BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1981

The K Company

Phone: (330) 773-5125Fax: (330) 773-2962View Additional Phone Numbers2234 S Arlington Rd, AkronOH 44319-1929 Send email to The K Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1981

BBB has determined that The K Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The K Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The K Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not receive a discount on my furnace service at my house as I was told that i would because of years of sending the company business.

I contacted the K Company to repair my furnace because I just was released from the hospital and was unable to do the work myself even though I am in the same line of work. I called them because I have done business with them and provided them with thousands of dollars worth of business from other customers for years. I assumed that I would get a little break on the service cost so when I called them I asked the person that answered the phone if I qualified to get some kind of discount because of the work that I had sent them for years and he said yes. I also passed this information along to the service tech after he arrived at my house and he said he would have to call his office to check on it which he did. After he talked for a minute to his office he gave me his phone and the person on the other end said I would get some kind of a discount but he could not tell me how much it was going to be at that time. I went ahead and had the work done and then discovered at a later date that my credit card was charged $268.00 which I knew from being in the industry that I did not receive any discount. I knew then that I was charged full price and was not happy about it. I was charged $163.00 for a part that I can purchase through any of my commercial accounts for about $25.00. I called, emailed and faxed the company about this situation but got the run around in regards to the matter from a lady named ****** and another rude lady named ****. **** told me that there was nothing that could be done about it because that none of the people that were involved with this situation were still working for the company. I found that kind of odd and asked her for a phone number for a department head, her supervisor, or an owner but she would not furnish me with that information. She said there was nobody else that could assist me with this and that there was nobody above her at the company which I knew was not true. I told her that evryone has to answer to someone above them including myself. She also made a rude comment to me and said that if you knew how to fix the problem with your furnace then why didnt you just do it and I reminded her that I had just been released from the hospital the day before and was not able to do the work or I would have and I also told her that I would never talk to a customer of mine the way she was talking to me and I said that she was a bad represenative for the K- Company. After being in the property management industry for over 37 years I knew she was giving me the run around and was not interested in resoling the matter. As I told her I did not expect to get the service for free but I definatley did not get any kind of discount for the service that I received even though I was told that I would from two different people within the company. I called the K-Company for the service on January 22, 2014. The invoice number is 349898 and the work number is ******. The total cost for the invoice was $268.00

Desired Settlement
As I have told several employees at the K-Company. I was not expecting to get the repair done at no charge, but I was told and expected that I would get some kind of discount on the work that was done but I did not receive one. I could have called anyone to do the work for the price that I was charged by them but I called the K-Company because I had done business with them for years and would never have expected them to go back on their word and I especially never expected them to take the rude and uncaring position that they have taken in regards to this matter. It would be nice if they would rethink their wrong and make it right so we could put this behind us. It might sway me to continue to send business their way but if they are not willing to compromise then I will send future business to a company that can be trusted and stands behind their word.

Final Consumer Response
I received a call from **** at the K-Company this morning in regards to my complaint that I filed with them and also filed with the Better Bussiness Bureau.I went over the situation with him and after a lenghthy conversation we came up with a solution that satisfied me and worked for the K-Company. At this time I want to withdrawl my complaint against the K-Company because they made a wrong decision right. I want to thank the BBB for all of its assistance in regards to this matter. I have never filed a complaint with any organization in the past so I was not sure how this would work out or what the outcome would be. Again, I say thank you to the BBB for all of your help.
***********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 11/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico

BBB records show a license number of HV RE EL 21696 for this company, issued by Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance. Their web address is http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Martin (President)Ms. Carmen M. Dempsey (Controller)Ms. Susan Popovich
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The K Company

2234 S Arlington Rd

Akron, OH 44319-1929

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2234 S Arlington Rd 

    Akron, OH 44319-1929(330) 452-2292
    (330) 773-5125

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The K Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 452-2292
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.