Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Restoration Services of Akron, Inc.

Phone: (330) 630-3910 239 West Avenue, Tallmadge, OH 44278 http://www.restorxnortheastohio.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Restoration Services of Akron, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Restoration Services of Akron, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Restoration Services of Akron, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 07/01/1992 Business started locally: 07/01/1992 Business incorporated 06/25/1992 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ralph Barnette, General Manager Mr. Sean Bowers, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ralph Barnette, General Manager
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Carpet & Rug Cleaners Duct Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
RESTORX of Northeast Ohio
Products & Services

This company offers RESTORATION AND DISASTER CLEANUP.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed $146.78 for a service I was told would be free of charge. I called restorex on 2/22/14 to see how much they charge to come look at a basement leak. The lady, ***** at the office, told me it would be free. They were to come within 1 hour and said that the employee, ***** was out on a call. When he finished there he would stop by my house. About 2 hours went by and still not *****. Then he called and I told him if he was going to be much longer I would have to reschedule. I also repeated what ***** told me and verified with him that there would be no charge for him to come look at where the water had leaked. I told him we did not have an emergency. They finally got to the house and stayed for about fifteen minutes. Took a quick look and said there was very little damage. They were not sure where it came from and said to keep an eye on our gutters. ***** brought ***** with him when he came. They left. We got a bill in the mail for $146.78 about three days later. I called the office several times and asked for a manager. I kept getting a lady named ***** or no answer at all. Finally , *** , called me and tried to explain to me that they had to charge something. I told him I asked them if there would be a fee or charges for them to come look and they both told me no. I never got any type of written estimate or anything, just a bill.

Desired Settlement: I want the bill resolved / cancelled. I should not have to pay anything.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/04/03) */ This is in response to the referenced case number. I have read the complaint from Mrs. *****. I also have met with *****, ***** and *** in relation to the events of 2/2/14. Each employee advised me they did not advise Mrs. ***** that they would not charge for a trip to look at the water loss. This is our policy when somebody is wanting us to visit them during a weekend or after hours. We have to pay our employees overtime rates for these services. The regret is that I was not available to return her phone call because I was on medical leave. To show good faith, I will reduce our invoice to $45.00 plus tax$3.04 and a total of $48.04. I regret the misunderstanding.that occurred.We take pride in providing quality services to our customers at all times. Best Regards, ***************** General Manager Restoration Services of Akron, Inc. Dba Restorx of NE Ohio Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2014/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do not feel I should have to pay anything. I will accept the offer in order not to have to spend anymore of my valuable time fighting the decision.Therefore, I will agree to the reduced payment above of 48.04.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Restoration Services of Akron, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)