Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Gene's Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (330) 723-4104 Fax: (330) 723-0154 View Additional Phone Numbers 6222 Norwalk Road, Medina, OH 44256

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

33 Customer Reviews on Gene's Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 33
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 33

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1958 Business started locally: 01/01/1958 Business incorporated 04/28/1981 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
The number is HV HY PL RE 18110.

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
The number is EL 19786.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gene Tolliver, President/Owner Mr. Daniel Ankney, Service Manager Mrs. Linda Ankney, Vice President/Office Manager Mr. Keith Tolliver, President Mr. Ralph E. (Gene) Tolliver, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Linda Ankney, Vice President/Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Gene Tolliver, President/Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Generators - Electric Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heat Pumps Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Service Area
Medina Co., Summit Co., Lorain Co., Wayne Co.& Cuyahoga Co.
Alternate Business Names
All American Heating & A/C Briggs Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Gene's Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Gene's Refrigeration Kaufman Nussnaum, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers plumbing, HVAC and electrical contracting services. This company is licensed, bonded and insured.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gene's Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    6222 Norwalk Road

    Medina, OH 44256 (330) 835-9999 (330) 336-6500 (800) 525-6684 (216) 246-9674 (216) 324-7727 (330) 345-7444 (330) 225-6650 (330) 723-4104


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint taken over the phone by BBB Staff (AI) Consumer hired to fix the A/C. Representative came out to the consumer's home, and advised there was a leak in the furnace interfering with AC. Consumer states that the representative did something to the furnace to cause leak because prior to representative's visit there was no leak. The representative collected $462.00, did not provide invoice, and did not fix the A/C. Advised the consumer that the furnace would need repair first, for additional charge. Representative told them they would mail invoice for $462.00.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Explanation for why they were not given a bill, and to receive an itemized bill to justify the 462.00 charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/22) */ On 8/3/15, we were scheduled to diagnose an AC that kept running. Our tech found the AC out of refrigerant, indicating a leak. He recharged the system and put in dye so that we could find the leak. The $462.00 charge was for the diagnostic, freon, dye and labor (that included the return to see where the dye leaked out). We returned in 30 days (industry standard) and found the coil located above the furnace (which is part of the AC, not the furnace) was leaking. There is nothing wrong with the furnace and the technician informed the customer that the furnace was OK. To repair the AC, the coil must be replaced. In regards to the invoice, all of our technicians went mobile in 2013. The customer should have been given the option to provide an email address so that an invoice could be emailed. If the customer does not have (or does not elect to provide) an email address, the technician is supposed to note on their invoice for the office to mail a copy. The technician did not note that an invoice needed to be mailed. That was an oversight on his part if the customer requested a mailed copy. The customer could have called the office to request a copy and one would have been mailed that day. In addition to the detail on the $462.00 charge as noted above, I am attaching copies of the invoices to this claim and I am putting copies in the mail to them as well.

7/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: did not address the problem they were sent to fix I called Gene's and told them that the gas company (************)had turned off the gas because my renter had not paid their gas bill and informed me that my 18 inch long flu pipe venting my hot water tank into the chimney needed to be raised slightly a very simple repair before they would put the gas in my name as landlord and turn the gas back on. So Gene's sent out there service tech. While waiting to hear back from them that he raised the pipe slightly and fixed the problem as I firmly told them over the phone to do. I received a phone call that seemed to be their sales department!! This person (male) proceeded to tell me how I needed to replace the gas lines because they were probably leaking in the house. Also the hot water tank was old so they wanted to put in a new one! Also I should also replace the furnace while we were at it and they could be there in two days. I told him he was there to fix the flu pipe and that was all that I told them I wanted done. Upon getting off the phone I called ******** plumbing service in Wooster and he agreed to go fix the flu , I also called ************ and set up a time with them . This is a rental property by the way and may be the reason Gene's wanted to replace everything in the house! I watched ****** Fix the flu All he did was adjust the piping that was there and within 5 minutes it was fixed! Just needed raised a couple inches.The gas man from ************ was there the next day and did a complete pressure check on the gas lines and checked the furnace for any leaks and said everything was great and promptly turned the gas back on.

Desired Settlement: Gene's called me when I was sleeping early Thursday morning 7/9/15.So when I got up I called Gene's and after complaining that I should not be charged their secretary told me they would just send the bill to collection and hung up on me. I called them back and gave them my billing address on 7/9/15. I told them I will pay their bill but I feel they should refund my payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/15) */ I have credited the customer's account for the $89.00 charge. The balance is no longer due. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/16) */ Consumer called into BBB for business response explanation. Consumer acknowledged and accepted business response.

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an air conditioner unit from Gene's. The unit has started to settle. Called for it to be leveled. Problem not fixed. In 2009, I purchased an air conditioner/heat pump from Gene's Refrigeration. The exact cost of the unit was in excess of $5,600.00. It was installed in February 2009. This unit is rather large and very heavy. It was placed on a hollow piece of plastic at the time of installation. The weight of the unit and heat from the sun has caused the plastic base the unit was placed on to bow and began sinking toward my house. In the past three years the unit has shifted a large amount. I called for service to have the unit leveled. I was advised a new plastic base would be installed and the unit would be leveled. Friday, April 3, 2015, a service man came to my home from Gene's Refrigeration to level the unit. He came alone with not supplies to level the unit. He advised me he needed gravel or rocks to level the unit. He used bedrock from under my pool deck...a very large amount of bedrock. The unit is still not level, the plastic base was never replaced, and the plastic base is bowed so badly that it now holds water under the air conditioning/heat pump unit. Called and sent pictures to Gene's and was called back on Monday, April 6, 2015, by *** and advised that I haven't called for service in 6 years and that my ground around my house is settling. My house has been standing for 25's not the ground around my house that is the problem. I paid $178.00 on 4/3/15 and was advised by *** that it would be another $225.00 for them to come out with two (2) men to level the unit and replace the plastic base. He was argumentative and provided no customer service. I became so frustrated that I hung up. It should be noted that ***** the service man told me that these bases and units are always needing leveled. I think a charge in excess of $400.00 to replace a base that is inadequate to handle the weight of my unit is crazy.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking reimbursement of the $178.00 that was paid for the shotty workmanship that was provided with the use of my bedrock. Even the secretary, ***, there indicated that she was surprised that the base was not replaced and said the photographs that I provided her were sufficient to warrant them coming out and replacing the base. I wouldn't want this company on my property again or anywhere near my unit. I will look for another company to properly level the unit on a cement pad or stones. A child could have done a better job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/09) */ The unit was installed six years ago. According to the customer, the unit only started shifting within the last three years and it was shifting towards the house. It is our experience that (1) if a unit is going to shift from the installation, it would have shifted with the first change in temperature and (2) when a unit shifts TOWARDS the house, there is a foundation issue. If a unit shifts, it usually shifts away from the house because of the grade around the house. The industry switched to plastic pads 20 years ago because patio stones do not hold up under the weight of the larger units. If the soil around the house is unstable, the plastic pad will bend to conform to the ground. It is common HVAC practice to install these units with a plastic pad. Manufacturer warranties require annual maintenance and the customer admitted to never having the unit serviced (where shifting may have been noticed) and our records indicate that this is the first time the customer has contacted us for any issue including the shifting. We did send a technician out to try to level the pad. He informed the homeowner that he needed gravel to place under the pad so the water will drain away and she agreed to him using the gravel under her deck. We would normally charge $425.00 for the service that has already been performed but we only charged her $178.00. When she wasn't satisfied with the result and sent photos, the install manager (***) reviewed the photos and spoke with the technician. The unit appeared to be level and the pad was flexing to the contour of the ground. The next step would have been to send two technicians out to completely disconnect and remove the unit and replace the pad with another plastic pad. Again, this is something that we would normally charge $425.00 but *** offered it to her for an additional $225.00. Given that: through the homeowner's admission, the unit only started shifting within the last three years, the unit was shifting towards the house instead of away, the plastic pad is designed to adapt to the ground and will flex accordingly, we tried to resolve this issue at a reduced price, and the homeowner waited three years before contacting us, we do not feel that a refund is justified.

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gene's over charged me for my warranty "extended service contract" for 16 years This is very disappointing that Gene's will not acknowledge that they over charged me over the years. I have been a loyal customer for over 20 years and always paid my bills on time. This is not the first time I have tried to get them to pay me for this and I don't think it's wrong to seek what belongs to me. When I bought my furnace it came with a set amount for a yearly warranty service contract and that amount should not increase and I have written proof that Gene's charged me more then was agreed on. What's funny is I need a new furnace now and Gene's was my first choice, well it looks like that's not going to happen.

Desired Settlement: $160

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/16) */ The customer did indeed have a contract issued in January 1994 for $120.00/year for yearly maintenance. The contract does not state that the price will not change. The contract went up to $130.00/year in January 1996 and the customer paid that amount for 17 years without complaint. In 2013, the customer's contract amount was reduced to $98.00/year and is still currently at that amount. The customer was/is in the process of updating their equipment. In an effort to resolve this issue, we offered the customer a $200.00 discount off of the purchase price which is more than he is asking for. We are currently waiting for a response. If the customer desires, we are willing to refund $170.00 less $44.00 (for the price reduction in 2013-2014) for a refund total of $126.00 and reset his yearly contract amount to $120.00/year. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The people at Gene's must not have a very good memory, I made multiple attempts to solve this problem over the years in fact less then 5 years ago I went to Gene's and talked to ***** herself about this. Right now I have a verbal contract from there sales person much like I did 20 years ago concerning a set price for yearly maintenance on a new furnace, it must be a regular habit of there's not to write this on a written contract. Concerning the lower rate the last two years, that came about because I decided not to renew the yearly maintenance and Gene's then offered me a new rate. Again I'm very disappointed in Gene's. I don't want one penny from them if they can't see the truth in this.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

33 Customer Reviews on Gene's Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart