Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kapp's Green Lawn, Inc.

Phone: (330) 468-5000 Fax: (330) 425-4885 420 Highland Rd E STE D, Macedonia, OH 44056 http://www.kappslawn.com/cleveland



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kapp's Green Lawn, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kapp's Green Lawn, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kapp's Green Lawn, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1966 Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated 11/12/1996 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Agriculture Pesticide & Fertilizer Regulation Section

pesticides@agri.ohio.gov
The number is Business License.

Ohio Department of Agriculture Pesticide & Fertilizer Regulation Section

pesticides@agri.ohio.gov
The number is Applicator License #15101.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Walls, Branch Manager Mr. Larry Kapp, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Walls, Branch Manager
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Lawn & Tree Care

Alternate Business Names
Kapp's Lawn Care Service Kapp's Lawn Specialists

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kapp's Green Lawn, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 420 Highland Rd E STE D

    Macedonia, OH 44056

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled service and they continued to spray and bill me. After using this company for years, paying $77 five times a year, our lawn has looked worse than ever. I cancelled my service with the company, called them and even wrote it on the final bill I paid. They chose to ignore this, sprayed my yard again and left another bill. I called about this, and the girl was extremely rude to me and just kind of laughed and said she didn't see the cancellation and I had to pay it. I told her I did not have to pay something I didn't authorize them to do, to which she replied, yes, you do. I have worked in Accounts Receivable, and I know what goes into paying the bills and the paperwork you have to keep. There is NO WAY that she did not see my cancellation, she CHOSE to ignore it and keep billing me.

Desired Settlement: I do not wish to pay this unauthorized bill.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/05/24) */ Contact Name and Title: Dave Manager Contact Phone: (***)********* Contact Email: contact@kappslawn.com In reviewing this account we found that in 2016 we did one application on 3/22/16. The request to cancel service was taken on 3/23/16, we found no record of prior cancellation. As a valued (past) Kapp's customer, we have no charged the balance due. We apologize for any inconvenience & appreciate your past business. Thank you. Balance Due $0.00

6/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kapp's performed service on my lawn without my written consent.They insist on me paying for a service that I didn't approve of. Kapp's has been our lawn maintenance company for the past 4-5 years. This year we decided to go with another company. I never returned the invoice Kapp's sent me in the mail to initiate service. When I noticed that they had been to my home and performed service without my consent, I called them immediately. At first there was some refusal to issue me a credit. I asked to speak to a manager and after some refusal she finally said she would issue a credit. I received another statement from Kapp's this month for the $37.26. When I called the manager told me that she never agreed to credit this service. She also told me that her company doesn't use contracts and that their service continues from year to year. This method of trickery is not a binding contract to do service at my address without my written consent. I have already wasted too much of my time dealing with this nonsense. I request that this company issue me a credit in writing so that we can both go our separate ways and close this matter for good.

Desired Settlement: A written credit adjustment showing a zero balance due.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ Mr. **** has been a customer since 04/18/2009 and has received at least 38 separate documents (invoices, service calls, and spring reminder letters) over the years reminding him that he needs to notify us if he wishes to stop or change services. Mr. **** called in on 4/07/2014 after his 04/05/2014 treatment and cancelled the services. We ask that Mr. **** paid his owed bill for services rendered. Mr. **** owes his balance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Kapp's did not send any documents with the specific intent of notifying me of the cancellation policy. Their invoices state at the bottom in fine print "for your convienience our service continues from year to year". It says nothing about notifying them to cancel service. And since they have no binding contract with my signature, they have no right performing service without my written consent. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/16) */ We stand by our original statements regarding Mr. ****'s responsibility to pay his due account. In an effort to resolve the matter we are willing to accept 1/2 the outstanding balance, for which we would consider the matter closed Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this proposal because,Again,"THEY HAD NO WRITTEN CONSENT TO PERFORM SERVICE AT MY HOUSE"!

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I refused payment due to you not providing such agreed upon service. Response was sent in writing to your offices with a return of your bill. Service was horrible and ineffective. I had weeds EVERYWHERE!!! Man was at my house for less then 4 minutes the last time, fertilizer was everywhere. No flag was left. I called and canceled the service, the girl who answered the phone was not nice. I continued to receive letters for collections and every time i sent them back written all over them account was canceled. I made one payment for a little over $50 for services rendered.

Desired Settlement: I want you to stop your collection efforts!!! It is unfair that I be penalized for services i never received, plus i called and wrote to your company to resolve the situation which obviously you IGNORED!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Ms. *****'s services were put on hold by us after her July 31st treatment, this was due to failure to pay for services rendered. We sent statements on 8/5, 9/4, 10/7. It wasn't until October 17th, 2013 that we received our statement back with a written statement concerning the condition of her lawn. When our customer service representative called on October 17th to discuss her concerns she was hung up on. We attempted calls again on 10/22, 11/11, and an additional statement was sent on 11/11. We have had no response since on the matter. Ms. ***** owes for the treatments from 5/22, 6/25, and 7/31. Ms. ***** has had more than adequate time to work with us and has not. Had she made any attempt to request a service call since July or had not refused to talk with us in October we could have helped to resolve her concerns on the lawn. In December we had no choice because of her unresponsiveness, to cancel her account and turn it over to our collection agent. We respectfully request that she pay her owed balance for services rendered.

11/25/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Kapp's Green Lawn, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart