Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Custom Spray, Inc.

Phone: (330) 861-5035 View Additional Phone Numbers 2441 Heritage Parkway, Norton, OH 44203 http://www.customsprayinc.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

General contracting and construction management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Custom Spray, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Custom Spray, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Custom Spray, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 02/01/1996 Business started locally: 02/01/1996 Business incorporated 02/07/1996 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Agriculture Pesticide & Fertilizer Regulation Section

pesticides@agri.ohio.gov
The number is Applicator License #11288.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Warren, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Warren, Manager
Business Category

Lawn & Tree Care Lawn Maintenance Pest Control Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Custom Spray, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2441 Heritage Parkway

    Norton, OH 44203 (330) 861-5035

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sprayed my lawn and ruined it.whole front yard burnt.tried to blame it on my watering. I would appreciate them correcting it or money back.

Desired Settlement: Correct it.or money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/06/17) */ We were notified by this customer of his complaint about his lawn. Our employee spoke to him on the phone and asked about his watering practices to help evaluate what the potential problem may be, which he indicated included watering every night. This is a very bad practice that can cause many many problems. We would need to evaluate the lawn further since any application we did was done during cool mild weather with products that do not cause damage. As we offered to take a look at the property to ensure no damage had been done and attempted to setup a time to evaluate the lawn to get it back into shape, Mr. Antro hung up the phone on our employee refusing to speak with us. We have offered and are willing to evaluate the property, however we have not been given the opportunity to do so since our calls are terminated by the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Blaming customer is there excuse.I tell people to think twice about having someone take care of their lawn.if they ruin it oh well.

7/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a service that I didn't want and don't feel I should have to pay for. I used Custom Spray services in 2014 but decided to try a different company in 2015. I never requested Custom Spray services in 2015 but they showed up unannounced on 4/2/15 and applied an early spring application to my lawn. The day before Custom Spray came the new lawn company I hired had applied an application and they left the flag in the yard indicating the yard had been treated. This should have been a clear signal to the Custom Spray employee that I may not want or need their services but instead of trying to contact me they just applied the application and billed me. I immediately called the company and spoke to someone who cancelled any remaining services. She also told me that they automatically re-new your service from year to year unless you contact them. She told me this is noted on their statements but I was never told this verbally when I signed up in 2014. After the season was over I decided to change companies I didn't read the literature they sent me as I wasn't interested in using them again. I agreed to and paid for 1 year of service and that is it. I find this practice of automatically continuing your service to be deceptive and a very poor way to conduct business. My customer number is ****.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay for a service that I didn't request or want from this company. I am asking Custom Spray to waive the fee and stop billing me for the early spring application they applied on 4/2/15.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/15) */ This complaint is not quite accurate. This customer has been with our company in 2006, 2008, and most recently 2013-2015. This is an industry standard to continue service to ensure uninterrupted and correctly timed applications. It is not our intention to deceive any current or potential customer as this policy is printed on every estimate and every invoice that is left with the customer. We would be more than happy to discuss this with the customer without the use of a public forum. Please contact our office to resolve this matter. You may call 330-861-5035 or contact us online at www.CustomSprayInc.com

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contraced with Custom Spray in spring of 2012 to provide lawn spray services. However they continued, without contract, to spray in 2013. I did not request or authorise services from Custom Spray in 2013. They have continued to send invoices and now have turned the outstanding balance over to collections.

Desired Settlement: please credit the unauthorized charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/14) */ Mr. (customer) was a customer of ours in past years before continuing services again in 2012. As is standard and consistent with notes on our paperwork, off season program summary letters, and invoices, our service is continuous from season to season. We provided 4 treatments this year. The first treatment in the spring was paid for in a timely manner. We then continued the program for 3 additional treatments until the outstanding balance became old enough to stop service. We then sent automated monthly invoices and then eventually moved the account to collections as is standard. We had no indication that service was not desired, especially since the first treatment was paid for as normal. Until receiving this complaint, we have no record of communicating with the customer or any request to discontinue service either before or after payment of the first service. I would have preferred to have received a phone call or letter directly regarding this, as we had no intention but to provide lawn services. The automated billing and sending to collections is not abnormal or malicious, it is standard procedure. It is not uncommon for a customer to fall behind in payments, be in collections, and then continue service after payment. I encourage Mr. (customer) to reach out to us directly, as we had no intention but to provide services as done in the past and that were being paid. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I contracted with Custom Spray in 2012 for five standard applications at a set price of $47 ea. It is not standard or customary to assume that a client is signing up for life. I did not request service in 2013.The first application in 2013 was paid in error by my wife. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/05) */ We have worked out this problem with this customer directly. We are satisfied with the resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Custom Spray, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart