Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brandon Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (330) 686-9828 Fax: (330) 686-9904 1337 Commerce Drive, Suite 8, Stow, OH 44224 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.brandonheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brandon Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Brandon Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brandon Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance

http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico
ic@com.state.oh.us
The number is HV 38304.

Business Management
Mr. John Walter, Owner Mrs. Pat Walter, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Walter, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
JNP Walter, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers Residential and Light Commercial HVAC sales and service.


Additional Locations

  • 1337 Commerce Drive, Suite 8

    Stow, OH 44224

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Added Charges to house call with no one responding to my inquiries of additional charges until months later. In February I had Brandon Heating come out to look at my furnace. Having a newborn preemie baby home from the NICU, money was tight. When I called to set up a house call I asked the receptionist as well as another employee how much I would be charged to find out the problem. Both told me it would be $70. A service man came out a day or so later, opened and looked at my furnace, and told me our problem. I offered to pay him the $70 that day but he refused which I found odd. My husband got a quote for the additional work that would need to be done ($750 to take out, clean, and put back in the heating coil). Because of the weather not cooperating we held off on the work. I then got a statement 2/26 for $166, NOT $70 that I was quoted multiple times. I called that same day and spoke with our serviceman. He said it was a deposit on the work that still needed to be done. To which I told him I wasnt paying it, since no one ever mentioned paying anything more than the $70 housecall fee. The serviceman said whomever I needed to talk to was out of the office but he would call me. No one ever did. I mailed out a check for the $70 as well as a letter reiterating that I wasn't paying more than what I was told I would be charged and figured that would be the end of the issue since no one ever took the time to call me back. STILL I got no response. They got my letter. They had no problem cashing my check. May 6, rolls around and I get ANOTHER bill. With a FINANCE charge of 1.44 on charges I was never told I would need to pay. I call AGAIN. and finally speak to ****. He tries turning the situation back on me. Which would have been a nice try if he was returning my call the first time I called, or calling after my letter and payment. He tried telling me it the $70 was for someone to drive to my house. since the other 96.00 was what it cost for the serviceman to open up my furnace door. No one ever said it was $70 to come out plus additional fees for someone to LOOK at my furnace. All along I was told it was $70 for someone to tell me what was wrong with it TOTAL. If they want people to continue to call them as their go to heating and cooling company theyve got it all wrong. They are the last people I will call to fix my furance or AC. If I cant trust them over $166 bill I sure wont trust them over a $750 job.

Desired Settlement: Take off the 97.44 Charges they are claiming I owe for future work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/14) */ Unfortunately Ms. ******* is mistaken. She was told at the time of the call that there would be a trip and diagnostic charge. During the service call we discovered she had a blocked coil. The cost for this call was $166. She was told this cost would be deducted from the coil repair costs IF she elected to have US complete the repair. She stated she would pay for the work after it was completed but she did not want the work to be done for several months after out diagnosis. In my last discussion Ms. ******* was very argumentative and because of that I informed her that I would write off the remaining charges to her even though we had provided the requested work. She has a zero balance at this time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I thank you for owning up to the error even if it's at the expense to make a customer sound crazy. I know what I asked, and what I heard given in response to the cost of the work, my husband was home and in the room when I made the call. Regardless, I'm glad to put the mess behind, and move on.

3/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Request to clean heater for $95 not done as "heater too old." Bought heater from another company so they billed me $70 to come out without service. I called BH&AC to have my heater cleaned at a price of $95. The person that came to my house called me (I was not at home) said my heater was too old and would need replaced. They provided me with affordable offers to replace it with a new one. I found a better deal with another company and called them back to see if they were willing to match the other company's offer. They said they would not and since I was not going to buy one from them they are billing me for the $70 service charge to come to my home. They said if I bought a heater rfom them they would put the $70 towards that cost. I told them that was the first I had heard of any service charge and would have had the service person clean my heater anyway for the extra $25, and I would also be going with the other company as their sales tactics seemed "shady" to me, which is exactly what I told him. They billed me anyway and sent my unpaid bill to collections, and it is now reporting to my credit report. I had called the company at least 3-4 times to speak with someone and consistantly left messages with the person at the front desk and the voicemail and no one returned any of my calls. My complaint is the legality of reporting a bill on my credit file for services I did not agree to, and for services that were not provided, especially when I was told about the $70 charge AFTER he left my house and because I would chose to buy a heater from another company.

Desired Settlement: I would like BH&AC to write a letter to all of the credit companies explaining their mistake, take my bill off of their books, and if there is any damage to my credit because of their mistake I would like them to pay me $1000 in damages that will incur when I try and get a loan, as they have no contract signed by me agreeing to pay $70 for services not rendered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/19) */ (BBB - Converted from original. See documents file.) In response to complaint ********, it is the policy of Brandon Heating & Air Conditioning, and has been, to charge a trip and diagnostic fee when a service tech is called to a job, In the event the furnace or air condition system needs to be replaced, that charge, if paid, is deducted from the job. In this ease we were called out for a clean & check or preventative maintenance call. Upon arrival our tech found that the carbon monoxide detector had been alerted and the furnace had been turned off. When we started the unit all burners were experiencing flame rollout causing an unsafe operating condition. We completed a combustion analysis on the unit and found it producing 300 to 500 part per million of carbon monoxide. We advised the customer that due to the unit age and condition we recommended that it be replaced. The customer was given a copy of the service ticket at the completion of the call. The same day our technician visited the home we sent our comfort consultant out to provide the customer with an estimate for replacement of the equipment. The client was told at that time that if he purchased a furnace from us we would not charge him the trip and diagnostic charge of $70.00. (He did not pay for the service when the technician had completed the service call). Along with the estimate we even offered the customer a reduced price and terms on the purchase to help him through the situation. According to our comfort consultant, the customer became very indigent when he was told again of the charge. As we normally do, we followed up with the customer after the proposal knowing that he did not have heat. We found out he had purchased a furnace from another company. In checking public records we also know that the unit was installed without the required building permits and therefor the required city inspections were not completed, The customer was sent many statements before the collection process was put into place. He never responding to our notices. As you can read in the attached documents, we provided him with much more than what a normal trip and diagnostic charge would cover. We feel this complaint is unfounded and should be dismissed. It is also apparent that this customer did not feel he had to pay for our services once he selected another company to replace his furnace. John Walter Owner Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It would be impossible for the company to have "given a copy of the service ticket at the completion of the call" since I was not present. I had a friend at the house because I could not get out of work at the time. In my complaint I said that I received a phone call about the service. There was no mention of the service charge whatsoever AT ANY TIME! If there was I would have told the tech to please clean as much as possible and I would pay the $95 that was agreed upon for the cleaning and maintenance. I was also not informed of this service fee before the appointment or I would have paid immediately if they said it was impossible to do the maintenance, and quite frankly would have been happy to pay $25 less if the other service was impossible to complete. Why would I not WANT to pay less? The first time I was advised was when I was on the phone with a sales person discussing purchasing a new one from another company and they said, "If you don't go with us we will charge you the $70 service fee for going to your house." As far as the statements I received are concerned, I did receive many statements. I also am not going to blindly pay for something that was done underhanded, whether it is the company's policy or not. If I am not told about everything ahead of time, therefore there is NOTHING signed from me agreeing to this, then I am not paying after the fact. So I called the company MULTIPLE times and never received a call back. This refusal to speak to someone personally and to just send to it to creditors cannot possibly be seen as a "good faith business effort" to reconcile a situation. It is, once again, an underhanded way of trying to get money from me rather than being honest in the first place.

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service we received was not done to our satisfaction. Upon calling to end our contract the owner becaem very defensive and challenging. Furnace 1 making a very loud noise. 11/08/13 service call revealed a noise blower, from faulty bearing. We were advised that the blower still had "life". Decided not to have repaired per instruction. 11/08/13 was also our semi-annual service. Furnace 2 thermostat to unit wiring harness was loose causing the unit to not work. Yet it was not detected during our service. 2 weeks went by without our furnace 1 being able to keep up, because furnace 2 wasn't working. Blower continues to make loud noises, and furnace 2 is now functioning due to tightening the screw harness. Done by owner of the home. When we called to have our contract cancelled, and speak to the owner, he became defensive toward owner. We simply are not happy with the service of the units, and wanted to cancel. We will find another contractor. The owner of the company has the right to defend his service people, but we also have the right to explain that the service was done poorly.

Desired Settlement: The owner of the heating and cooling company needs to pay more attention to customer service, service quality, and not treat the customers like they uneducated consumers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/04) */ In response to the above complaint I would respectfully disagree in that our technician, on his November 8th preventative maintenance visit, determined that one speed of the customer's blower motor was not functioning well. In addition, we found that the blower wheel was starting to become unbalanced causing the noise and vibration. We wired the blower to work on a lower speed allowing the customer to still use the unit but advised the customer that the unit should be used sparingly. We advised the customer that the wheel would need to be ordered from our ******* supplier. We typically have the motor in stock. We were told to go ahead with the order. Upon receiving the wheel we left a message that the parts were in from *******. Mrs. **** called to set the appointment for the install. According to our dispatcher she was very pleasant. Shortly after that we received a call from the homeowner stating that she would need to reschedule. Then shortly after that they called and said that they had decided to not have the repair made. The home owner called to speak with me to address their displeasure with our service. In that discussion I was told that our technician left a wire disconnected and that he told the home owner that we did not have to order the part, that we had it in stock, on the truck. If I became defensive it was most likely from this portion of the discussion. You see I've been in the HVAC industry for more than 40 years and I have never known of a company, mine included, that carries blower wheels on the service truck. I truly apologize if I became the least bit defensive with the customer but you see first off blower wheels very rarely fail. In addition, these heating units are 16 years old. ******* has made hundreds of different types of units in that 16 year period with many different blower wheels and vendors. It would be impossible for us the carry the blower wheel needed to properly repair the **** furnace as part of our truck stock. Regarding the wire being left off, our tech changed the wiring on the motor to work at a different speed giving the customer heat. The typical blower motor could have up to 4 unused wires for different blower speeds. An unused wire is common. Even though our obligation to the **** maintenance agreement had been fulfilled, meaning we completed two (2) preventive maintenance checks on the system, one in August after receiving the customers June renewal payment and one on November 8th, we are refunding half of the agreement cost. My hope that this will satisfy the customer and that they find satisfactory service from a ******* Factory Authorized dealer of their choice. We would gladly provide service tickets upon your request. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate the vendor returning unused funds. We did not ask, nor did we expect the return, so we are satisfied that we can both move on. However, to be helpful to the owner of the company, his information is wrong. It is important to understand the two issues at hand. First is the "main" furnace in question. The part that was faulty was a bearing in the blower motor. We have since had it repaired properly and the bearing was the reason for the loud noise. When Brandon heating and cooling serviced that furnace, for our semi-annual appointment he made the comment to my wife stating that it would be less expensive to repair now while the furnace is apart considering he had the part in his truck. Whether he was being truthful we won't know? But it is also important to know that we have 2 furnaces. One for the main floor and a second for the basement and second story. It was the second furnace upon the "semi-annual" appointment where the wire harness was not attached resulting in that furnace not functioning. We cannot do business with a company that upon review of the system leaves without the system working. Please understand the truth of the complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brandon Heating & Air Conditioning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)