BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2011

Plumb-Busters Plumbing & Drain

Phone: (330) 825-6165Fax: (330) 658-5065956 Grant Ave Ste F, Cuyahoga FallsOH 44221-4600 Send email to Plumb-Busters Plumbing & Drain

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2011

BBB has determined that Plumb-Busters Plumbing & Drain meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Plumb-Busters Plumbing & Drain's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Plumb-Busters Plumbing & Drain

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: The plumbing work was not done correctly & the drain is still clogged. 2+ weeks have passed and Jim has not honored his work & does not return calls.
Plumb-Busters came out to snake a clogged drain October 31, 2013. My sister was at the residence when owner Jim Perry and another worker arrived and I was on my way there to meet him. She let them in and described in detail the problem with the drain in the basement. Mr. Perry asked my sister to perform tasks like flushing the toilets & turning the water on and off. Then they brought the equipment inside, went to the basement and worked for less than 10 minutes. They asked my sister to flush the toilets and turn the water on again then came upstairs, told my sister everything was fixed and loaded their equipment up . I arrived at the house & Mr. Perry was waiting outside for me to pay him and I asked him to show me what the problem was and what he did to correct it. We went to the basement to find that Mr. Perry had snaked the other drain than the one specified as clogged. I asked him to snake that one as well & he added another charge for that although he didn't say there would be separate charges for separate drains. He snaked the 2nd drain and I paid the bill of $160 and he left. A few hours later the drains were clogging again. It took over a week to contact Plumb-Busters as they failed to return numerous messages. When Mr. Perry finally answered the phone on 11/8/13 he stated he was having surgery & was busy and couldn't get to it until the following week. He never called back after that and I left numerous messages again, as well as texts, emails & messages on his website plumbustersllc.com all of which were unanswered. I finally reached Jim Perry again today, 11/19/13 & asked what he was going to do to fix the plumbing issue and when he would honor the work I paid for and he told me the work was done and that we must have clogged it again when it was never unclogged at all. I asked for a refund and he refused. He said to call him next week (the week of 11/25/13) and he would see if he could come and check it out.

Initial Business Response
please show invoice, no work done for this customer found.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Plumb-Busters is blatantly lying in regards to service at my home. It is true that I do not have an invoice from them because Mr. Perry, the owner of the company did not offer a receipt and when he stated the job was complete I paid him the amount due and he left. I did not request a receipt when I was told the job was complete and the drain was no longer clogged. Without having an invoice I do not know how to prove I hired them other than phone calls between Mr. Perry & myself and a picture of his truck in my driveway where my vehicle can partially be seen. If the photo of his truck and phone records of our calls back and forth will help show proof, please let me know so that I can request them from the phone company.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Pipe Locating Equipment, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Excavating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico

BBB records show a license number of PL 28856 for this company, issued by Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance. Their web address is http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2015.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Perry (Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers, Pipe Locating Equipment, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Excavating Contractors

Products & Services

This company provides commercial and residential plumbing services.

Alternate Business Names
Drain Buster Plumbing & Drain

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Plumb-Busters Plumbing & Drain has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Plumb-Busters Plumbing & Drain

956 Grant Ave Ste F

Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221-4600

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 956 Grant Ave Ste F 

    Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221-4600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Plumb-Busters Plumbing & Drain is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.