Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

S & S Heating Cooling & Sheet Metal Co, Inc.

Phone: (440) 237-3663 Fax: (330) 278-2122 1353 Ridge Rd, Hinckley, OH 44233 http://www.ssheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S & S Heating Cooling & Sheet Metal Co, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for S & S Heating Cooling & Sheet Metal Co, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on S & S Heating Cooling & Sheet Metal Co, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 22, 2012 Business started: 06/01/1989 Business started locally: 06/01/1989 Business incorporated 09/19/1990 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance

http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico
ic@com.state.oh.us
The number is HV HY 12312.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark A. Staron Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark A. Staron Sr., President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Sheet Metal Work Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

S & S Heating Cooling & Sheet Metal Co, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1353 Ridge Rd

    Hinckley, OH 44233 (440) 237-3663

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extended Warranty was not summited to American Standard. Therefor I cannot get my furnace repaired under American Standard. I bought a American Standard Furnace model AUY120R9V5W5 s/n *********, Condenser Model 2A7A3060A1000A s/n ********* and Coil model TXC06553HPC s/n *********. 10yr Extended warranty 4/3/2006 Invoice ***** Customer ****. S&S failed to summit Warranty Application to American Standard. Now S&S is telling me that my warranty is voided because I did not use them for service in the last four years. If they had filed the papers the warranty would have done by another Dealer.

Desired Settlement: Cost of Parts for the remainder of the warranty. Current bad part is the Inducer about $250 -$300

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/18) */ The customer is correct when he states that we did not file the extended warranty with American Standard. At that time, our procedure was to submit the warranties to our distributor for warranty registration. There was a period from 2006 to 2007 that the warranties were not entered by our distributor. As a resolution to our customers in acknowledging this error we honored the remainder of the warranty period for any problems that arose with equipment for the remainder of their warranty. We explained to the customer that we would honor his warranty until it expires on 4/3/16. We then noticed that he had not had us do any preventative maintenance checks on the unit since 2010. We asked him for proof that he had this done by another company. We did not tell him that the warranty was void because S & S didn't do the service on the unit. We simply explained that if he didn't have preventative maintenance done since 2010, that the warranty would be voided. It states on any manufacturer warranty paperwork that preventative maintenance must be performed on a regular basis in order to validate the warranty. We scheduled a service call for 2/16/15 for us to verify that the inducer motor was indeed faulty, but he later called and cancelled the appointment. We offered to get the part and replace it at no cost to him since another dealer would not be able to do so under American Standard's extended warranty, but we need proof that maintenance was done in order for us to receive our credit on the part. He was unhappy to hear that another company wouldn't be able to get the part and that our company would have to get it and install it. We feel we have offered every possible resolution to do the repair at no charge to the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't feel that I should supply S&S my maintenance records to have this part replaces. It have nothing to do with cleaning/ changing filters... This part is leaking and needs replacing. I never canceled an appointment they only told me that they needed to verify the issue and that is fine. I can also send photos.

1/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had refrigerant removed in 2014, then added in 2015. Business claims there is a leak, but is not making an attempt to find or fix leak. On 5/31/2013, we had our air conditioning unit serviced and the service technician claimed that the refrigerant was overcharged. The unit was 6 years old at the time and we had never had the refrigerant serviced. He stated to my wife that "the system was way overcharged and he had to take a lot out." On 6/24/2014, our air conditioning was not operating. A technician came to the house and determined the problem was the thermostat. At the same time, he checked the refrigerant and stated that it was very low and he had to add about 1.5 pounds of refrigerant. Both service calls, my wife was the one who was at home. I called S&S a couple days after the appointment on 6/24/2014 inquiring about why one year they took refrigerant out and the next year they added refrigerant. They were unable to provide me with a good answer and stated they would come out and add a "dye pack" to the refrigerant to check for leaks. The dye pack was added on 7/9/2014. The technician did say the 1.5 pounds of refrigerant they had to add was a significant amount over the course of a year. The technician stated they dye pack has to circulate through the system anywhere from a couple weeks to a month. He said someone from the company would contact me to schedule an appointment. Nearly a month and a half passed with no call. I called S&S on 8/20/2014 and scheduled an appointment for the following morning (8/21/2014). The time was set for sometime between 9am and 10am. No one ever showed up. S&S finally called about 3pm and apologized. I threatened to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau if they did not take care of the problem. They said they would come the following morning (8/22/14). On 8/22/2014, the technician came to the house to check for leaks. He was unable to find any leaks and the pressure was where he left it when he recharged it in June. I asked him to have the owner call me. After over two months and a threat to file a complaint, I still have not heard anything from the company.

Desired Settlement: It appears odd that one year they remove refrigerant and the following year, they tell me they need to add refrigerant. When I voiced my concern, there was nothing done on their part. I would like a refund for the $75 charge for refrigerant, $120 for one hour of labor, and $42.70 for the dye pack ($237.70 total).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/12/29) */ See attached response (BBB converted from original. See document file.) This is in response to Mr. *****'s complaint. We first serviced the air conditioner on 6/21/12, when we performed maintenance on the unit. At the time, the unit was found to be frozen. The technician found most of the supply registers closed and reopened them in order to enable proper airflow. He removed and cleaned the blower wheel. Our company always does a superheat or a sub-cooling measurement to determine how much refrigerant should be in the system. We were then called out on 5/31/13 and our technician found the unit was overcharged. The homeowner states that the unit worked 5/31/13 to 6/24/14 when we were called out for a bad thermostat, and then a small amount of refrigerant had to be added. This would indicate the unit has a small leak. It's been a common problem with units having leaking coils that were manufactured prior to 2014. Our company took steps to find a very small leak by adding a die kit to the system. The dye kit was added on 7/9/14 and a technician checked for a leak on 8/22/14. Sometimes if the leak is small or the dye didn't mix with refrigerant enough, the leak may not be found the first time. The dye never leaves the system. If the homeowner did not run the system, the dye would not have mixed in the system. In looking back, that months was one of the coolest on record. If the small leak could not be found at that time, we can always try again when the dye has a better chance of mixing with the refrigerant. My recommendation to the homeowner is to keep an eye on this and if the system goes low again to have us check for a leak with the ultraviolet light.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on S & S Heating Cooling & Sheet Metal Co, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart