BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/2014

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/2014

BBB has determined that SummaCare, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SummaCare, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on SummaCare, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
03/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My debit card was charged twice. Once with my authorization, once without.
I set up and payed my premium in the end of Jan., upon doing so i set up autopayment online. I received an invoice in the middle of Feb. Tried multiple times to call, emailed, and left voicemail without any response. I finally was able to contact someone on 3/7/15. The CSR told me no autopayment was set up and offered to take a payment and send me an email to set up autopay. I did so. Upon checking my bank account today (3/9/15) there are two debits from my account for 192.72, one dated 3/7/15, other dated 3/9/15. I have currently been on hold for over 25 minutes waiting for them to answer the phone.

Desired Settlement
The refund amount of 192.72 IMMEDIATELY

Business Response
On March 6, 2015, per the request of the member, Customer Service processed an auto debit form and a payment for the member. Also on March 6, 2015, Customer Service submitted the auto debit form to Accounts Receivable for processing, but did not inform Accounts Receivable that the payment had already been processed. As such, Accounts Receivable processed the payment on March 7, 2015.

In response to the member's call to us on March 10, 2015, regarding the two payments taken in error and requesting a refund for one of the payments, the refund was processed on March 10, 2015.

On March 12, 2015, the member called to inform us that the bank had not received her payment and requested that we stop the auto debit. While we are unable to do anything with regard to how her bank processes the refund, we can confirm that we did process the refund on March 10 and have since terminated the member from auto debit.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After contacting several times I received a refund into my account.

03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SummaCare did not follow up to resolve the payment of out of state hospital charges. The issue has dragged on for several months with no response.

My daughter incurred hospital charges on 02/16/14 at a hospital in *** ****. SummaCare paid it as an in network charge. The hospital said it should be paid as a higher out of network rate. I have made numerous calls on 08/08/14, 09/11/14, 09/16/14, 09/30/14, 10/07/14, 10/15/14, 11/05/14, 11/12/14, 11/19/14 and 12/8/14 and I believe there were more that I did not write down.

I spoke with a customer service representative ***** and she said they would finally be contacting the hospital in December. I was told before that it should only take 30-45 days to resolve something like this. It has gone way past that. I also tried to talk to her supervisor **** but she would not take my call.

I am left with a balance of about 860.00 that is not due to my deductible or co-pay but rather their negligence. This amount affects my credit rating if it is not paid and it makes me very angry as to their lack of attention to this matter. I have their platinum insurance plan and do not deserve this. My daughter's contract number is ********* No. The initial charge was on 2/16/14 for 1,028.00.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to settle up with the hospital that is trying to collect money from me that is owed by SummaCare.

Final Consumer Response
I called the consumer to get more information and he informed me the case was resolved already.

01/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to credit unauthorized ACH withdrawal from my checking account.
I cancelled my insurance coverage with Summa Care 12/31/2014. On 1/5/2015 an ACH debit in the amount of $747.22 was withdrawan from my checking account for January 2015 monthly premium. This was an unauthorized withdrawal as the coverage terminated 12/21/2014. I have talked to them via phone and their website about this issue. I have yet to receive the credit of $747.22 for the unauthorized ACH debit. Please help, ***** ********

Desired Settlement
The refund amount of $747.22, interest, reimbursement for my time and trouble.

Business Response
A refund was issued on 1/20/2015 to the member's checking account. It was expected to be processed by his bank on 1/21/2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


04/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to refund extra payment on insurance premium after my mother died.

My mother ******* ******** died 10/15/13. I was POA for her and had an auto payment come out of her bank account for her insurance premium to SummaCare. It was paid on 11/21/13 for $134.00 I have made several phone calls over the last 4 mo. I spoke to ****** several times and ******* twice. I was told they would request the billing dept to refund it as priority but after repeated phone calls-no results. I cannot close my Mom's account until all checks are in. The last call I made I left a voicemail which was supposed to be returned the next business day and was never returned. I was also told I could not speak to the billing dept directly that they do not accept outside calls. This has been a very difficult time of grief and I would like closure.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $134.00 refunded to my mother's checking account or in the form of a check.

Business Response
SummaCare's check in the amount of $134.00 was mailed to Complainant on March 27, 2014.

If you have any further questions, please contact me at ************** or via email at ************************.

****************
Project Coordinator
Corporate Services/Compliance
SummaCare, Inc.
10 N. Main Street
Akron, OH 44308

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Patient: ******* *********
DOS: ********
Physician: Dr. ******

I am officially appealing the charges my son incurred for lab testing for Shagella on ********. Summacare did not pay anything towards this lab testing that was mandated by my son's preschool and Summit County, Ohio. We were instructed via letter and in person by my son's preschool-Fairlawn Lutheran Pre-School that there was an official reported case of Shagella in his classroom and all students with symptoms had to be tested by their pediatrician. The letter came from the Summit County Health Department.

My son suffered severe bloody diarrhea to the point of tears approximately two days after receiving this letter. I went to my pediatrician as instructed by the Health Department and school; and ******* gave a stool sample. BTW-I paid $30 co-pay for this visit as well.

Enclosed you will find the email from the schools director as well as the letter from the Summit County Health Department. The only good part about all of this was that my son's testing came back negative for Shagella.

I should not have to pay a penny for testing that was mandated by his preschool and the summit county health department.

Desired Settlement
I want SUMMA to pay Akron Childrens for the lab work and not apply it to a crazy deductible. I want a zero balance.

Business Response
A letter was sent to the member on 3/16/15 from our Appeals Dept. stating that the claim was processed correctly per the member's benefit and the member's request to waive the deductible is denied.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Can you please be specific as to why I am responsible to pay for Labwork that Summit County Public Health and *************************** mandated my son to have? This is not a typical situation and I did not voluntarily have lab work done for my son. Isn't there a way to make a concession for a unique circumstance? I provided the letter from the school and the county.

I would like a detailed response b/c I haven't received a thing from appeals department--no letter, email or anything.

Final Business Response
It's possible that at the time the consumer filed her rebuttal on 3/19/15, she had not yet received our letter dated 3/16/15. A copy of that letter is attached. Per her policy, all laboratory expenses are covered at 100% after she has reached her deductible, but she had not yet met her deductible. Because the claim was processed correctly, her request to waive the deductible is denied.

10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance - Health, Insurance - Employee Benefits, Insurance Companies, Hospitalization, Medical & Surgical Plans

Additional Information

top

Summa Health System is one of the largest integrated healthcare delivery systems in the state. Formed in 1989 with the merger of Akron City and St. Thomas Hospitals, this nonprofit system now encompasses a network of Hospitals, Health Centers, Emergency Rooms, Urgent Care Center, a health care plane along with research and medical education and multiple foundations

The information in this BBB Business Review only includes background, licensing, and other information known to BBB for SummaCare.

The BBB has separate reviews for:
Summa Heath Systems Hospitals: http://go.bbb.org/1AX3tCW
Summa Emergency Rooms: http://go.bbb.org/1EecSbE
Summa Health Care Centers: http://go.bbb.org/1M5dEZL
Summa Urgent Care Centers: http://go.bbb.org/17OJAT6

BBB file opened: 04/28/1997Business started: 10/15/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of NAIC#95202 for this company.

Type: Department of Insurance

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1992, OH

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Claude M Vincenti (President of SummaCare & Government Relation)Customer Contact: Ms. Elisa Raicevich (Legal)Mr. Michael Frye (Legal)
Contact Information
Ms. Anne Armao (V.P. Marketing)Mr. Kevin Cavalier (Vice President of Sales)Ms. Sue Littlejohn (Executive Assistant to Mr. Hauser)
Business Category

Insurance - Health, Insurance - Employee Benefits, Insurance Companies, Hospitalization, Medical & Surgical Plans

Products & Services

Headquartered in Akron, Ohio, SummaCare is committed to providing members with comprehensive, community-focused health insurance choices priced to reflect quality, value and service.

Alternate Business Names
SummaCare

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

SummaCare, Inc. has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SummaCare, Inc.

10 North Main Street

Akron, OH 44308

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10 North Main Street 

    Akron, OH 44308(888) 251-7953
    (888) 464-8440
    (330) 996-8440
    (800) 996-6250
    (800) 996-8701
    (330) 996-8410
    (800) 375-6530

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SummaCare, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 251-7953
  • (888) 464-8440
  • (330) 996-8440
  • (800) 996-6250
  • (800) 996-8701
  • (800) 375-6530
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance - Health

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

Summa Health System is one of the largest integrated healthcare delivery systems in the state. Formed in 1989 with the merger of Akron City and St. Thomas Hospitals, this nonprofit system now encompasses a network of Hospitals, Health Centers, Emergency Rooms, Urgent Care Center, a health care plane along with research and medical education and multiple foundations

The information in this BBB Business Review only includes background, licensing, and other information known to BBB for SummaCare.

The BBB has separate reviews for:
Summa Heath Systems Hospitals: http://go.bbb.org/1AX3tCW
Summa Emergency Rooms: http://go.bbb.org/1EecSbE
Summa Health Care Centers: http://go.bbb.org/1M5dEZL
Summa Urgent Care Centers: http://go.bbb.org/17OJAT6

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.