BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/1994

The Original Mattress Factory

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 722-4822Fax: (216) 661-2337View Additional Phone Numbers1170 North Court Street, MedinaOH 44256

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/1994

BBB has determined that The Original Mattress Factory meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Original Mattress Factory's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Original Mattress Factory
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
03/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: The mattress I have is not the one I wanted.With severe back issues I do not need a soft mattress like the one the salesman wrote up for me.
On April 18 I went to Original Mattress to look at matttress sets.I told the Salesman I needed a firm mattress as I had a bad back.I tried several mattresses.This Luxury Firm that was sent to me on April 25 is not the one I wanted.The Salesman asked me more than once if I wanted soft.I told him no.I needed firm.I did not like this Luxury Firm that I have now.The Salesman wrote down the wrong one and I did not notice as I didn't have my glasses.I went to another store but came back to order.I laid on the set that was "TWO" away from the window.It was not the Luxury Firm.He made a mistake and I didn't "catch" it.At my age of 68 I am getting slow about catching on to things.Last week my back was in serious pain.I have been hurting all along and figured that I will always have back pain.Last week was unbearable and I was wondering if something was wrong with the mattresses. I was right.They are "soft" and then I called the store. I told the Salesman that I was having problems.The Salesman told me that they have a Courtesy Return Policy and told me to come in. I went in today as I was not well last week.

The Salesman denied anything I had told him.I kept telling him that I laid on that set which was two down from the window and he kept telling me,"I don't know what you are talking about".He kept repeating himself.Why would I buy a soft mattress? I wouldn't!I am on pain pills and pain patches.Then I also told the Salesman that my mattress is making noises.It sounds terrible and I am only 110#.He blamed me for the mistake in mattresses.I was told to call **** at the main office.I guess he is one of the owners.The Salesman called the owner before me as I don't have a cell phone.

The owner laughed.He blames me also.I told him I didn't realize that his Salesman never makes mistakes.Everyone makes mistakes in life.None of us are perfect.I do not appreciate all of this and this is not funny at all.I am a Senior Citizen and somehow I feel that I have been taken advantage of.The owner laughing about my situation is very unprofessional.I have never had a businessman act in such a manor in all of my 68 years.These mattresses I have are also making noises.At 110# how can that be? I do not wish to keep these mattresses.

I can't even enjoy my senior years.I lack a good night's sleep.These mattresses are no better than my 13 year old ones I threw out.This Company wants to send out a repair man as the Owner doesn't know if the mattresses are "creaking".I am still being doubted about telling the truth.I find that insulting.I paid $688.41 for the wrong mattresses.When I was told last week about the Courtesy Return Policy, there wasn't any mention of money. When I went to the store today the Salesman told me that it was going to cost me a "lot" of money.I asked how much and he again said, a lot! Something is wrong here.A reputable Company would not be laughing and enjoying making these rude and unprofessional comments.

A reputable Company would do anything to resolve the mistake made and or resolve the issues.I just can't believe this whole situation.And reading these other complaints it is unbelievable.The owner told me that he has such a high rating with the BBB.He said he has one of the highest and told me to go ahead and file a complaint as nothing would become of it.I live on Social Security and the Company has taken my money and wrote the sale of the wrong model and on top of everything has given me a defective mattress set that is making noises and isn't even two months old yet.They want to come out as they do not believe me and either repair it or who knows,replace it? I wake up everyday in pain because I have these new mattresses which are soft.I am not a stupid old lady. I would never purchase soft mattresses.I was told I will have to pay over $155 and they will remove these mattresses and bring the others that I wanted to begin with.I feel there is an "ill" practice going on here.This has to stop.






















Business' Initial Response

As a member in good standing with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), we are committed to addressing the concerns presented by Ms. ***** ********, BBB Case# ********.

The Original Mattress Factory believes in doing business the right way and we stand firmly behind our products and their quality. We realize that we will never be able to satisfy 100% of our customers, but when a situation does arise we do our best to resolve any issues and strive for the win-win solution.

For your protection, The Original Mattress Factory sells only new bedding products with all new materials. Therefore, we do not accept returns or exchanges on upholstered bedding products, including, but not limited to mattresses, box springs, pillows, sheets, mattress pads, covers and protectors. This position is clearly stated on signs displayed on our sales desks, in the warranty card on the back of the invoice the customer receives at the time of purchase and on our website. A copy of the warranty card is enclosed for your reference.

In the unusual situation where a customer has a non-warranty issue related to personal comfort preferences, we offer a one time replacement option. The original purchaser may within one (1) year of the date of delivery with the proof of purchase, tender the original product to us for disposal or provide us with a receipt showing that the product has been donated to a legitimate charitable organization. We will then provide the customer with a replacement mattress and/or box spring from our current model selection for a replacement fee of 25% of the list price of the lower priced selected model for comfort issues. We will absorb 75% of the list price to assist the customer who made a selection mistake. In addition, the customer will be responsible for the difference between the cost of the model originally selected and the newly selected model. The customer is also responsible for all applicable pick-up and delivery fees.

In response to Ms. ********'s BBB complaint, the following is a time line of what has transpired to date:
1. On Thursday, April 18, 2013, Ms. ******** visited our ********* store to purchase a mattress set. Ms. ******** met with our store manager **** ********. She was looking to purchase a full size mattress set. **** assisted with Ms. ******** to help her select a mattress. She informed **** that see was looking for a firm mattress as she had a bad back.

**** explained that firm is a comfort choice and the support needed for her back comes from the quality of the spring unit. Ms. ******** tried several mattresses in our Orthopedic line and decided on the Orthopedic Luxury Firm. She informed **** that she was going to shop other retailers before she would make up her mind. **** gave here a quote sheet for the full set of Orthopedic Luxury Firm with delivery. Ms. ******** took the quote sheet and left. About an hour later Ms. ******** returned to the store. At that time, **** was busy assisting other customers. Ms. ******** tried the mattresses again while she waited for **** to finish. During this time, Ms. ******** may have laid on the firmer mattress. However she never inquired about it or made **** aware that she had selected a different mattress other than what was originally write on the quote sheet. She informed **** that the other retailers did not know anything and could not help her. She stated that she wanted to go ahead with the purchase of the full size set of bedding. **** completed the transaction on invoice ***** to be delivered on Thursday, .April 25, 2013.

2. On Friday, June 14, 2013, Ms. ******** called our ********* store to speak with ****. She was informed that he was off that day and that he would be back in on Sunday.
3. On Monday, June 17, 2013, Ms. ******** called our ********* store and spoke to ****. She stated that he sold her the wrong mattress. She stated he wrote the incorrect mattress on the paperwork. He asked her to come back in with the paperwork. Ms. ******** returned to our ********* store with all the paperwork (including the quote sheet). Ms. ******** discussed with **** that she wanted the mattress that was the second one from the window. **** informed Ms. ******** that the one she asked him to write on the quote sheet was the one he sold her. **** informed her that we do not accept returns and she could exercise our comfort replacement policy. At the time of explaining the exchange policy, Ms. ******** said she did not agree with having to pay more for another mattress when he wrote the incorrect mattress down in the first place. Ms. ******** insisted to talk to ****'s supervisor. **** called the factory and stated that Ms. ******** would be calling to discuss her problem with me.

About an hour later Ms. ******** called me after she returned home. Ms. ******** began to inform me that **** was rude to her and that he wrote the incorrect mattress on the invoice. She did not like the mattress. She insisted that she should not have to pay any more money for the mattress she wanted in the first place and wanted to return it because it was defective. I asked if it was a comfort issue or a defect issue. I informed Ms. ******** that the mattress has a 12 year workmanship warranty that covers any defects and that I would be more than happy to send my customer service manager to her home to examine the mattress and discuss her concerns. Ms. ******** then stated that she did not have her glasses on at the time of purchase and did not read the invoice or noticed the mistake. I asked Ms. ******** why she waited two months to contact us. It seems she would have noticed a problem after the first night sleeping on it. I began to explain our comfort policy and she stated that she should not have to pay anything because, in her opinion, it was our fault. During our conversation, Ms. ********'s story changed three times. First, **** wrote down the incorrect mattress, then the mattress was defective and finally that she did not have her glasses on to review the order. I again offered to send my customer service manager out to her home. She stated, "what good will that do?" I stated you just told me the mattress was defective. Ms. ******** began accusing me of laughing at her and that she was going to the BBB. I advised her to do so as we were in good standing with the BBB. I informed her that if she feels that we not addressing her concerns, I would recommend her contacting the BBB. I told her that we understand that

we are not going to make every customer satisfied with our policies and procedures. However, we will honor what the BBB decides.
Our company philosophy guides us to try to be more than fair in dealing with our customers in the unlikely event of a problem and to try to create win-win situations whenever possible. When we are at fault, we take responsibility for our actions and take the appropriate measures to correct the problem. In conclusion if Ms. ******** feels that there is defect in the mattress, we want to inspect it and address her concerns. However, she must allow us to do so. If the issue is all comfort, there Ms. ******** may exercise the comfort exchange as outlined above and in our warranty booklet.
Sincerely,
**************
The Original Mattress Factory, Inc.


Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My position remains the same.I went to one other store. I made no such statement about other stores or associates not being able to help me.I am not even going to address your comment about the laughing. Why are you repetitive with your comments? That gets "old" after a while. I will make my statement once again. Three times I was in your store and three times I went to the mattress that was second from the window. The mattress that is in my apartment is not the one I looked at three times.Gee,now I am becoming repetitive but that is because you are not reading correctly what I have written. I purchased the mattress that was second from the window. Thank you

Business' Final Response


On 7/15/13 the bureau received an email from David Phillips at Original Mattress Factory:

"Attached is our response to Ms. ********'s rebuttal. All options available to Ms. ******** are on hold now. We received a chargeback notification from VISA. Ms. ******** claims she has returned the product to OMF without being issued a credit. She has been issued a temporary credit and we have to prove that here claims are false."


As a member in good standing with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), we are committed to addressing the concerns of Ms. ***** ********. We have thoroughly reviewed all documentation on our correspondences with Ms. ******** since her initial purchase on Thursday, April. 18, 2013 and feel that we have been more than fair in this situation.

Our mission is to be knowledgeable, friendly and courteous to our customers and to try to help them find the right products for their needs. This is exactly what we did for Ms. ******** during her initial visit to The Original Mattress Factory and then when she was adamant that we sold her the incorrect mattress.
Ms. ******** stated in her rebuttal "Your manager didn't do much as far as showing me the beds. I guess when you have shown these beds enough, you don't have to confirm the name or style number. It is imbedded in your head". Ms. ******** is now accusing our sales associate of not presenting our product to her. This is a contrast to her statements initially that the associates at the other stores could not assist her, as they did not know anything about their products. I will agree to disagree about Ms. ********'s comments about me laughing at her on the phone. We have an open office atmosphere and my colleagues never heard MC laugh at her on the phone. Ms. ******** also stated in her rebuttal "the bed still squeeks". The comfort of the mattress, her dispute that OMF delivered and sold her the incorrect mattress are separate issues from a squeaky mattress. We have offered to send our customer service manager to her home to address the noises she claims is coming from the mattress. I explained this to her during our initial conversation. However, she has to be willing to give us a chance to look at the product. In accordance to our Comfort Replacement Policy outlined in our warranty booklet, on our website and on the back of the invoice, we have offered Ms. ******** her option to replace the mattress.

As of Thursday, July 11, 2013, we received a chargeback notification from Visa stating that we have not issued a credit/refund to Ms. ******** as she has returned the item. We are in the process of disputing that chargeback. At this point all options available to Ms. ******** are on hold until we have a resolution to the chargeback claim. As it currently stands, Ms. ******** has a temporary credit to her Visa for the total of $678.41 as well as the mattress set in her possession.
Sincerely,
**************
The Original Mattress Factory, Inc.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I did not like the mattress I bought but the store won't give me a downgrade without charging additional costs.
I payed 1000 cash for a mattress and had it for one week and decided we did not like the bed because it feels like my wife and I are falling out of it. So we decided to downgrade to another that was 200 dollars less. I was told that even though the bed I wanted was 200 dollars less in price, I would still have to pay an additional 129 dollars without any refund for the lesser priced mattress.

Business' Initial Response
******************************

March 25, 2013



***********
Dispute Resolution/Marketplace Resource Consultant
Better Business Bureau of Akron
222 West Market Street
Akron, OH 44303

As a member in good standing with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), we are committed to addressing the concerns presented by Mr. ************, BBB Case# ********.

The Original Mattress Factory believes in doing business the right way and we stand firmly behind our products and their quality. We realize that we will never be able to satisfy 100% of our customers, but when a situation does arise we do our best to resolve any issues and strive for the win-win solution.

For the consumer's protection, The Original Mattress Factory sells only new bedding products with all new materials. Therefore, we do not accept returns or exchanges on upholstered bedding products, including, but not limited to mattresses, box springs, pillows, sheets, mattress pads, covers and protectors. This position is clearly stated on signs displayed on our sales desks, in the warranty card, on the back of the invoice the customer received at the time of purchase and on our website. A copy of the warranty card is enclosed for your reference.

In the unusual situation where a customer has a non-warranty issue related to personal comfort preferences, we offer a one time replacement option. The original purchaser may within one (1) year of the date of delivery with the proof of purchase, tender the original product to us for disposal or provide us with a receipt showing that the product has been donated to a legitimate charitable organization. We will then provide the customer with a replacement mattress and/or box spring from our current model selection for a replacement fee of 25% of the list price of the lower priced selected model for comfort issues. We will absorb 75% of the list price to assist the customer who made a selection mistake. In addition, the customer will be responsible for the difference between the cost of the model originally selected and the newly selected model. The customer is also responsible for all applicable pick-up and delivery fees.

In response to Mr. ********* BBB complaint, the following is a time line of what has transpired to date:

1. On Monday, March 4, 2013, the original purchaser **************** visited our Chapel store to purchase a mattress set. Mr.******** met with our store manager *********. He was looking to purchase a queen size mattress. *** worked with Mr.******** to help him select a mattress. He decided to purchase a queen size set of Orthopedic Ultra Plush, queen frame and headboard on invoice F8108 to be delivered on Wednesday, March 6, 2013

2. On Wednesday, March 13, 2013, Mr.******** returned to our Chapel looking to return the mattress because he did not like it. Mr.******** discussed with ********* about returning the product. *** informed Mr.******** that we do not accept returns and he could exercise our comfort replacement policy. At the time of explaining the exchange policy, Mr.******** did not agree with having to pay more for another mattress and not receiving a refund on the mattress he was looking to return. Mr.******** insisted to talk to ***'s supervisor. *** called the factory and stated that Mr.******** would like to discuss our exchange policy with me. Mr.******** began to inform me that he did not like the mattress. He insisted that he should not have to pay any more money for a lesser price mattress. I asked if it was a comfort issue. He said he did not like the feeling that he was rolling out of the bed. He said that the floor model did not do that. I explained to him that the floor model and the mattress delivered to his home were the same and were built to the same specification. He then stated that "*** misled him into believing that the king size floor model was a queen size". Before I could respond, Mr.******** put the phone down on the desk and began to talk to *** directly saying that *** stated that the floor model he tried was a queen size. I overheard *** asking Mr.******** if he remembered them discussing that the king size floor model that he tested was sixteen (16) inches wider than a queen. Mr.******** then left the store without making the exchange.

3. On the evening of Wednesday, March 13, Mr.******** revisited the Chapel store to exercise our comfort exchange policy. Mr.******** decided to reselect the Regency Sapphire mattress. Mr.******** worked with ********* and purchased the queen size mattress on invoice ***** to be delivered on Friday, March 15, 2013. Mr.******** paid the $112.25 exchange fee for comfort adjustment plus the delivery charges and taxes. On the morning of Thursday, March 14, 2013, we received the complaint from your office.

In conclusion, when Mr.******** made the original purchase and when he expressed his wishes to exchange the original mattress, a full description of the comfort replacement policy was provided. That policy was then completely followed when he decided to make the comfort exchange. We processed Mr.********'s request for the comfort replacement and feel that this matter is closed. Please contact me with any questions. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Sincerely,



**************
The Original Mattress Factory, Inc.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We reached an agreement with the Original Mattress Factory. I'm not happy about it because I ended up paying $350.00 more for a mattress that costed $200.00 less. Somehow this dose not seem right.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: COMPANY FAILED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEIR EMPLOYEES DID NOT DELIVER A MATTRESS AS SPECIFIED.
I INITIALLY ORDERED A QUEEEN SIZE MATRESS. UPON DELIVERLY, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WOULD NOT FIT MY FRAME AND WAS TOLD THAT I SHOULD PURCHASE ANOTHER MATTRESS THAT WOULD FIT MY FRAME BETTER. I INFORMED THE STAFF THAT I DID NOT INTEND TO KEEP THE FRAME THAT I CURRENTLY WAS USING AND INTENDED TO PURCHASE ANOTHER FRAME AT ANOTHER TIME. AT THIS TIME, I TOLD THE DELIVERY STAFF THAT I WANTED A KING SIZE MATTRESS AND WOULD PAY THE DIFFERENCE. AT THIS TIME, I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT A FULL SIZE MATTRESS WAS THE SAME AS A KING SIZE BY THE DELIVERY STAFF. THE STAFF TOOK THE QUEEN SIZE MATTRESS BACK TO THE STORE AND DELIVERED A FULL SIZE MATTRESS TO ME (WHICH I WAS TOLD WAS A KING SIZE MATTRESS). I WAS LEFT WITH THE IMPRESSION THAT THE DELIVERED FULL SIZE MATTRESS WAS A KING SIZE MATTRESS. COMMUNICATION BETWEEN STORE PERSONNEL AND MYSELF WAS NOT PLEASANT AND THEY PLACED ALL BLAME ON ME ABOUT THEIR DELIVERY PERSONNEL PROVIDING INCORRECT DETAILS ABOUT THE SIZING (OR SIZES OF MATTRESSES THAT THEY SELL AND DELIVER). I WAAS TOLD THAT I COULD PAY $300 TO "FIX" THE SITUATION TO HAVE THE FULL SIZE MATTRESS REMOVED FROM MY HOME SO IT COULD BE GIVEN TO CHARITY. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS BUSINESS TO ANYONE BASED ON THEIR INABILITY TO PROVIDE CUSTOMERS WITH CORRECT SPECIFICATIONS ABOUT THE MATTRESSES THAT THEY SELL.

Business' Initial Response
March 4, 2013


************
Dispute Resolution/Marketplace Resource Consultant
Better Business Bureau of Akron
222 West Market Street
Akron, OH XXXXX

RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: Mr. ****** ******

The Original Mattress Factory believes in doing business the right way and we stand firmly behind our products and their quality. We realize that we will never be able to satisfy 100% of our customers, but when a situation does arise we do our best to resolve any issues and strive for the win-win solution.

For the protection of the consumer, The Original Mattress Factory sells only new bedding products with all new materials. Therefore, we do not accept returns or exchanges on upholstered bedding products, including, but not limited to mattresses, box springs, pillows, sheets, mattress pads, covers and protectors. This position is clearly stated on signs displayed on our sales desks, in the warranty card and on the back of the invoice the customer received at the time of purchase. A copy of our warranty card is enclosed for your reference.

In the unusual situation where a customer has a non-warranty issue related to personal comfort preferences or prefers a different height or size of mattress or box spring, we offer a one time replacement. The original purchaser may within 60 days of the date of delivery with the proof of purchase, tender the original product to us for disposal or provides us with a receipt showing that the product has been donated to a legitimate charitable organization. We will then provide the customer with a replacement mattress and/or box spring from our current model selection for a replacement fee of 50% of the list price of the lower priced selected model for height and size issues. In addition, the customer will be responsible for the difference between the cost of the model originally selected and the newly selected model. The customer is also responsible for all applicable pick-up and delivery fees.

In response to Mr. ******' complaint, the following is a time line of what has transpired to date:

1. On Thursday, February 7, 2013, the original purchaser Mr. ********** visited our Medina store to purchase a mattress set. Mr. ***** met with our sales associate **********. He provided her with the dimension of a queen size mattress. She worked with Mr. ***** to help him select a mattress. He decided to purchase a queen size set of Orthopedic Luxury Firm with removal of two pieces for disposal on invoice ***** to be delivered on Tuesday, February 12, 2013.

2. On Tuesday, February 12, 2013 when our delivery staff arrived to deliver the mattress set for Mr. *****, Mr. ****** ****** was present to receive the mattress set. The drivers discovered that the mattress set purchased was for a full size futon frame. Our drivers noticed that the bottom piece was a full size futon mattress and the top piece was a queen size futon mattress. When Mr. ****** learned that the queen set ordered would not fit into the full size futon frame, he demanded that the drivers bring the correct size to fit frame that day and he was not going to pay any additional charges for redelivery.

3. On Tuesday, February 12, 2013, Mr. ****** called our Medina store and spoke to ****** ****** the store manager about getting the correct set delivered that same day. ****** called the factory to discuss with *************, a local partner. ****** informed ***** that he had a full size set of Orthopedic Luxury Firm in stock at the Medina store. ***** had our delivery team leave Mr. *****'s home and go to the Medina store, pick up the full size set of bedding to redeliver it to Mr. *****'s home at no charge.

4. On Tuesday, February 12, 2013, the drivers returned to the Mr. *****'s home with the full size set and completed the delivery. The size never can into question. At that time Mr. ****** never mentioned to our delivery team or our store manager about a king size mattress. The only mention of size was when our delivery team stated that a full size and double size is actually the same size. Mr. ****** thanked the drivers for taking care of the problem.

5. On Tuesday, February 12, 2013, Mr. ***** called our store to thank ****** and our delivery team for taking care of the problem. ****** issued a credit to Mr. *****'s credit card for the difference in price between the queen set and full set. At no point did Mr. ***** discussed the possibility of getting a king size mattress nor the fact that he was going to discard the full size futon bed.

6. On Friday, February 15, 2013, ****** ******* received a call from Mr. ****** complaining that our deliver guys misrepresented the bed sizes. He stated that our drivers forced him to take the full size set without his permission. We have a signed delivery copy of the invoice by Mr. ****** that all items were received in good condition. He also stated to ****** that he would put a dispute into MasterCard for the charges.

On the morning of Friday, March 1, we received the complaint from your office. Later that same day, Mr. ***** visited the Medina store to exercise our exchange policy. Mr. ***** decided to upgrade to a king set of Orthopedic Luxury Firm. Mr. ***** worked with ****** ****** our store manager and purchased a king size mattress set, frame and headboard on invoice ***** to be delivered on Monday, March 04, 2013. Mr. ***** paid the $299.50 exchange fee for size adjustment and $360.00 for the difference in the retail costs. Mr. ***** decided to have us pick up and dispose of the full set of bedding.

In conclusion, we have gone above and beyond the terms of our comfort exchange policy in an attempt to satisfy the customer. When Mr. ***** ordered the wrong size mattress, we arranged for another mattress to be delivered at no additional cost to Mr. ***** and Mr. ******. When they wished to exchange that mattress for a King size, the exchange policy was fully followed. Please contact me with any questions. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Sincerely,



****** ******
The Original Mattress Factory, Inc.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On Tuesday February 12, I was told that I would be receiving a king size mattress in exchange for the queen size mattress. The only reason I purchased the king size from them is because I had already invested a significant amount of money for the original mattress. Please be aware of this store and purchase your mattress elsewhere.

Business' Final Response
March 18, 2013


************
Dispute Resolution/Marketplace Resource Consultant
Better Business Bureau of Akron
222 West Market Street
Akron, OH XXXXX

RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: Mr. ****** ******

Our company philosophy guides us to try to be more than fair in dealing with our customers in the unlikely event of a problem and to try to create win-win situations whenever possible. When we are at fault, we take responsibility for our actions and take the appropriate measures to correct the problem.

We have thoroughly reviewed all documentation on our correspondences with Mr. ****** since his initial purchase on Thursday, February 7, 2013 and feel that we have been more than fair in this situation.

The Original Mattress Factory did not recommend a particular size to Mr. ***** or Mr. ******. As we stated in the original correspondence, the purchase itself was made by a Mr. **********. The size discussed at the time of the original purchase was dictated by the measurements (queen size) that Mr. ***** provided to our sales associate, **** (who has been employed by Original Mattress for more than 20 years). Based on Mr. *****'s purchase, we delivered a queen size set, only to find that a full size was what was required to fit the existing setup. When Mr. ****** demanded that we deliver the right size to fit the current situation (a full size), we went out of our way to do this all in the same day. At that point in time, Mr. ****** signed to acknowledge receipt of the full size set and thanked our drivers for taking care of the problem. Mr. ***** also called our Medina store to thank us and our delivery team for taking care of the problem. At this time, a credit was issued to Mr. ***** for the difference between the queen and full size sets.

Three days later, Mr. ****** called and stated that our drivers told him that the product delivered (full sizes) was really a king size, which is what he stated he wanted and would pay the difference for during the initial delivery. He also stated during one of our correspondences with him, that we forced him to accept the full size set. He contends that throughout the process we misrepresented a full size for a king size.

Our mission is to be knowledgeable, friendly and courteous to our customers and to try to help them find the right products for their needs. This is exactly what we did for both Mr. ***** initially based on his desired dimensions for a queen size and then for Mr. ****** when he was adamant that we bring him the right size set to fit his existing full size setup on February 12, 2013. It doesn't make any sense that we would purposefully sell him the less expensive full size mattress or that we would intentionally deliver the wrong size set of bedding
The delivery team (2 delivery drivers) that made the initially delivery and subsequently brought out the full size set have been with us for over 20 years and have delivered tens of thousands of mattresses for us. We have simply not received complaints on our drivers misleading or misinforming customers about product sizes.

We do our very best to run an ethical company and try to work with customers to solve problems. Misleading customers about the size of a mattress not only violates everything we stand for, but is something that is fairly obvious to the consumer and clearly would rise to the surface on a regular basis.

On March 1, 2013, Mr. ***** (the original purchaser) came into our Medina store to take advantage of our size exchange policy and also to purchase a king size headboard and frame. During this transaction, there was no mention of Mr. ******' complaint. We processed Mr. *****'s request for the size change according to our policy and feel that this matter is closed with regards to the original purchaser.



****** L. ******
The Original Mattress Factory, Inc.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/30/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses, Bedding

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 04/13/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Phillips
Business Category

Mattresses, Bedding

Alternate Business Names
Original Mattress Factory, RBMF Inc
Industry Tips
Are You Sure Your Mattress is New?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Original Mattress Factory

1170 North Court Street

Medina, OH 44256

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Original Mattress Factory is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 273-8500
  • (216) 661-8388
  • (330) 494-0352
  • (330) 665-4699
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mattresses

Are You Sure Your Mattress is New?
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.