Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Paws Awhile Kennel & Grooming

Phone: (330) 659-9450 3426 Brush Rd, Richfield, OH 44286 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paws Awhile Kennel & Grooming meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Paws Awhile Kennel & Grooming
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2014 Business started: 03/20/1984 Business started locally: 03/20/1984 Business incorporated 03/20/1984 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Joseph Pavone, President Ms. Olivia Pavone
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Pavone, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Olivia Pavone
Business Category

Pet Grooming Pet Boarding & Kennels

Alternate Business Names
CJ's Salon Country Kennels J&A Diversified, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 3426 Brush Rd

    Richfield, OH 44286 (330) 659-9450


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Compensation for services not fulfilled, mistreatment of both animals (GSD and Standard Poodle), reimbursement for veterinary cost of Standard Poodle. We picked up our dogs on April 1 during the morning hours for pickup and drop-off. My husband and son took both dogs outside and waited for me to settle the balance on our bill. The staff member that was tallying up the bill handed me a bag of unused medicine that was to be given to my 11-year-old German shepherd dog. The directions were clearly marked on the bag of how much, how many times a day and the dog's name that was to receive the medicine. I was very surprised that the bag was not empty when I came to pick up the dogs. My dog did not receive a day and a half of his medicine. Which of course was part of the service that I paid for, but was not the most upsetting part of the situation. He also had mud that was on his side in a very strong kennel smell. Our other dog is a 6-year-old Standard Poodle he not only had a very strong kennel smell on him but also wreaked of urine. However, this is not the worst of it. We noticed something was not right on the backside of our standard poodle. On further inspection we found that this skin on his scrotum was rubbed off with a discoloration from white, yellow, red and was inflamed to twice its normal size. Once we saw the injury we took him to a veterinarian. The veterinarian wanted to know how his injury happened. We told the doctor that we are unsure of what could've caused his injury, but what I do know for sure is that the injury was not there when we dropped him off. Both dogs were checked for any injuries, and groomed, before taking them to be boarded at Paws Awhile Kennels. When we dropped the dogs off the floors were extremely wet and when we picked them up they were wetter than they were and we drop them off and muddy. I mentioned this to the vet and her comment was, 'it's possible that because the floors were wet that there was an irritation that developed from him sitting on a wet floor or that maybe some cleaning product that is used could have irritated his skin causing him to lick the area excessively. Therefore, creating what they call a hotspot that irritated the area more plus the floors being wet with either water, urine or both.' She prescribed an antibiotic that he needs to take for two weeks along with surgical scrub pads that also have to be done in the area for two weeks or more. I expect more compassion and empathy towards the pets you care for and any slice of humanity that you have towards their owners. After the message that I left, on April 1, I thought for sure that we would receive a phone call from you or an email, but we heard nothing but silence. Part of the service that we also paid for was for the dogs to have time out in the enclosed green space to run. I don't understand how the standard poodle's injury was not seen so that it could be treated or that we would receive a phone call about it. I also was told that he didn't even eat that morning and was lying down on the floor uninterested of anything going on around him. So now I'm left to wonder did my dogs lay on wet concrete floors for six days? Were they even let out into the enclosed green space or given their treats? All this crosses my mind since the directions for the medicine were not followed or given as per instruction. I even went over the directions for the medicine with one of your staff and was told that, 'those directions couldn't be any clearer.' It is unfortunate that the circumstances have occurred and this situation ever happened. It disappoints me that after my phone message and e-mails with pictures of the injury, you never cared enough to respond back. It is hard enough to trust anyone to look after your pets, because they are part of your family. Your facility/kennels has broken that trust and hopefully one day I can find the faith and trust to put back into any business that operates a place to board my pets. This is not the situation anyone expects to deal with when coming back from vacation.

Desired Settlement: What do I expect as compensation: $6.00 compensation for the German Shepherd's medicine not being given as per the instructions. $50.02 compensation for the Standard Poodles's veterinarian bill for antibiotics and surgical scrub pads. $182.00 compensation for the mistreatment of the Standard Poodle and his injuries/discomfort that occurred at your facility. TOTAL: $238.02 credited back to the credit card that was used to pay the bill in full on the account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2016/04/25) */ Hello BBB, I had a conversation with ***** ****** and worked things out with her. I had a employee not come back to work that day And was training a new employee, also my daughter Olivia was out having her baby and it was Easter week the busiest week of the year. I explained to ***** that we don't run our business that way and I was sorry for the pain I caused to her beloved pets. I refunded what she asked for, her expenses for the vet. and also reversed charges for medication. I mailed her a check for the exact amount she asked for and said when she got the check she would withdraw her complaint. I wrote her a check on 4/11/16 and ***** cashed the check on 4/15/16. Very Truly Yours, Joe P***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2016/04/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mr. P***** and I had a conversation over the phone about the situation and condition of my dogs during the stay at Paws Awhile Kennels. It is unfortunate that this situation occurred, because we have used them in the past twice and have been very pleased with the care of our dogs. Mr. P***** and I did reach a monetary arrangement and restitution to the complaint filed. He was truly sorry and upset about what occurred to my dogs during their stay at his facility.

8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dog appeared to have been allowed to walk around in own urine. Was not fed per my instruction. Lied to on the phone by the kennel employee. I dropped my dog off on July 2, 2014 at 5:45pm with a bag of dry food containing exactly 10 cups of food and wet food. The amount is enough for (2) feedings a day for (5) days. I gave specific instruction to the kennel employee and he wrote it down. I came to pick him up on Monday, July 7, 2014 and he wouldn't come anywhere near the employee. Upon seeing the door open to the "office" area my dog ran for the exterior door and began yelping and clawing for dear life. My dog has never acted this way and we have taken him to other kennels. When our dog saw me he got a little excited and peed and the employee dropped the leash and stepped back as if he was not concerned about the dog. Additionally, my dog smelled like urine and had dog poop in the pads of his paws. Furthermore, my parents also brought their dog to the same kennel and my dog and their dog both smelled like urine. My parents dog's bed was urinated on by another dog and was visibly exhausted. He also did not get the required amount of food. My objectionable view of the situation is that the kennel did not feed or take care of my dog while I put him in their care. Finally, when I called the kennel to confront them after realizing the bag of food was still in our bag the employee said "I fed him your food." However, it was all still in the bag.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of $162.00. Additionally, I want this business to be completely aware of the consequences that can occur due to the unlawful treatment of animals.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/24) */ Mr. ********, I understand your concerns and Paws Awhile is extremely apologetic regarding the matter. It has come to my attention that your dog was fed our kennel's organic dog food during his stay per the misplacement of the food you brought. I can one hundred percent personally guarantee that your dog's needs were not neglected as I have reviewed the daily records kept by the kennel personnel and your dog did receive the exact amount of food you specified as necessary. With regard to your parent's dog not receiving the exact amount of food, the only statement I can make, once again, is that I review the food logs daily and have never come across an incident in which a dog was not fed the required amount. I do apologize that your food was misplaced, but your dog was not neglected. This is the first time in all of the years that we have been in business that any issue of this nature has been brought to our attention. Although I was unable to see your dog first hand upon his departure, I will address your concern with regard to the urine smell as best as possible. We clean all runs at least six times per day, additionally as needed. The runs are indoor/outdoor with dimensions of 4 feet by 17 feet containing a sliding doggy door with access to the outside. The dogs are permitted to roam freely, weather permitting, all day. Unfortunately, some dogs do become anxious and urinate and/or defecate on the inside portion of the run or even in their own dog beds because they are out of their comfort zone. This is something we have zero control over, and knowing this many of our long-standing valued customers do indeed request that their animals are bathed the day of their departure. I am uncertain as to how you think that your parent's dog and/or dog bed was urinated on by another animal as we do not let any of our animals have direct contact with one another, and this is an extremely strict policy we have had for 23 years that has not been broken. It is not possible that another dog could have urinated on your parent's dog's bed. Once again, dog's out of their comfort zone do often urinate and/or defecate on their own belongings. With regard to your dog's exhaustion, this is more common than not due to the nature of being in a kennel away from the owners and their home. Also, many dogs urinate upon seeing their owners. This is usually due to excitement and the reason why we keep a mop near the hallway. The employee that you spoke with on the phone was a different employee than the one who made the notes about your dog's food when you dropped your dog off; the employee on the phone simply misunderstood that your dog had his own food, which was explained to me by that employee. I can assure you that we do not unlawfully treat animals here, as we deeply care for them all equally. I leave my own dogs in the kennel with the same employee that you are claiming neglects the animals. Once again, I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding and miscommunication. Actions are now in place to ensure that this will not happen again. We will be happy to compensate you for your dissatisfaction with your stay, as we always guarantee one hundred percent customer satisfaction.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Paws Awhile Kennel & Grooming
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)