Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Al Farnam Maintenance, LLC

Phone: (419) 289-7236 Fax: (419) 289-9737 1738 Cottage Street, Ashland, OH 44805

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


We have served the Ashland area since 1985. We are a full service heating and air conditioning company including service and installation. We are fully licensed and insured. We are very professional and guarantee our work.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Al Farnam Maintenance, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Al Farnam Maintenance, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 04/01/1985 Business started locally: 04/01/1985 Business incorporated 11/07/2006 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
The number is HV 47889.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Al Farnam, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Al Farnam, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Dealers Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Plumbers

Refund and Exchange Policy
30 day guarantee on repairs and we honor manufacture's warranty's of equipment that we install.
Service Area
Ashland County
Products & Services

This company services and installs heating, cooling, electrical and plumbing systems.Honeywell standby generators, Armstrong heating and cooling and Bryant heating and cooling products.

Additional Locations

  • 1738 Cottage Street

    Ashland, OH 44805 (419) 289-7236


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came to fill boiler system and ended up changing pressure tank, fill valve, and bleeder without getting authorization. Told that to fill was $150.00. I called out and spoke to him about filling my boiler system. I also told him that when they came back the next time after this feeling I would look into having the system serviced. He stated that it would be around 2 hours of Labor about $150. His technician showed up and began to fill the system and I had to leave for work. When I returned to look at what they had done I noticed that they had to replace the pressure tank the filler valve and the bleeder valve. Me and the technician spoke about the bleeder having a slow drip but he thought he might have one in the van. I called Al and ask him about all the extra modifications he responded by telling me that he can come remove them all and leave the system without them. I asked that's the system be Returned to the original condition. I was later since a bill for approximately $535 plus tax. After speaking to Al again he told me he would readjust the bill, which he did by taking off one hour of Labor approximately $60

Desired Settlement: To pay the amount that was verbally told over the phone of $150.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/23) */ The customer wanted the heat working and it would not work properly without the parts that were replaced. The service techs advised the customer before he left that those parts were needed to make the system work properly and needed to be changed before filling and bleeding the system. The customer did not ask for a cost for the additional parts and did not tell us not to do the repairs. The estimate that I gave was for labor only to fill and bleed the system but it took longer to replace the other parts so there was additional labor. With out the new parts the system could not be filled and bled and there would not be any heat for the home. Customer did not call until several weeks later about the additional amount and said that he didn't authorize the parts and I told him that it wouldn't work without them and I would adjust the bill after I talked to the techs. I deducted an hour labor which was $65.00. Both service techs said that he was advised of the additional parts that was needed to get the system working properly. The $150.00 was a verbal estimate to fill and bleed only. The customer told me that he needed the heat working and that is what we did.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Al Farnam Maintenance, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)