Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Workman Glass Block

Phone: (419) 685-4180 View Additional Phone Numbers 418 W Main St, Ashland, OH 44805

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Workman Glass Block
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2010 Business started: 03/15/2010 Business started locally: 03/15/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Kerry Workman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kerry Workman, Owner
Business Category

Glass - Block Windows

Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows

Additional Locations


    418 W Main St

    Ashland, OH 44805


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for windows to be ordered and installed. Workman missed appointment, refund requested and the refund check bounced. 8/27/15 Workman Glass provided a written estimate and set an install date of 9/22/15. 50% down was required for windows to be ordered for a total of $562. I paid the $562.50 via credit card and received a receipt for the Polaris windows. On 9/22/15 Workman did not show for the appt. We called 5 times and left 3 voice mails on 9/22/15 with no response. On 9/24/15 I opened a dispute against the charge with my credit card company and then received a text from Kerry at Workman Glass. He stated the windows arrived in the wrong size and asked if I wanted to reschedule or get a refund. I requested a refund and received the check on 10/1/15. It was deposited into my account and bounced on 10/6/15.

Desired Settlement: I paid $562.50 in advance to cover the 50% down window ordering fee and want reimbursement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/11/02) */ We apologize to ******* ******* and her family for any inconvenience our mistake has caused. We have contacted our credit card processing company and requested that a full refund be sent to her. They informed us that a refund will be deposited into her account within 3-5 business days. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called my credit card company to verify if they received the credit on 11/11/15. This was 7 business days after Workman Glass claimed they issued the credit however the credit was still not received. At this time Workman Glass has continued to keep funds given to them by me for work they never performed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/11/16) */ We are not holding the customers funds, the credit card processing company withdrew the refund from our account in early October. We contacted our processing company and requested a full refund be given to the customer ASAP. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 19, 2015/11/30) */

6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They drove a heavy dump truck on our lawn without protecting the grass/turf. Truck sank in mud and tore up grass leaving deep grooves. On November 7 and 8, 2013, we had Workman Glass Block install an egress window and glass block windows in our house. There had been a lot of rain in the couple of weeks prior to the work. They drove their dump truck onto our front lawn and parked it to install the egress window. The truck wouldn't start after the work on Nov. 7th. As a result, it sat fully loaded with concrete block and dirt for more than a day on our rain soaked front yard. I took pictures of the truck wheels that were sitting 8-inches in the mud. When they finally did get the truck started around 5pm on Nov. 8th, I asked ************* about repairing our lawn. He gave me some grass seed (not enough to do the work) and said the ground would "bounce back" in the spring. I waited until April, but the grooves were quite noticeable and did not bounce back. We bought dirt (bagged topsoil) and filled the grooves and large hole around the egress window so that all of the ground was back to the same grade. Then, we spread grass seed so that new grass would grow. I paid Mr. ******* in full when the project was completed and trusted that what he said about the lawn was accurate.

Desired Settlement: We want Workman Glass Block to pay for the dirt/topsoil that we had to buy and grass seed. We purchased 62 bags of topsoil ($83.64), 1 bag of grass seed ($9.86) and the tax ($7.70). The total cost that we are asking to be reimbursed is $103.90.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */ We have mailed a reimbursement check of $103.90 to ***********. We apologize for any inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We received the payment for the check and are satisfied. I wish they would have mailed the check when I had requested it with a regular letter and photos, rather than filing the BBB complaint. However, I am glad that the process worked.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Workman Glass Block
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)