This business is not BBB accredited.

SummaCare, Inc.

Phone: (330) 996-8410 View Additional Phone Numbers 10 North Main Street, Akron, OH 44308 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.summacare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SummaCare, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on SummaCare, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 1997 Business started: 10/15/1992 Business started locally: 10/15/1992 Business incorporated 10/15/1992 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

The Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town Street Third Floor - Suite 300, Columbus OH 43215
The number is NAIC#95202.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Claude M Vincenti, President of SummaCare & Government Relation Ms. Anne Armao, V.P. Marketing Mr. Kevin Cavalier, Vice President of Sales Mr. Michael Frye, Legal Ms. Sue Littlejohn, Executive Assistant to Mr. Hauser Ms. Elisa Raicevich, Legal
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Elisa Raicevich, Legal
Principal: Mr. Claude M Vincenti, President of SummaCare & Government Relation
Business Category

Insurance - Health Insurance - Employee Benefits Hospitalization, Medical & Surgical Plans Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
SummaCare
Additional Information

Summa Health System is one of the largest integrated healthcare delivery systems in the state. Formed in 1989 with the merger of Akron City and St. Thomas Hospitals, this nonprofit system now encompasses a network of Hospitals, Health Centers, Emergency Rooms, Urgent Care Center, a health care plane along with research and medical education and multiple foundations

The information in this BBB Business Review only includes background, licensing, and other information known to BBB for SummaCare.

The BBB has separate reviews for:
Summa Heath Systems Hospitals: http://go.bbb.org/1AX3tCW
Summa Emergency Rooms: http://go.bbb.org/1EecSbE
Summa Health Care Centers: http://go.bbb.org/1M5dEZL
Summa Urgent Care Centers: http://go.bbb.org/17OJAT6

Products & Services

Headquartered in Akron, Ohio, SummaCare is committed to providing members with comprehensive, community-focused health insurance choices priced to reflect quality, value and service.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

SummaCare, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10 North Main Street

    Akron, OH 44308 (800) 375-6530 (330) 996-8410 (800) 996-8701 (800) 996-6250 (330) 996-8440 (888) 464-8440 (888) 251-7953

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Patient: ******* ********* DOS: ******** Physician: Dr. ****** I am officially appealing the charges my son incurred for lab testing for Shagella on ********. Summacare did not pay anything towards this lab testing that was mandated by my son's preschool and Summit County, Ohio. We were instructed via letter and in person by my son's preschool-Fairlawn Lutheran Pre-School that there was an official reported case of Shagella in his classroom and all students with symptoms had to be tested by their pediatrician. The letter came from the Summit County Health Department. My son suffered severe bloody diarrhea to the point of tears approximately two days after receiving this letter. I went to my pediatrician as instructed by the Health Department and school; and ******* gave a stool sample. BTW-I paid $30 co-pay for this visit as well. Enclosed you will find the email from the schools director as well as the letter from the Summit County Health Department. The only good part about all of this was that my son's testing came back negative for Shagella. I should not have to pay a penny for testing that was mandated by his preschool and the summit county health department.

Desired Settlement: I want SUMMA to pay Akron Childrens for the lab work and not apply it to a crazy deductible. I want a zero balance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/17) */ A letter was sent to the member on 3/16/15 from our Appeals Dept. stating that the claim was processed correctly per the member's benefit and the member's request to waive the deductible is denied. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Can you please be specific as to why I am responsible to pay for Labwork that Summit County Public Health and *************************** mandated my son to have? This is not a typical situation and I did not voluntarily have lab work done for my son. Isn't there a way to make a concession for a unique circumstance? I provided the letter from the school and the county. I would like a detailed response b/c I haven't received a thing from appeals department--no letter, email or anything. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/03/25) */ It's possible that at the time the consumer filed her rebuttal on 3/19/15, she had not yet received our letter dated 3/16/15. A copy of that letter is attached. Per her policy, all laboratory expenses are covered at 100% after she has reached her deductible, but she had not yet met her deductible. Because the claim was processed correctly, her request to waive the deductible is denied.

3/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My debit card was charged twice. Once with my authorization, once without. I set up and payed my premium in the end of Jan., upon doing so i set up autopayment online. I received an invoice in the middle of Feb. Tried multiple times to call, emailed, and left voicemail without any response. I finally was able to contact someone on 3/7/15. The CSR told me no autopayment was set up and offered to take a payment and send me an email to set up autopay. I did so. Upon checking my bank account today (3/9/15) there are two debits from my account for 192.72, one dated 3/7/15, other dated 3/9/15. I have currently been on hold for over 25 minutes waiting for them to answer the phone.

Desired Settlement: The refund amount of 192.72 IMMEDIATELY

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/03/12) */ On March 6, 2015, per the request of the member, Customer Service processed an auto debit form and a payment for the member. Also on March 6, 2015, Customer Service submitted the auto debit form to Accounts Receivable for processing, but did not inform Accounts Receivable that the payment had already been processed. As such, Accounts Receivable processed the payment on March 7, 2015. In response to the member's call to us on March 10, 2015, regarding the two payments taken in error and requesting a refund for one of the payments, the refund was processed on March 10, 2015. On March 12, 2015, the member called to inform us that the bank had not received her payment and requested that we stop the auto debit. While we are unable to do anything with regard to how her bank processes the refund, we can confirm that we did process the refund on March 10 and have since terminated the member from auto debit. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/03/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After contacting several times I received a refund into my account.

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SummaCare did not follow up to resolve the payment of out of state hospital charges. The issue has dragged on for several months with no response. My daughter incurred hospital charges on 02/16/14 at a hospital in *** ****. SummaCare paid it as an in network charge. The hospital said it should be paid as a higher out of network rate. I have made numerous calls on 08/08/14, 09/11/14, 09/16/14, 09/30/14, 10/07/14, 10/15/14, 11/05/14, 11/12/14, 11/19/14 and 12/8/14 and I believe there were more that I did not write down. I spoke with a customer service representative ***** and she said they would finally be contacting the hospital in December. I was told before that it should only take 30-45 days to resolve something like this. It has gone way past that. I also tried to talk to her supervisor **** but she would not take my call. I am left with a balance of about 860.00 that is not due to my deductible or co-pay but rather their negligence. This amount affects my credit rating if it is not paid and it makes me very angry as to their lack of attention to this matter. I have their platinum insurance plan and do not deserve this. My daughter's contract number is ********* No. The initial charge was on 2/16/14 for 1,028.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to settle up with the hospital that is trying to collect money from me that is owed by SummaCare.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2015/03/12) */ I called the consumer to get more information and he informed me the case was resolved already.

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to credit unauthorized ACH withdrawal from my checking account. I cancelled my insurance coverage with Summa Care 12/31/2014. On 1/5/2015 an ACH debit in the amount of $747.22 was withdrawan from my checking account for January 2015 monthly premium. This was an unauthorized withdrawal as the coverage terminated 12/21/2014. I have talked to them via phone and their website about this issue. I have yet to receive the credit of $747.22 for the unauthorized ACH debit. Please help, ***** ********

Desired Settlement: The refund amount of $747.22, interest, reimbursement for my time and trouble.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/28) */ A refund was issued on 1/20/2015 to the member's checking account. It was expected to be processed by his bank on 1/21/2015. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/1/2014 Delivery Issues
4/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to refund extra payment on insurance premium after my mother died. My mother ******* ******** died 10/15/13. I was POA for her and had an auto payment come out of her bank account for her insurance premium to SummaCare. It was paid on 11/21/13 for $134.00 I have made several phone calls over the last 4 mo. I spoke to ****** several times and ******* twice. I was told they would request the billing dept to refund it as priority but after repeated phone calls-no results. I cannot close my Mom's account until all checks are in. The last call I made I left a voicemail which was supposed to be returned the next business day and was never returned. I was also told I could not speak to the billing dept directly that they do not accept outside calls. This has been a very difficult time of grief and I would like closure.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $134.00 refunded to my mother's checking account or in the form of a check.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/31) */ SummaCare's check in the amount of $134.00 was mailed to Complainant on March 27, 2014. If you have any further questions, please contact me at ************** or via email at ************************. **************** Project Coordinator Corporate Services/Compliance SummaCare, Inc. 10 N. Main Street Akron, OH 44308 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/04/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on SummaCare, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart