Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Novus Clinic

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 630-9699 Fax: (330) 630-2173 View Additional Phone Numbers 518 West Avenue, Tallmadge, OH 44278 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.novusclinic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Novus Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Novus Clinic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Novus Clinic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 04/01/1988 Business started locally: 04/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Optometry

optometry.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (614) 466-5115
Optometry.Board@exchange.state.oh.us
The number is OPT.6241-THER.

Ohio State Medical Board

Phone Number: (614) 466-3934
The number is 34.004290.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Scott Weekley, Practice Administrator Mr. Todd L. Beyer, D.O., President Mrs. Kim Hoch, Vice President Mr. Jerry Sude, O.D., Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Kim Hoch, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Scott Weekley, Practice Administrator
Business Category

Optometrists Physicians & Surgeons - Ophthalmology Lasik Eye Surgery Contact Lenses Optical Goods - Retail Opticians Sunglasses Hair Removal - Laser & Electrolysis

Alternate Business Names
Novus Clinic Akron Novus Clinic Coventry Novus Clinic Green System Optics Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers OPTHALMOLOGY AND OPTOMETRY PRACTICE, AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTER.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Novus Clinic has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1790 Town Park Blvd STE D

    Uniontown, OH 44685

  • 3510 Manchester Rd

    Akron, OH 44319 (330) 753-2100

  • 518 West Avenue

    Tallmadge, OH 44278 (330) 630-9699

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Optical Group received our product in error. We called them to have them send it back. They won't return it yet, they're holding our product. Novus Clinic is not returning a product that we manufactured. It is for a patient at a different optometric practice. Novus Clinic bought out the previous practice that we did business with. The product got shipped there in error instead of the new location. We called Novus with respectful intentions and asked them to return the patient's product back to us so we can ship it to the correct location. Novus Clinic is not being cooperative and is holding the patient's product because Novus does not like the previous optometrist who serviced the patient. It is not the patient's fault that the business got bought out or the staff does not like the old staff. It is to service the patient and the patient paid for the services of their entitled frame and lenses.

Desired Settlement: We want Novus Clinic to send us the product that rightfully belongs to the patient. They are still holding the patient's frame and new lenses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/24) */ Central Optical: We did speak with one of your employees last week regarding this job. This job was not mailed to us in error and in fact was charged to our account and ordered through our location (during our conversation your employee did state that it would be corrected). After our conversation we contacted the insurance company to determine how this happened and to insure that it did not happen again. We received confirmation on Friday 11-20-15 that this was being taken care of. We contacted your office (via phone today) and informed your staff member (Janine I believe) that the product was being shipped back to your location today. Lastly, as a third party company in this matter we find your defamatory comments to be insulting and quite surprising. At no point did we ever make mention of the other practice's physician or staff and would ask that your employees refrain from making such comments in the future. Respectfully, Scott W******, COO Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Novus Clinic, With all due respect, if your office has the proper knowledge on how the third party company works, the lab BILLS the 3rd party company which is Vision Service Plan. The doctor using the NPI ID/location under any office gets reimbursed. So in this case, your office did not get billed, the service was done by the doctor. My customer service rep Janine called your staff member Megan and discussed the error in location and she said she would send it back. After days of it being held (Nov 18 to Nov 23), we called again inquiring the whereabouts of patient's glasses, your staff member said they felt the need for a credit because your office was billed in error. When truly, your office was never billed so how can we credit your account when the billing directly went to the 3rd party company. To clarify, your office did not ship the job back because our sales rep had to pick it up and delivery it to the correct location because it was a time-sensitive order. We contacted VSP and told them about the situation, they are aware of the location mishap and they are looking into the errors to ensure it will not happen again. Lastly, our lab was trying to diligently handle this situation so the patient could receive their glasses with their RX in it but your office had kept it and delayed the order from coming back to the patient in timely manner. If your office was waiting for a credit (when there really was not a credit to be issued), your staff member should have voiced it right away and right then we would have corrected the misunderstanding. In the future, we hope that the communication will be more smooth next time in case there are shipping errors to your location after learning a valuable lesson. Professionally, Liz ******

11/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they broke my lense of my prescription sun glasses as they were cleaning and adjusting them and would not replace it after getting my eye exam for new glasses i was sent over to the ophthalmology side to get fitted for new frames i had lost my old set of glasses and brought my presciption sun glasses with me as required on my drivers lic while driving i asked them to tighten the lenses in my sun glasses and the OD broke 1 of the lenses and said he was sorry it was a 1st for him in 20 yrs i asked what he was going to do and he said it was going to cost me 79.00 to fix them i told him i came in there with a good set of sun glasses and it was going to cost me 79.00 to walk out with them? he said he was sorry but thats all he could do service was on 10/14/2014 sales rep **** L. ***** he said hes name was **** although they circled ******* ****** OD on my copy of eye exam

Desired Settlement: all i want is my sun glasses replaced

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/11/18) */ Consumer presented **** with mangled eyewear indicating he had stepped on them and asked if they could be repaired. **** noticed a pit/hairline crack in the lens and pointed it out & informed consumer prior to repair, due to concern it could split if the only thing holding it together was the pressure of the frame. **** informed consumer he would need to remove the lens in order to straighten the frame, consumer agreed. After releasing the screw to remove the lens, it cracked in half due to the hairline crack already there. **** explained to consumer and he understood. Resolution: Out of goodwill, **** offered to replace the entire pair of eyewear including a new frame (bifocals reg. $125) for just $75 and allow a free tint ($25) and a free UV protectant ($25). We are happy to replace the broken lens, also out of goodwill, however, the mangled frame will not allow for proper measurements to ensure a good fit of a new lens. Additionally, the other lens was so old the new lens will not match in color. We wanted to help the consumer and that is why we offered a savings of over $100 to get him a complete new pair, new lenses and new frame. Consumer agreed to a new pair at the reduced pricing, started the order and then said he would like to think about it. We put the order on hold and we have not heard from him since. The original resolution is still available to the consumer as any time. Consumer presented us with glasses that he had admittedly stepped on. We cannot take responsibility for that, but are happy to help lessen the burden on the consumer to replace them. Original cost would be $175.00 plus tax / Consumer would pay just $75.00 plus tax. Thank you, Novus Clinic, VP of Operations Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) at no time did i admit glasses were stepped on and there was no hair line crack,i wore these glasses in when i came for new ones **** admitted this had never happened to him before and said he was sorry my frames are still good,they were a good spare set of sun glasses maybe had he offered to replace the lens he broke i would have paid for the other 1 to get the match i can only believe that **** is lieing about the whole thing the min,he says i admitted to stepping on the glasses which is a lie. i hope no body ever goes there and be assured i have told many of my frds and family about the way **** treated me,just because i am old doesnt mean i am a fool and that is how he treated me


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Novus Clinic
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart