BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2009

CertaPro Painters

(330) 896-7744View Additional Phone Numbers1606 E. Turkeyfoot Lake Road, Suite 240, AkronOH 44312 Send email to CertaPro Painters

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2009

BBB has determined that CertaPro Painters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised CertaPro Painters' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on CertaPro Painters

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CertaPro did not honor their warranty to come back a touch up the paint where the workmanship was less than desired.

CertaPro was contracted to remove all wallpaper in main bath, paint tiles in main bath and full prime and seal out smoke stains. They were contracted to paint kitchen, family room, bedroom, main hall, main bath, 2 bedrooms and master. After 6 months of completing the project the paint started to bleed through. They came out and inspected the house and said the reason for this was structural defects in the walls and somebody try to touch up the paint on the wall which did not occur. CertaPro is claiming they are not responsible for the issues we have raised and have refused honor the warrenty.

Desired Settlement
We are only requesting they come out and honor the warranty and touch up an repaint where the paint is bleeding through. They have been paid in full.

Business Response
A CertaPro Associate went out to assess the situation. Upon the inspection it was clear that someone other than CertaPro touched up the ceilings with a different product. Our two year warranty, which is on the back of approved contract, does not cover "Any work which was not performed by the Contractor (CertaPro Painters)". There was white paint brushed (an application in which CertaPro would not have applied original paint or touch up)onto areas of the homeowners ceilings that were clearly from someone other than CertaPro, the color and sheen does not match the original ceiling product that was applied two years ago, which has since been effected by environmental conditions, such as apparent heavy smoking in the home. The warranty does not cover "structural defects" the walls and ceilings are not flush or level, therefore shadowing is created by different lighting sources.
During the Representatives visit, the female occupying the home became verbally abusive, and was using profanity towards the Representative, the Painter, who was also present and towards the prior Estimator who was not present. The documents and photographs have been turned over to our attorney.


12/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They cheated me out of my money. They did not honor their agreement. They took my money and did not perform the duties, and never made it right.
Hired Certa Pro painters to paint the entire house. The agreement included fixing the stucco, and putting two coats of paint on the house. About two months after they painted the house, not even doing the two coats. I noticed the stucco was not properly done. I called in October and was told that they would come out first thing in the spring because of the weather. when spring came I heard nothing from them, so I called them. Spring came and gone, Summer came and gone, Fall came and still no Certa Pro. I contact them sever times and got stood up. The only time they showed up was when it was raining just to tell me its too wet. The last time they was scheduled to show up was on October 31, 2014, They again never showed up, and they never even called. They robbed me out of about $3000.00. I am a single parent on disability. They have caused us financial hardship and hurt. House gotten worst now.

Desired Settlement
They deliberately bridged their contract, they did a bait and switch, pretended to be a company that their not, took my money and then neglected to fulfill what they promised. They did not satisfactory perform the job and they did not honor their warranty.

Business Response
All agreed contract dealings were conducted strictly between CertaPro Painters and ******* Fiduciary, ************. All work was performed as agreed contract.
****** never contacted her Fiduciary, nor had she contacted our franchise directly either via email or phone or we would have taken care of any issues as soon as possible. ****** went directly to corporate with her false allegations and that we had robbed her. We went above and beyond to accommodate ****** and her financial situation by setting up a monthly payment plan.
The homeowner waited till almost the end of the season to log her complaints and we were then fighting a rainy season. ****** has not been accommodating, we had contacted her to set up a date and time to come out to the house and do the touch ups, when the painting crew arrived, they were told by *******' son that she was sleeping and we were unable to access the yard. We then contacted her a second time to let her know we were scheduling to come out and to put the paint outside since she does not always answer the door, when the painter arrived, the paint had not been left out as instructed, the gates to access the yard were locked and she was not answering.
The homeowners' house does have a prior issue of the stucco siding holding in moisture, therefore, the repairs that was performed as per agreed contract were compromised due to this situation.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am shocked to see the false statements. I have proof that the company did not do as they indicated, and etc. They did not honor their warranty agreement, neither did they do a satisfactory paint job. I have hard evidence to prove what I'm saying is true, and to show their blatant dishonesty. God sees all. I was home and I absolutely left the paint outside, and the gate absolutely was not locked, they absolutely positively was a NO SHOW, latest time being October 31st, 2014. I am in total shock behind their behavior.

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CertaPro didn't use right product, properly prep surface/apply paint and used a non-employee who may have a criminal background. Won't give his name.
I hired CertaPro in 2010 to wash/re-stain the exterior of my home and deck. Although I had issues w/workers, I tried to resolve them and did pay the contract in full. Earlier this year, I discovered that they didn't replace rotted boards, seal bee holes and other damage before painting along roof line, and the higher part of house. It also doesn't look like they put on 2 coats/backroll the stain. I called the owner ************* a few months ago and he said that it was a 2 yr. warranty, so I asked for the paint receipts to make a claim with ****************. Mr. ******** told me during our conversation that the workers were not actually CertaPro employees, but were affiliated w/another Canton-based company. One of the painters, "*****" was recently fired. I was very upset because I selected CertaPro specifically b/c they claimed they didn't sub out the work, but used their own employees. Mr. ******** refused to tell me why ***** was fired or provide me with their full names. I told him that I've had property damage/break-ins since using CertaPro and knew that ***** was affiliated with a locksmith company. After speaking w/Mr. ******** I believe that these workers were not qualified to do the work, one likely has a criminal record, and they didn't actually use the high quality paint that I paid for. I feel very taken advantage of and shocked that Mr.******** won't disclose information about these workers. I also filed a complaint with the corporate office, but was told that since each store is independently owned, there isn't anything they can do. Mr. ******** initially stated that since the warranty expired there probably wasn't anything he could do, but would come out to look at the condition of the home. However, he didn't respond to my last request to schedule an appointment or for the copies of the paint receipt. I would caution any women who live alone to be wary of hiring this company, since you'll have no idea who will show up to your house. I received quotes from several different companies before selecting CertaPro and feel that the salesperson, ***************, deliberately mislead me in order to get the job. When the work was being performed, I made several complaints to Ms. *********--the workers spray painted over all of the trees and shrubs surrounding my deck, used only hot water to pressure wash the house and burned up my hot water tank, failed to show up for work one day, and left debris underneath the back deck when they finished. They also didn't paint under the eaves and generally tried to "cut corners". Ms. ********* repeatedly assured me that these guys were not only employees, but that they were very experienced. When they handed me the final bill it was $200 more than the contract. First they claimed that it was because additional materials were needed, but then realized that they had actually stapled a page from a different work order. Ms. ********* said this was just a "mix-up" in the paperwork. When she did the final walk through she saw where all of the landscaping had been painted over, but refused to offer any kind of discount. Although I paid the balance, I contacted CertaPro to express my dissatisfaction. It wasn't until this spring that I noticed the peeling, flaking and overall poor appearance near the roofline and when I zoomed in with my digital camera I could see the unfilled holes, etc. At a minimum, I want copies of the receipts showing what paint was used, and how much was actually purchased. For my own safety, I want the full names of the project manager and house painter that did the work on my property. I also want a partial refund based on the failure to properly prep the house surface and the rotted deck boards that were not replaced, but instead painted over and to be compensated if they overcharged me for paint or used a lesser quality product than what I paid for.

Desired Settlement
As noted above, I would like a partial refund, copies of the paint receipts/warranty language, and the names of the individuals that CertaPro sent to perform the work on my property. If CertaPro does not actually employ their workers, they should stop making these representations during their sales pitches and disclose that information in the written contract. Tracy Schlitzer went out of her way to convince me that she "understood" my concerns as a single woman and "assured" me that her employees were qualified and undergone background checks. It's frightening to find out under these circumstances that this is a flat out lie.

Business Response
(BBB - converted from original. See Document file.)

Please be advised that the limit of CertaPro Painters warranty contract obligations expired on 10/7/12. **************'s statements are without basis and are abundant with supposition and subjective.

Complainant claims that CertaPro caused damage to the water heater, even though we did not cause the water heater to malfunction, CertaPro paid to have the plumber attend to the matter and can provide a disclaimer from the plumbing firm *******************, whom the complainant solicited and hired.

CertaPro offered to visit the ****** residence along with the paint manufacturer's representative, in hopes of to dispel claims of product coverage. Unfortunately the plaintiff didn't display any sincerity regarding our offer.

The complainants remarks about the salesperson misleading her are intentionally slanderous and without merit. At no time during production was the salesperson contacted verbally or through emails to state there were issues. There was no damage to the property that warranted a discount or refund. All repairs and wood replacement was done as per approved contract, which can be seen in the before and after pictures.

Despite the implications, all painters are subject to background checks and are insured. CertaPro does not hire intentionally anyone with "a criminal background".

Complainant corresponded with CertaPro corporate legal and our local counsel advised us to basically let this matter take its own course.

****************
Owner

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I paid almost $300 to have the water heater fixed after CertaPro's worker, "*****" used hot water to pressure wash the house. There is no question that he burned out the unit because the water was running cold when he was done. I asked him why he used only hot water and he said "I didn't realize it was hot". *********** of ************* had done some repairs when I first bought the house and he seemed reputable, so I asked him to recommend a good painter. He suggested CertaPro and told me that ***** was related to him by marriage. That's why I gave "*****" the benefit of the doubt as far as his many mistakes. It was only recently that I found out that ***** was actually employed with CertaPro and that he has a criminal history--he also has a "side business" as a locksmith. And I explained to Mr. ******** that I've had incidents involving trespassing/attempted B&E and that's why I wanted information about the workers at my house. I do not understand why Mr. ******** refuses to provide me with the full name of ***** and the other worker, ***, who did the work. I also repeatedly called and emailed Mr. ******** asking for him to inspect the work AND for copies of the paint labels and warranty language so that I could make a claim with ****************. I believe Mr. ******** is refusing to give me the paint information b/c his workers didn't actually purchase what I paid for. I believe the warranty for labor is still in effect if the defects were only recently discovered by me. And the paint warranty is also still in effect.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/28/2010Business started: 11/01/1997
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Rich Toriello (Owner)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor

Products & Services

This company offers

Alternate Business Names
Akron-Canton Contrator Services, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for CertaPro Painters

1606 E. Turkeyfoot Lake Road, Suite 240

Akron, OH 44312

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1606 E. Turkeyfoot Lake Road, Suite 240 

    Akron, OH 44312(330) 896-7744

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*CertaPro Painters is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 703-2744
  • (810) 919-3691
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.