BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/1983

Baumberger Heating and Cooling

Phone: (419) 589-6500Fax: (419) 589-6500View Additional Phone Numbers181 Illinois Ave S, MansfieldOH 44905-2825 Send email to Baumberger Heating and CoolingView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/1983

BBB has determined that Baumberger Heating and Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Baumberger Heating and Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Baumberger Heating and Cooling

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted Baumberger heating and cooling to install a new condensor unit at my home. After the install concluded I found a huge water leak.

With in 4 weeks of having a new condensor unit installed in my home. i started a renovation project. In the process of tearing up the carpet in my bedroom, I cam across a huge Water leak. I tracked the leak from the back of my wifes closet to the front of the water heater closet. this closet also contains the HVAC unit. I searched for hours to try to find where the water was coming from. it was not until I was right infront of the condensor drain tube(whyle I was tearing out my sub floor) that I found the problem. water was backing up from the drian pipe and overflowing the condensate reservoir.Gallons of water in minutes. Because of the tile and carpet floor it was not noticeable. I immeadiatly called baumberger.

They sent the installer the next day. He was suppose to bring the Sales person with him. the installer came in and started poring water down the drain. He then told me it was a Air gap problem and was going to put a cap on it. which he did. I called the sales person an asked him to come over. They talked with me standing in the distance as the installer told the sales person that he thought he put a cap on it and i must have removed it. not the case! the installer than went to the craw space to look at the "trap" for the first time. he told me he never went down and looked at it before because the allways "assume" everything is fine.

He said it was not the way he would do it and there were other things tied into it that had to be the problem. The sales person asked if they should put a larger line in because the new a/c unit was more efficent and would have do drain extra water. The installers response is "i would have to be down here all day running new pipe". he was quite certain that the cap he put on would fix the problem. He was incorrect. After that visit they sent there manager out to assess the damage. He asked alot of questions about what could be have happened. I told him the process how I found the water and where it was coming from. He did not offer alot of help. He told me that he might have to send their insurance agent out to look at my damage. As soon as he got back from vacation with the owner of Baumberger.

The manager asked me what i was looking have baumberger to cover. I told him i wanted my water problem fixed and my floor fixed. I was in the process of re-doing the floor in the bedroom, but not the bathroom and laundry room. He said he would talk to the owner and see if he wanted to handle it without insurance getting involved. A few days went buy with water backing up everyday. I had to Call them to see what was going to happen. I talked to the manager who told me they would like to offer me $350. I was not happy with that number.

I told him i was going to try to find the problem on my own and get back with him. I called multiple plumbers and asked there opinion. I called the manager and told him we have not pin pointed the problem but i would like to take the offer of $350 to help recoop the cost. He told me he didn't know if that offer still stood. He said he would talk to the owner and call me back. He never has!

I finally had my dad come to the house. I went in to the Craw space. I couldnt have been down there 10 seconds and he found a srcew thru the pvc coming from the drain. The 3/4 pvc went into 1/2" gavenized pipe that was not even attached to the main drain in the floor. Any water that could get out was running into the floor of the craw space. The gavenized was clogged, with only a small stream of water coming out. A run to ******* and $60 bucks in pvc and about 2 hours i had it fixed.

The question is was this my problem to fix and how could i spot it and there installer couldn't? I now am fixing my floor in the bathroom. All out of my pocket. I think there is some liability from baumberger. If the would have checked from the first Quote I would have paid and been done. no water! But they "Assumed" and left me with a mess and no return phone calls and concern for fixing the problem.

Desired Settlement
I would like to recoop the money and time i have lost. They offered me $350.00 for materials. As if my time is not worth anything. And the materials did not cover anything but the floor. What about the Pvc pipe and the Vanity in the bathroom that had water damage? I figure with materials and time It is $800 to $900 bucks worth of damage and labor. But I don't need the Money. I just want there poor service documented!

Business' Initial Response
8/16/2013

This letter is in reference to the BBB complaint filed under case number: ********

Baumberger Heating & Cooling, was approved to replace the condensing unit only, at Mr. ******s home. We did not add an evaporator or furnace, and did not do any work relating to the existing drain system. The direction given, was to do this job as inexpensively as possible, as Mr. ***** wanted to sell the home. Baumberger verified the unit was operational upon completion of the install, as we always do, and no issues were noted. This install was completed on 6/21/2013. The complaint of water was made on 7/25/2013, over a month later. Had there been a "huge" water leak from the condensing unit install, it would have been noted much sooner, especially with the extreme heat we were experiencing at the time. We did not have a reason, or a need, to go beneath the home and inspect the house drain system and this work was not part of our proposal. The unit was functioning properly at the completion of the installation on 6/21/2013.

Our initial attempts were to solve the issue and figure out where the leak was occurring. The spill-over from the pan was not from the AC, and we (Mr. *****, and I), both determined this to be the case when we still had a leak, even after Baumberger did all the things that were "assumed". Baumberger went under the home and inspected the drain system and informed Mr. ***** that it was not to code. Our suspicion is that the combination of the water softener, and the poor drain system, was the cause of the issue, and I personally advised Mr. ***** to contact a plumber and have them inspect the drain and make it to code. I didn*t understand how Mr. ***** could place blame on anyone in this situation, with the plumbing configured the way that it was. I also forwarded Mr. ***** pictures of the drain, via email, at his request, illustrating the configuration and advising him to have a professional plumber make a recommendation. His version of events, infer that we ignored him and never answered his inquiries. We spoke often and had detailed conversations through this entire process. I explained to Mr. ***** that Baumberger is not a plumbing company and could not give him factual plumbing information. I again advised Mr. ***** to consult a licensed plumber.

Baumberger*s initial offer of $350 was a "good faith" offer to cover the cost of materials. It was made at the initial visit when we made all of our "assumed" corrections. Mr. ***** and I, confirmed on that visit, that the unit was draining properly and agreed the AC was draining properly. He rejected the $350 because he felt it wasn*t sufficient and I informed him that I would have to take it back to ownership and Insurance may become involved. This was on Friday, July 26. Mr. ***** called me on Monday, July 29th, and indicated that the leak was still present. At that point, we both knew the AC was not the culprit and the issue was elsewhere. The issue then became a licensed plumber*s issue.

As stated, Baumberger advised Mr. ***** of this on at least three occasions. Mr. ***** mentions that the 3/4" PVC that went into the 1/2" galvanized was not attached to the main drain. If this was the case during our initial inspection, then there wouldn*t have been water in the home, it would have been in the crawl space. As indicated, Baumberger did not do anything to the existing evaporator coil, or drain system, and did not enter Mr. ******s crawl space during install; there wasn*t a need. We had only installed a condensing unit onto his existing furnace and coil. The unit was draining fine at the time of the install (June 21st.), as it was on July 26th, when we visited his home at his request. On July29th, Mr. ***** contacted me, and indicated he still had a water issue and that he was talking with plumbers and couldn*t understand where the water was coming from. July 31st, Mr. ***** asked if my offer of $350 was still valid. I indicated that we had corrected the "assumed" issues and seen that the drain wasn*t to code and that I didn*t feel Baumberger was at fault. He reported there was still standing water. I indicated that I would have to talk to ownership and for him to call back once I had made ownership aware of the situation (the following day). I am not aware of any return calls on this matter.

If I*m reading Mr. ******s complaint correctly, a licensed plumber was never contacted and a professional assessment never made on the drain system. Baumberger has no way to confirm or deny any of the claims being made. When we were in the crawl space, we took pictures of the drain system and did not note any separations, or screws. We were never in the crawl space until after the complaint was made. Mr. *****, it seems, did not involve a plumber, as advised. Baumberger Heating and Cooling has been in business since 1982.

We*re able to make this claim because we are fair and take care of our customers. We have maintained an A+ rating with The Better Business Bureau, each year. If we felt we were at fault, we would have corrected the problem! Baumberger should not be liable for anything that has been proven false, and should not be responsible for a drain system not to code and that was not part of our proposal. Our initial offer was made because we wanted to meet Mr. ***** in the middle of an issue that neither of us, at that time, knew the exact cause. It was not a low-ball offer intended to irritate. Once we were confident that the issue was drain related, not install related, I decided to rescind the offer and consult ownership. I have not heard anything more until this claim. I*ve attached a picture of the drain as reference. It was taken on the July 26 visit when Mr. ***** first requested our presence. This is the same picture forwarded to Mr. *****, via email.

Thank you,

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 04/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico

BBB records show a license number of HV HY PL 26494 for this company, issued by Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance. Their web address is http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1987, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Stanish (President)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Allied Restaurant Service of Ohio, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Baumberger Heating and Cooling

181 Illinois Ave S

Mansfield, OH 44905-2825

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 181 Illinois Ave S 

    Mansfield, OH 44905-2825(419) 589-6500
    Fax: (419) 589-6500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Baumberger Heating and Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 824-1444
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.