Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Quality Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (419) 342-6216 Fax: (419) 347-1603 View Additional Phone Numbers 3655 State Route 39, Shelby, OH 44875


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 06/09/1986 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance

http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico
ic@com.state.oh.us
The number is HV PL 34153.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry M. Cramer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry M. Cramer, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Plumbers

Hours of Operation
7:30 - 5:00 M-F
24 Hr Emergency Service
Service Area
Business services Richland County and surrounding areas.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quality failed to properly respond to a service call, then failed to respond to an inquiry the following day. Saturday October 17th, at 10:04a I was notified of a problem with a furnace at a rental house in Shelby, Oh. Here are the details: All times are approximate. 11a-1130a a call was placed to Quality requesting Service. 11:40 Service Tech called back and offered a call after 2:00p. 4:02p-Tech arrived 4:18p-Tech left stating it was a problem with furnace filter. 4:25-Tech was called back because furnace still didn't work. Tech said he would return in 30 minutes. 6:40-Text sent to tech, Tech said he would be back in a minute. 8:01p-Tech arrived 8:20p-Tech stated the control board is bad, and it can't be fixed until Monday because Quality does not stock parts for that furnace. Tenant stated "It would have been nice to know that earlier in the day. Tech left. MONDAY OCTOBER 19 8:11a Outbound call to Quality, I left message asking for return call. 8:31a Inbound call from Quality-Rep (Debbie?) indicated that the tech reported the tenant cursed at the tech, when he left, and asked if I wanted the furnace repaired. I asked for cost/turnaround time for parts. Rep said she would call the tech, and call me back within the hour. ----------------- END--------------- Saturday October 24, 2015 A relative received a bill in the mail from quality for $90 for this service call. October 26, 2015 Outbound call at 12:35 p to Quality, I disputed the bill because the Tech never showed up when he was scheduled, Rep indicated that he had to leave his other job that day, so I should have expected delays. I explained that as a consumer, I could not have known that, and shouldn't have to worry about that. Rep explained she could never call me back within that hour because Tech never got the Model # or Serial #, so rep had no way of knowing cost to repair. Rep then explained she had sent the tech back out Tuesday October 20th to get the information when Tenant explained that we had repaired the problem with another company. I explained that I was forced due to the non response the prior day. I explained that I did not feel the bill was fair, and I was not agreeing to accept the charge. Rep stated that she would have to check with the owner, I asked for a call back by 5:00p October 26th. Rep asked "WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT IF I DON'T CALL BACK???" I answered that I would contact the BBB. I have incurred the cost of s portable heaters for a total of approximately $130.00, and the cost to repair the furnace in a rush due to the delay and professionalism of Quality Plumbing. I do not feel it is fair to bill $90.00 for a service call that was really never completed, on top of forcing someone to sit and wait from 2:00p-8:30p. I have not paid the bill, and will not, therefore I am not asking for a refund. I am asking for a letter stating that the bill is rescinded.

Desired Settlement: I would like a letter, or copy of another invoice showing the bill has been rescinded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/12/02) */ First of all, we did not fail to respond to this complaint at any time. We were not notified until now because the email address it was sent to was incorrect. After being in Business for 35 years, I have learned to never completely trust secondhand information, which is what this complaint is based on. I am, also, always suspicious of people that have minute by minute logs of their version of a story before it ever begins. The complaint was filed by someone that was not at the house and told us he would not pay because we would not bother with small claims court over such a small amount...he is wrong; I will. We sent a technician out on the weekend. They were informed of our rates when they called the emergency number. Diagnostic charges are normally collected on the spot, but could not be in this case because the owner lives elsewhere and refuses to give us (or the BBB) his correct address. The address shown is for the rental property. The problem with the air filter was that it had been sucked into the furnace blower due to lack of proper maintenance. After removing the dirty filter the furnace fired up and the fan was working. It was reasonable to assume that the problem was fixed. The technician was called back, but the renters never consider that there are other people without heat and he may have had to finish up there before returning. We have one guaranteed appointment every day and that is the first appointment at 8:00 in the morning. After that, we never know what we will run into and the customer is unreasonable to expect otherwise. The renter also complained about my tech being on the phone. We charge flat rate, so whether he was attempting to find a part or talking to his mother, it would have the same amount. If the second person in the van had gone into the house as well, there would have been a complaint about that, thinking they would be charged for two techs. Here are the facts: The renter called, agreeing to a service call. The service call ended up requiring two trips. After leaving the first time, and being subjected to foul language, on the second trip - the renter told him not to come back. The next day, the more reasonable boyfriend said he wanted us to fix it. A second tech was sent to retrieve the model and serial numbers and found no one home. The owner called and demanded that I call him back by 5:00 that day or he would file with the BBB and that he was not going to pay us. Again, people never consider that I might have been working and not able to return his threatening call by his deadline. The owner also claimed to have incurred expense for a heater he had to buy. Had the renter not lost her temper we would have loaned them all the heaters they needed...for free. The bill was a flat rate diagnostic charge. In flat rate, you call us out - we get paid, repair or no repair. The purpose of that is because, at times, people call us out, we tell them what is wrong, and then they try to repair it themselves to save money. With a little patience from the renter this whole thing would not be happening. The bill will not be rescinded.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)