Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carl's Heating & Air Conditioning Service, Inc.

Phone: (330) 376-4127 Fax: (330) 745-9079 View Additional Phone Numbers 1759 Wadsworth Road, Akron, OH 44320 http://carlsheatingservice.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carl's Heating & Air Conditioning Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carl's Heating & Air Conditioning Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Carl's Heating & Air Conditioning Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1967 Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated 07/09/1998 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance

http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico
ic@com.state.oh.us
The number is HV HY 15855.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Coletta Hawkinberry, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Coletta Hawkinberry, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers general heating, air conditioning, humidifiers and hot water tank, sales, installation and service.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Carl's Heating & Air Conditioning Service, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1759 Wadsworth Road

    Akron, OH 44320 (330) 745-9174 (330) 376-4127

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DEFECTIVE AND/OR IMPROPERLY INSTALLED CENTRAL AIR CONDITION SYSTEM. LUXAIRE CENTRAL AIR CONDITION UNIT ( MODEL ************ ) ( SERIAL # ********** ) - PURCHASED 11/28/12 ALONG WITH A GAS FIRED FURNACE. - TOTAL COST $4,575.00 - PAID BY CASH ( CHECK OF $2,075 & CC OF $2,500 ) 10/12/13 - SERVICE CALL A/C RUNS IN HEAT MODE IMPROPER SET UP(PROGRAMMED WRONG) OF T-STAT. 06/21/13 - SERVICE CALL - A/C CAPS REPLACED, UNIT LOW HAD TO BE RECHARGED. 05/08/15 - SERVICE CALL - LOW R-410A SYSTEM RECHARGED - LEAK FOUND INSIDE AT COIL = OIL SPOT ON OUTSIDE COIL. PLEASE NOTE: I WILL CONTACT CARL'S TODAY AND ATTEMPT TO RESOLVE - A/C UNIT RUNNING LOW AS OF 07/14/15 (TEMPERATURE NOT DROPPING AT THE NORMAL RATE

Desired Settlement: REPLACEMENT OR REPAIR TO END LEAKAGE AND CONSTANT CHARGING OF UNIT

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/06) */ In response too the complaint filed from the above mentioned customer.On May 11,2015 we spoke with the manufacturer regarding the warranty on the evaporator coil and condensing coil.We ordered the replacement parts. On May 13,2015 a message was left for the customer as too what our plan of action was too be.We received no response back from customer.On July 15,2015 we received a call from customer asking us what our intervention was too be.This was after the customer filed a complaint against our co.I advised the customer we would be installing a new evaporator coil,and replacing outside condensing coil under warranty.However the customer was advised that he would be responsible for the labor portion of this job.which is $72.00 an hour/x amount of hours into the job.The work was scheduled too be performed on July 17th 2015.We disconnected the evaporator coil,and removed the condensing coil too take too manufacturer for warranty.Too our horror we discovered that part of the condensing coil was deteriorated due too dog urine.(THIS INFACT VOIDED ANY WARRANTY FROM MANUFACTURER)We then brought customer outside too bring this situation too customers attention.And explained the situation too him ,The manufacturer warrantied the evaporator coil,but would not honor the warranty for the condensing coil due too the dog urine.Too replace the condensing coil would have been a far greater expense than too just replace the whole outside condensing unit.We tried too contact customer but he was not available.Rather than leave the customer with disassembled equipment ,I made the judgement decision too purchase and replace the condensing unit.When we returned too the job we spoke with customers wife.She understood the situation .We completed the job and had the air conditioning back on line.I thought the fair thing too do was too charge the customer my cost of the equipment.Around 5PM that evening we received a phone call from Angela P************* who left a message that she in fact is the home owner and is confused as too the transactions that has taken place.And did advise our company that she would not be paying for any additional expenses.

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Services rendered were completely inflated, not to mention my mom ended up getting sick for lack of heat then extreme continuous scortching heat. Nov 20th valve was bought from Carl's heating which turned out to be a defective valve,Carl's heating was called to home on 11/21/14 at that time service man came out he supposely fixed,but he needed his boss to come the next day for other issues because there was still no heat in the home 11/22/14 boss came to assess work that was done or wasn't done, after he left maybe a couple of hours later there was cold air blowing from registers,I ************* made a call the Carl's expressing my dissatifaction of work and all the money we had spent for poor service and I wanted to know what they were gonna do about it, I was told someone would be out on 11/24/14 they came back out and rigged the motor to where it contiuously ran not being able to control buy thermostat the home was hot as heck having to open windows and doors letting heat out because it was unbarable my 75 year mother was so upset that she called another company that came out 11/28/14 when he took panel off and saw what was going on he told my mother that her home could have exploded with her and my son and grandbaby and dogs because of the negligence of leaving that motor to run continously so said it was very dangerous, needless to say he fixed the problem now she can control her heat by the theromstat and things seem to working fine.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking pain and suffering and the total cost of repair including the other company as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/17) */ On 11-21-14 two Gentlemen came to the Office and purchased a gas valve.Around 5p Ms ***** called for no heat. Upon our arrival we found the gas valve shorted out,the fce sooted,burnt wiring,wires unhooked wires and the board shorted out.We returned the next morning with our senior tech to figure out the wiring mess.We got the furnace back on line to find that the vent motor had a short in it. The warehouse at this point was close. On Monday morning we ordered the vent motor and picked it up. We were unable to contact the homeowner.On Tues 11/25/14 someone called the Office identified themselves as the daughter of Ms ***** complaining that her mother had no heat again and that her Mother and kids were getting sick.I advised her that we had the part but was unable to contact her mother.She said that someone would be home all day.Around noon we were able to get in and install the vent motor.That is the last contact we had with the Customer until we received this complaint. On the original Servive Inv#***** the charges were $365.00. We warrantied the gas valve that the two Gentlemen had purchased and only charged her for the control board and the labor. We waived the $70.00 truck fee. The second Service Inv#***** which was for the vent motor we charged only for the price of the vent motor.We warranty our work for 30 days and parts for one year.This is stated on our service orders which Ms ***** signed. If there was a problem someone should have notified us.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repair man failing to fix unit. Our electric bill is now $304.00 due to a two + week issue. Repair man left job unfinished 9/7/13. 1)Although ****, our repairman from Carl's heating has been extremely pleasant, his multiple attempts to fix our AC (he has been to our apartment four times now, was supposed to return one more time), has resulted in our AC constantly running and our electric bill being $304.00 when a summer electric bill for us is $100-$110,MAX. A $300 bill, that we cannot afford, should never have resulted. Our AC unit is still not fixed and resulted is in having to find another repairman. 2) On Saturday 9/7/13, repairman and out to fix the AC (again). He must not have had a part or had to go but, left promising to return Monday. He also notified us he turned our heat off on the unit. It is now Wed,9/11/13, and he has not returned or tried to contact us. I have called Carl's heating and cooling to gain information but the number they have listed is an answering service number and they either take a message or have someone call me back saying that a repair man will be on contact with me soon. It is currently 91 degrees in our apartment. We had to contact our landlord and find another AC repairman due to Carl's lack of follow through.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure if Carl's is nothing the poor customer service that is taking place but I want to point out the financial consequences that they are causing their customers. I doubt a financial compensation for my electric bill would be issued but anything to contribute to the expense we did not create would be appreciated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/24) */ After the visit on Saturday 9/7/13 a part was ordered on monday 9/9/13,in the afternoon of 9/9/13 a message was left on a cell phone,to call the office,this was to advise customer that part had to be ordered.due to our phone lines being down from monday till late Thursday morning.our answering service was retrieving all messages and passing them to office via cell phone.to my knowledge no return call was made by ms ****. when our lines were back on line our answering service sent me a copy of all messages. i myself double checked the report given to us.and did not find a return call,.it was explained to the person at the residence that they would have air cond,but the fan would run continuous,if that was bothersome they could turn the unit off by shutting off the thermostat. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have no missed calls or voicemails on 9/9/13 (my iPhone lets me keep all of my voicemails in a log). Neither does the other tenant of the apartment. I do however have a voicemail on 9/10/13 at 7:57pm from *** at Carl's. He was returning my call from the message I left the answering service on 9/10/13 because I was wondering when I was going to get a update on the repair. The voicemail said his name was ***, he doesn't do dispatch, only emergencies and he have someone call me in the morning letting me know when someone is coming out to work on our AC. I never got a call the next morning. I gave 24 hours for a return call,nothing. 9/12/13 is when we spoke to the landlord about finding another company to fix our air and filed a complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/27) */ DONT KNOW WHERE CONFUSION CAME IN AT,WE APOLOGIZE FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE.THE MOST IMPORTANT ISSUE IS THAT THE PROBLEM IS RESOLVED.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Carl's Heating & Air Conditioning Service, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart