BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/21/2009

Bedrooms Today

Find a Location

(330) 784-8519View Additional Phone Numbers4974 Darrow Rd, StowOH 44224-1406 Send email to Bedrooms Today

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/21/2009

BBB has determined that Bedrooms Today meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bedrooms Today's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bedrooms Today

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/07/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had purchased a mattress from here that broke down and springs were coming through side. Would not replace even under warranty
Purchased this mattress around April of 2013. Has 3 year warranty. Company would not replace due to quarter size stain on fabric. The men showed up to deliver new mattress, called store, then stated they couldn't replace it. This mattress obviously has defective springs as they broke and were pushing out sides. The manufacturer is Englander.

Desired Settlement
I just want my mattress replaced

Final Consumer Response
Akron mattress has replaced our mattress as requested. We had to call the mattress manufacturer directly. Once we did and the manufacturer contacted Akron Mattress it was decided to replace ours according to the manufacturer warranty.

09/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The furniture I purchased was delivered damaged. I have been battling for my furniture to be replaced for over two months with no luck or explanation.
I purchased my furniture in June 2015. My furniture was delivered on July 11th with pieces missing and damage. The missing pieces were later delivered but the damaged items have yet to be replaced. I have called all three of the stores locations dozens of times and have spoken to countless salesman and managers with no other result then "we will call you back" or " your replacement goods will be in when they get in"(the words from the owner of the business). The owner is who I am told I need to speak to, yet I have left him dozens of messages with no return phone call. I believe I am being taken advantage of in this situation with no hope to have my cracked and damaged goods to be replaced. I let the store know that I spoke to my bank and I was told by them to report the charges as fraud and they still seem to not care. At this point I NEED my goods replaced ASAP or a full refund for the items. The store at this point can come pick up this poor quality furniture and I will move on to a more reliable store for my furniture needs.

Desired Settlement
I NEED my goods replaced ASAP or a full refund for the items. The store at this point can come pick up this poor quality furniture and I will move on to a more reliable store for my furniture needs.

Business Response
I SPOKE TO CUSTOMER ON 9/23/2015. THE PRODUCT HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED BY THE MANUFACTURER SO GAVE THE CUSTOMER THE CHOICE TO KEEP AS IS WITH A LARGE DISCOUNT OR RETURN FOR A FULL REFUND. HE CHOSE TO KEEP THE FURNITURE AS IS AND ACCEPTED THE DISCOUNT

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am happy with the response from the business and the resolution we agreed upon.

10/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First set of mattresses were defective. ****/manager was to send new set of mattresses. Only sent new box spring which is also defective.
I (****) saw a advertisement in Gold Clipper local store Bedrooms Today in Ravenna Oh.
Thought it would be a good idea to buy local. Bought a set of mattresses on 2/15/14, sales order #****, paid cash/$319.00, 1 set queen size, Newport/Pillow Top Mattress). Sold by ****.

Within a month mattresses starting squeaking and very noisy. Called spoke to **** about getting a replacement set. For several weeks I got the run around from ****.

**** told me that someone from Bedrooms Today would have to come out and check the mattresses. Then after a week **** told me that someone from the manufactuing come would have to come out and check the mattresses and **** did not know how long this would take.

**** stated that we would have to pay for someone to come out and check the mattress. I said "no way" am I paying for someone to check mattresses that **** knew and that I knew were defective.

I told **** that it was his responsiblity not the manufacturer responsibility that it was his responsibility because he sold us the mattresses.

After several conversations with **** he finally agreed to set up date to delivery a new mattresses. I took off the day off work and the mattresses were never delivered.

I made severals calls to **** and he stated that he would call me back. **** would not return my calls, I had to call ****.

After ~ 4 weeks of getting the run around and no return phone calls ****,I left work early to go to Bedrooms Today. I spoke with **** (manager), **** was not working that day. **** stated that he was unaware of the problems that we were having with our mattresses.

I explained to **** the coversations with **** the no return phone calls and the missed deliveries.

**** informed me that we probably had a defective box spring. When **** spoke with *******, **** stated that he was going to deliver a new set of mattresses. When the mattresses were delivered the delivery person stated that he was told only to deliver a new box spring.

Now here we are in October and the mattresses are worse than ever and we have had many sleepless nights. If you sit, lay down or roll over in bed the person in the next room can here you getting out of bed.

I believe that the mattresses that we brought from Bedroom Todays were defective and did not represent what they advertise in the Clipper and other local magazine.

I know that they are small locally owned (new) business but I think that their ad's and products are deceiving and do not represent good quality.

I'm not sure where they purchase their products from. We have concluded that the mattresses are very cheaply made and Bedrooms Today sells them at a cost that you think you are getting a good price. You would think that after the second box spring that there would not be a problem.

We have never had a problem like this regarding mattresses.

We have had many sleepless nights are very disappointed with the mattresses that we received from Bedrooms Today.

P.S. There customer service is not that great either.

Desired Settlement
All we are asking is to be compensated with a set of non squeaking mattress set (period).

This has been a complete nightmare for us!!!!

Business Response

I HAVE CONTACTED MR ******* PERSONALLY ON OCTOBER 22ND AND WE HAVE AGREED TO REPLACE THE MATTRESS SET

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

******* and I would like to thank you (BBB) and **** for helping us with resolving the problem that we had with our mattresses from Bedrooms Today in Twinsburgh OH.

**** contacted us on Oct. 22nd. ******* and I went to the store (Bedrooms Today) on Sunday, Oct 25th and met with ****. We explained to Mr. ******* that we did not want to cause any problems but we were not happy with our mattresses. **** was very nice, helpful and attentive to our needs. He let us choose from 4 different sets of mattresses.

Our mattresses were delivered on Tuesday, Oct. 28th in a timely fashion. We are very happy and have had 3 nights of much needed restful sleep.

Thanks again to you (BBB) and to **** at Bedrooms Today. :)


07/13/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My mattress which has a 25 yr warranty started falling apart 4 mo. after purchasing it and they refuse to replace it.
Englander Gel Foam Hybrid Mattress purchased 9/8 for 800.63. The salesman explained it had a 25 year warranty. The mattress is falling apart and they are refusing to replace it because there are stains on the mattress which is normal wear and tear. They never said the mattress needed to say in new condition for 25 years in order for the warranty to be effective.

Desired Settlement
Refund or Replacement

Business Response
All mattress manufacturers void structural warranty if the mattress shows visible soiling or staining. This is no different than any other type of product purchased in a store, if it is soiled or stained it can not be returned.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your company has an ethical and professional obligation to disclose warranty requirements at point of sale not after A consumer files a warranty claim. I purchased a mattress with the expectation of having it for 25 years as you stated was the manufaturer guarantee. Had I been made aware of the expectation of the "like new mattress" stipulation with the warranty I would have purchased a mattress cover. The mattress isn't in poor condition ... It's what you would expect for a now 10 month old mattress. To withhold those requirements is deceptive and unfair. Please make this right.

06/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold broken bed, was repeatedly promised it will be fixed or replaced but nearly a year later they have not resolved the problem.
A year ago we purchased a bed from Jim at the ********* store. The bed was a display model and had a broken frame but Jim repeatedly assured is that he was a master woodworker and he would fix it before delivery. Upon delivery we discovered it was not fixed. We made over a dozen calls to the store to arrange a time when Jim could come out to see the bed. He stood is up three times claiming he couldn't find the house. In the past year I have called over 20 times but still no fix or replacement. All I'm told is that a new bed is on order - is been a year! Terrible experience.

Desired Settlement
I would like a new bed to replace the broken one.

Business Response
the bed was sold as a floor model due to the fact it was discontinued. we agreed to order a different bed a long time ago to replace the damaged one and as of 6/16/2015 the bed is still not available to ship. we have no other beds like this available and would offer a refund to return the bed

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 19th I purchased a Bedroom Set from Bedrooms Today. At the time we were told it would take 2-3 weeks for delivery. On June 6th the furniture was delivered, two of the five pieces were damaged. We refused the Night Stand and were told the dresser drawer that was damaged could be repaired and someone would call me.

On June 9th I left a message but did not hear back from them. After that, I called multiple times and still no call back. Finally on June 16th I received a message from them. I called back and spoke with the Mgr. Told him that I would call on Wednesday, June 18th to set up the repair and delivery because we were out of town.

On June 18th I called and left a message but did not hear back. On June 19th I called again and was able to speak to the Manager. He advised me that they would delivery the furniture on Friday and repair the drawer the same time. On June 20th when they delivered the replacement Night Stand we were told by the delivery men they had no intention of fixing the drawer. The deliver men do not fix furniture only deliver. There is another individual that fixes the furniture and he didn't feel like coming out that day.

I called and spoke with the manager and he acted as if he didn't already know this. I voiced my concerns and advised him this was a huge inconvenience. We had scheduled time off of work to get this taken care of and they did not resolve the issue. He stated he had to talk to the owner and would call me back. It is now 4 days later and I still have yet to receive a phone call. We spent of $2,660.00 on this furniture and cannot even get a phone call back from the Owner or Manager. This service is totally unacceptable. The multiple lies they told us throughout our communication with them is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement
I want either a repair or replacement of the dresser. Also, I want to advise other consumers of the negative experience I had with this business.

Business Response
A new dresser has been ordered and estimated arrival date from the manufacturer is mid July. Upon receiving the dresser it will be inspected to be sure it is perfect and we will notify the customer to schedule a convenient day and time to do the exchange.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/06/2008Business started: 08/01/2008
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard A. Bennett (President)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
RABJRB, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bedrooms Today

4974 Darrow Rd

Stow, OH 44224-1406

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 2748 S Arlington Rd 

    Akron, OH 44312-4742(330) 245-1001

  • 4974 Darrow Rd 

    Stow, OH 44224-1406(330) 784-8519

  • 10414 Ravenna Rd 

    Twinsburg, OH 44087-1750(330) 405-8774

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bedrooms Today is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 653-3338
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.