Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

NBD International, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 296-0221 Fax: (330) 296-0292 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Romito St. Unit E, Ravenna, OH 44266 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.nbdint.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that NBD International, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for NBD International, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on NBD International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 04/01/1993 Business started locally: 04/01/1993 Business incorporated 04/30/1993 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michaeline Bodi, Treasurer Mr. John W. Schwartz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michaeline Bodi, Treasurer
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Cleaning Services Building Restoration & Preservation Contractor - Remodel & Repair Fire & Flood Emergency Service Insured Property Replacement Service Property Maintenance Home Repair & Maintenance Lead Abatement Computers - Disaster Recovery Computers - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
DKI of Northeastern Ohio
Products & Services

This company offers replacement, evaluation, cleaning, & repair of electronic media and hardware.


Additional Locations

  • 100 Romito St. Unit E

    Ravenna, OH 44266

  • P O Box 1003

    Ravenna, OH 44266

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NBD put a mechanics lien against me without contacting me by phone first to collect payment On July 25th, 2014 I contracted NBD International for remediation services on my basement as referred by my insurance agent. At that time, my insurance agent notified me that my coverage limit was $5,000.00 We asked the remediation company to not go over the $5,000.00 limit. On October 22, 2014 I received a certified letter addressed incorrectly. My local post office scratched out the address and corrected it. The letter contained my invoice in the amount of $6,010.38. Over $1,000.00 more than the amount I asked them to stay within. Also, the letter indicated that "NBD has filed a mechanics lien to secure payment for work completed." The company had my address incorrect and therefore I never received a bill. Also, they never tried to contact me by phone to collect payment before filing the lien. Their invoice indicates they have my correct contact number.

Desired Settlement: I am prepared to pay $5,000.00 when I have a notarized "full and unconditional waiver of lien."

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/04) */ On July 24, 2014, NBD International was contacted by ******** ******** asking to schedule an appointment regarding a claim that she needed to file. An NBD representative called her back and found that her septic system had leached into the home. A team from NBD was sent to the home of ******** ******** on July 25th to assess the damages. Upon arrival our team walked the loss site and determined this to be a "large" loss that would involve drying and removing of structural materials. The water that entered the home is considered Category 3 which requires removal of flooring, drywall, baseboards and cabinets in all affected rooms. Mr. ******** was presented with a Work Authorization form to read and sign, which he did sign. As stated in our Work Authorization NBD may exercise lien right to secure payment. The Work Authorization also states that all invoices would be mailed to the address noted unless otherwise directed by customer. A copy of this form is attached. A conversation was had between Mrs. ******** and an NBD representative indicating that The ********'s would like to keep the costs around $5000. However, Mrs. ******** did acknowledge that with all the extra work Mr. ******** was having NBD do the costs would likely be over the $5000. In an effort to keep the costs lower NBD pulled the drying equipment early (before all moisture readings indicated that the area was dry) at the request of the homeowner. NBD completed the work on July 27th and proceeded to submit an invoice to the ********'s on July 31, 2014. NBD was notified on July 27th that the insurance company had denied the claim and the ********'s would be paying for the services themselves. The mailed invoice was not returned to NBD as undeliverable by the United States Postal Service and NBD had no contact with Mr. or Mrs. ******** stating that they had not received any information on charges for NBD services. NBD took the only reasonable action that we have to collect the balance due. NBD will rightfully release the Mechanic's Lien on the property of Mr. and Mrs. ******** once payment is received in full. NBD cannot do so until that time as the lien is the only reasonable recourse we have to collect our fees. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A conversation was had by Mr ******** and an NBD specialist about keeping the price at or under $5,000 as Mrs ******** was not present when NBD and the insurance adjuster were at ********************************************. Mrs ******** never acknowledged nor discussed invoicing as she was not home at the time the work authorization was signed. NBD was not notified on July 27th that the claim would be denied. They were notified on July 25th BEFORE the work authorization was even signed as that is when the insurance adjuster was there. Again, Mrs. ******** was not present for any of these discussions. The fact that NBD made the decision to pull the equipment early, acknowledges that they indeed were aware that the costs needed to be kept at or under $5,000.00. I feel very strongly that NBD did not make a reasonable effort to collect this debt before placing a lien against me. A lien is not a reasonable means of collecting a debt, especially a debt that was never contested. It is extreme and bad business. One phone call or e-mail is a reasonable means for collecting a debt. This unnecessary lien has damaging effects on my credit record as well as forces me to spend time and money on an attorney to make sure the lien is removed. After reading other complaints reported to the better business bureau, it seems NBD chooses to place liens first. I will never use or recommend this company again. I am also making sure my insurance company is aware of NBD's bad business practices.

10/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 07/10/2013 we had water damage to our basement. Our insurance agent sent out N.B. d. to take care of water damage. Over charged us for services. On 7/10/2013 at around 23:00 we returned to our house with water ankle deep in our basement. Our electricity went out at around 15:00 on 7/10/2013. I went down in the basement at around 17:00 on this date and check and see if there was any water in our basement at this time there was not any water. I left the house until around 23:00. Upon returning to the house our electricity was still out and we have a battery back-up for our sump pump but there was an issue with our sump pump. I had to wiggle the electrical wire to get it to work. Our power returned at around 13:00 on 7/11/2013. When N.B.D. International came there was no standing water for them to clean up. This complaint is for the invoice that they sent us concerning the work that they did in our basement. They over charged us for the set up and take down of equipment, and monitoring of equipment. They only spent an hour setting up and taking down the equipment. They charged us for twelve and a half hours. The water extraction and remediation technician. They used our shop-vac and only spent an hour. They dumped the water from the shop-vac into our sump pump hole and it had carpet backing in it. The equipment tripped our electrical box causing our sump pump not to work and we almost had flooding in our basement again. We were monitoring there equipment for them obviously. Content manipulation charge us for four hours but only spent two hours removing contains. ***** the supervisor went and got plastic bags from the dollar store that costs $7.50 for forty and they are charging us $123.00.They also charged us $364 for a dumpster load of Approx 12 yards, 1-3 tons of debris. We did not ever see a dumpster here. The garbage was out in our yard for four days we received complaints from our neighbors about the garbage because it was attracting flies. We sent them texts re guarding the garbage. We sent them a letter concerning the invoice and our concerns with them double charging us and over charging us. They sent us a new invoice with the amount of 2,975 dollars that is only $394.94 off of bill. The paper also stated that we had 15 days to pay the bill from the date of the invoice which was 8/09/2013. At this time we had not even received the check from the insurance company to pay for the services. We sent them an Email asking for an expiation of where they came up with the $394.94 amount as a deduction. When the cost of the dumpster that was never at our house was $364.30. that we wanted an itemized bill with the new amount of bill. The next response we got was an Email Provided emergency services on July 11,2013. Jack Shwartz stated that they offered us a quick payment of $369.47. Which was the amount they took off the bill this was a false statement.He said that if we did not pay the $3,369.47 amount by Aug. 26th 2013 a Mechanics' lean would be put on our house. We received the Check Aug. 23 2013 . The check was made out to us and our Mortgage Company ***** *****. We took the check to our Attorney with the Email stating about the mechanic's Lein. Our Attorney *** ******* sent the check via Certified mail.We had to wait for the check to be endorsed by ***** *****. We Just got the check back Sat.Sept.14 2013 deposited into our account. which will take three to four days to process. We tried to contact NBD by phone left several messages of which none were returned. I sent them Emails telling them that we had not received the funds. We received certified mail with the Affidavit for Mechanics' lean on our property at ************************************************* I also asked for a copy of the work authorization -emergency services. On it on there is no dollar amount to which we agreed to pay . I called ***** and asked her what the Charge would be. She said $5000.00 .I said no forget it we could not pay that much we would do the work our self.***** came back with an amount of $2800. then when we received the bill it was $3,369.47.We are very unhappy the service .

Desired Settlement: We would like to have them bill us correctly, and not for a dumpster that was never at our house. They removed the trash after four days with a van/truck. The setup and take down fees . the equipment monitoring , was them sending us text asking how it was going. so for the most part we did it. except for the day a guy came for 20 min. checked the moister level and left. We caught when it tripped our circuit,and the sump hole.The water was to the top. and their were carpet backing pieces in it from where they had dumped the water they sucked up from where the wet carpet had been removed.Of which they use our shop vac. but charged us for their equipment. We would like to reach an agreeable amount for services that were actually done. We feel when we sent them the email listing our concerns and what we didn't agree with or understand were they came up with the amount. They got angry and placed a Merchants lien on our house. I called and Emailed them that we had not received the funds to even be able to pay them. by no fault of ours. ***** is such good friends with the agent at ***** insurance she could of confirmed it. We would be willing to pay. $2000

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/10/21) */ History: NBD provided Emergency Services resulting from heavy rains and water in the basement of Ms. *******'s residence. The heavy rains occurred on July 10th, 2013, and NBD inspected the property and obtained Mrs. *******'s signature on the Emergency Services Work Authorization on July 11th. Emergency services work began the morning of Friday, July 12th, after a verbal estimate of $2,800.00 was provided to Mrs. *******. Set up, monitoring and removal of drying equipment (including after business hours), water extraction, treatment with antimicrobial agent, manipulation of content, inventory, photographs and valuing of destroyed content, and bagging, removal and disposal of destroyed content. Debris was bagged and removed from the house to the yard for inspection by the insurance adjuster. On Monday, July 15th, NBD was back on site to remove debris from yard after the adjuster had a chance to view the items earlier that day. Equipment was also pulled as drying was complete. Payment: NBD provided a verbal estimate using the insurance industry rate structure and where possible provided efficiency discounts to keep the costs of providing Emergency Services more affordable. I am very sure Mrs. ******* submitted and was paid for the NBD invoice. Unfortunately, now that the work has been completed she is choosing to not remit to NBD the money she received from her insurance company. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/10/24) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on NBD International, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)