Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northeast Ohio Eye Surgeons, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Northeast Ohio Eye Surgeons, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 08/28/1984 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Medical Board

Phone Number: (614) 466-3934
The number is 35.039785.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. Katie L Greiner, Clinical Administrator/Optometrist
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Katie L Greiner, Clinical Administrator/Optometrist
Business Category

Physicians - Specialists Lasik Eye Surgery Contact Lenses Optical Goods - Retail Optometrists Optometrists - O.D.

Products & Services

Northeast Ohio Eye Surgeons, Inc. offers the following product(s): Avenova lid spray, Latisse , Science Based Health eye vitamins

Alternate Business Names
Laser Vision Center of Northeast Ohio Eye Surge
Products & Services

This company offers refractive eye surgery.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northeast Ohio Eye Surgeons, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 Park West Blvd

    Akron, OH 44320

  • 2013 St Route 59

    Kent, OH 44240 (330) 928-0201

  • 4277 Allen Road

    Stow, OH 44224 (330) 678-0201


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: inconsistent charges past exams included refractive testing and not charged separate. Last time it was separated out for billing. Ins did not allow it I went in to NEO Eye clinic and had the same exam as had been done numerous times in the past on an annual basis. This last time they chose to separate out the refractive testing as a separate charge of $38.00 and the insurance did not accept it. I called the business office and was told they changed this billing practice. According to her they were aware that this practice would result in the patients being made to pay the fee that the insurance would reject. They are just trying to suck blood out of a rock. I do not believe it is appropriate for them to knowingly do this and not clearing indicate the repercussions of their action to their patients. I do not we as patients should be treated in this manner. Using such methods to extract additional fees from us should be illegal. This test which is a part of each past visit was always in the included as part of the charge for the exam and covered by the insurance.

Desired Settlement: retract the charge as it is unsubstantiated and only been implemented as a rouse to extract fees from the patients which should be properly submitted as a covered insurance benefit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/19) */ Third Party payors (Insurance companies) have decided years ago to differentiate Vision problems as separate from Medical conditions. Vision testing or exams include testing or prescribing for glasses or contact lenses. Medical testing includes evaluation for red eyes, cataracts, diabets, glaucoma etc. For years, NEOES chose to include refractive testing in the medical eye exams as a courtesy to our patients. Therefore, we "refracted" or checked patients' vision during the medical eye exams. However, the true 3rd Party Payors' definition of medical eye exams do not include "vision coverage." 3rd Party Payors have now penalized providers (Drs) for not following guidelines for the different exam definitions. Therefore, providers have been fined for "underbilling" as much as "overbilling." Medicare and other 3rd party payors will financially penalize providers if they not separate vision from medical eye exams. Interestingly, doctors need to test for vision conditions in order to fully evaluate a patient's complete eye health. With the threat from 3rd party payors of penalties and with reimbursement declining, NEOES chose to follow specific insurance guidelines and separate the medical portion of the eye exam from the vision (refractive) portion of the exam. NEOES changed the policy to bill refractions (92015) separate and not include this test in the medical exam (99xxx). NEOES changed the policy 4 years ago (2012). NEOES is not fraudulently billing the consumer/patient for testing we did not perform. We are billing the patient for testing we performed. We are just following the recommended 3rd Party Payor guidelines under Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) created by CMS (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services). We did NOT create the system; we are only following the recommended policies and defintion of the current Medical Ins system. We recognize the confusion people may have with medical billing. We empathize that the system is confusing. We have tried to inform patients that medical billing is different than vision billing. While we recognize that 3rd Party Payor system is confusing and frustrating for providers and patients, we did choose to write off this specific patients $38 refraction fee. However, we contend that we were only following Ins guidelines, and the patient needs to complain to his insurance company who set the guidelines in motion. Since this patient has medical coverage, but not vision coverage, the patient's insurance allowed the refraction fee to billed as a "non-covered" item. If the insurance would not allow this test, we would have received a note (EOB) that stated the refraction was a "non-allowed" service. However, the Ins ALLOWED the service, but just stated the service was "allowed non-covered". Therefore, the service is the patient's responsibility. We have apologized for any perception of misleading the patient. We have removed the disputed charge from the patient's account. We hope the issue is resolved Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/02/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you. My main complaint is in the change in billing practice resulting in a necessary part of the exam to be billed and charged to the patient. I have been getting this exam including the refraction for the last 10 years with no issues. It appears that this I need to voice a strong objection to my insurer about. However, NEOES was aware of the impact this would have on my coverage and should have clearly indicated this to me so that I could have it pre-approved. Another good argument for a single payer system. Again Thank you

5/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Northeast Ohio Eye Surgeons, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart