartment units had a leak. We called what we thought was a reputable company. My agent on site signed a blank authorization form to start the job. This is not uncommon,as you never know how extensive a problem can be. The authorization was signed in good faith with the assumption of fair and honest charges. There was an expectation of honesty and normal charges for the work that was needed. Normal charges range from $75 to $100 per hour plus materials.NO ESTIMATE WAS GIVEN. I was not on site when the work was being done, but after I found out how high my bill was, I called my building manager to find out how long the tech had been at the building on the job. I was shocked to find out that the workman was on site a total of five hours and used approximately $400 in materials. When I did the math, I found that I was charged $658 per hour for this service. This is an outrage. When I authorized the phone payment I had no idea how long the workman had been on the job, nor the scope of the repairs. When the tech called me for payment,I trusted the reputation of his company. He took advantage of the fact that I was not on site to check his work and trusted he was honest. My manager was never given an invoice of work completed nor a bill. Only after calling my card company and disputing most of the charge did I get an invoice for the service. I did not recieve $3290 worth of repairs and feel violated for my trust.Even at the high end of $100 per hour of work and $400 for materials, my bill should not have exceeded $1000. This bill is blatent theft! We called the plumbing company and were told they would do nothing about this situation .Other consumers need to know how disreputable their practices are. They are crooks and should not be allowed to prey on unsuspecting property owners.

Desired Settlement
Since I was grossly overcharged for five hours of labor,I feel I should get a refund of $2690. That number is $1000 less than I was charged. I come to that number using the highest hourly charge for services and approximately $400 for materials plus an extra $100 . I feel that would be a fair settlement.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************, VP
Contact Phone: 330-952-1900
Contact Email: km@theplumbing911.com
March 17, 2014

Better Business Bureau
Akron, OH - Complaint # ********

To Whom It May Concern:

Attached you will find supporting documentation regarding our companies position on complaint# ********. In August 2013, our company was contacted and contracted by Mr. ****** to complete multiple services for a rental property. This job was not a typical plumbing job, as we had to break through concrete walls to redo plumbing, in addition to other multiple tasks. Our job was completed as contracted, and the customer signed and paid for services upon completion of our work.
In September, we received a chargeback dispute from *****************, stating that our company incorrectly charged this customers credit card. In the attached documentation you will find everything that was submitted. Our initial response back included the signed and imprinted sales slip, signed order form, and confirmation that we performed this work as a face-to-face transaction. After this information was submitted, the chargeback was dismissed and our company was paid appropriately.
Five months later, we receive another notice this case was being reviewed, and Mrs. ******* sent you exactly what she sent her credit card company. You will see in the attached documentation our direct response, as we completely disagree with her claim and find her story to be untrue.
Our final notice to the credit card states that Plumbing 911 will not credit any costs, as we have legal proof of contracted services and payments, according to State of **** contract law. In addition, Mrs. ****** and her claims are completely untrue. No credits will be made, as our company did nothing wrong and is owed the amount for which we were legally contracted.

Sincerely,
************
Plumbing 911, Inc.
Business Manager and Co-Owner


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was not an unusual plumbing problem. We have had similar work done for over thirty years. They did not break through any concrete walls, as there are none in our units.there was NO CONTRACT so it was not completed as contracted. A blank authorization was signed to start the job, as it was unknown how long it would take to find the source of the bathroom leak.This is not uncommon in older buildings when the job is uncertain as to the scope of the problem. the total time on the job was unknown to me when I paid the requested amount ,from what I thought to be a reputable company. The amount was so huge that i imagined a huge problem had needed fixing..on further investigation i was told that the service tech had been at our property a total of five hours and used appx. $ 400. worth of materiels. That is when I called the company and said that there must have been a mistake in the charge. They charged me over $ 600. per hour .At that point I realized I had been scammed and contacted my credit card company to report an overcharge and fraud. This is GROSS overcharge and FRAUDULANT. We were NEVER given an estimate nor were we informed beforhand what their hourly rate would be. Stupidly, we trusted that they were a reputable company and would charge us a fair price. Standard rates range from $ 80. to $ 100.per hour...this is a far cry from $ 600 plus. the paperwork they speak of was blank when it was signed. The service tech filled it out after the fact. This company should be blacklisted by the Better Business Bureau. I have been taking care of rental properties for over thirty years. I have NEVER encountered such a dishonest company.If they could cheat someone who is experienced imagine what they could do to an unwary homeowner.They are dishonest and disreputable and the publich should be warned.

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Fire & Flood Emergency Service, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/03/2009Business started: 11/26/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico

BBB records show a license number of PL 36619 for this company, issued by Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance. Their web address is http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2008, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Miller (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Karen Miller (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers, Fire & Flood Emergency Service, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Products & Services

Sewer and Drain Cleaning, High-Pressure Drain Jetting, Video Drain Inspections, Sewer, Water and Gas Line Repairs & Replacements, Faucets & Sinks, Water Heaters, Sump Pumps, Frozen Line Issues, Garbage Disposals, Flood Restoration and Clean Up.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 07:00 AMTue: 07:00 AM to 07:00 AMWed: 07:00 AM to 07:00 AMThu: 07:00 AM to 07:00 AMFri: 07:00 AM to 07:00 AMSat: 07:00 AM to 07:00 AMSun: 07:00 AM to 07:00 AM
Refund and Exchange Policy

There is no refunds on service based transactions. Our company offers warranties on both products and services following agreed upon contracted terms.

Service Area

Servicing all Stark, Summit, Portage, Medina, Cuyahoga, Lake, Geauga Counties and Surrounding Communities


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Plumbing 911, Inc. has received 4.70 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

2 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Plumbing 911, Inc.

1393 Gardner Blvd

Barberton, OH 44203

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1393 Gardner Blvd 

    Barberton, OH 44203(440) 499-9960
    (440) 334-3326
    (330) 952-1900
    (330) 952-1900
    (440) 723-3421
    (330) 391-7606
    (216) 777-1075
    (330) 408-5438
    (330) 249-9977
    (330) 408-5734
    (440) 499-9961
    (330) 754-3092
    (330) 590-9637
    (330) 391-7535
    (440) 508-4286
    (440) 290-4264
    (216) 246-0566
    (216) 609-3264
    (330) 825-9911
    (440) 508-4546
    (216) 777-1095
    (440) 499-9962
    (440) 290-5656
    (330) 754-3356
    (440) 290-4149
    (330) 249-9980
    (440) 786-6219
    (330) 267-2644
    (440) 387-4759
    (216) 777-1076
    (330) 280-6261
    (440) 290-5757
    (855) 448-0473
    (216) 777-1077
    (216) 539-1993
    (330) 249-9979
    (440) 262-5612
    (440) 499-9963
    (330) 577-1093
    (330) 591-9411
    (330) 952-0538
    (440) 359-6999

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Plumbing 911, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 280-6261
  • (330) 529-5119
  • (216) 246-0566
  • (330) 529-5265
  • (440) 334-3326
  • (330) 952-1900
  • (866) 720-0911
  • (330) 529-5257
  • (866) 969-5335
  • (330) 529-5256
  • (866) 969-4110
  • (216) 609-3264
  • (440) 290-5757
  • (440) 723-3421
  • (440) 508-4546
  • (216) 777-1077
  • (216) 777-1075
  • (440) 499-9962
  • (330) 249-9979
  • (330) 249-9977
  • (330) 754-3356
  • (440) 499-9963
  • (440) 499-9961
  • (440) 290-4149
  • (330) 577-1093
  • (330) 754-3092
  • (330) 249-9980
  • (330) 591-9411
  • (330) 590-9637
  • (440) 786-6219
  • (330) 952-0538
  • (330) 391-7535
  • (330) 267-2644
  • (440) 359-6999
  • (440) 508-4286
  • (440) 387-4759
  • (440) 499-9960
  • (440) 290-4264
  • (216) 777-1076
  • (440) 334-3326
  • (216) 246-0566
  • (330) 280-6261
  • (330) 952-1900
  • (330) 825-9911
  • (855) 448-0473
  • (330) 391-7606
  • (216) 777-1095
  • (216) 539-1993
  • (330) 408-5438
  • (440) 290-5656
  • (440) 262-5612
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.