Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J Russell Construction, Inc.

Phone: (330) 633-6462 Fax: (330) 633-3124 180 Southwest Avenue, Tallmadge, OH 44278

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J Russell Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on J Russell Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 05/12/2001 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Wilson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Wilson, President
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Contractors - General Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows

Alternate Business Names
Russell J. Construction
Products & Services

Fire loss, ice, Insurance restoration, remodels and general repairs., Vehicle damage, water mitigation, wind and storm damage.

Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows Roofing Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J Russell Construction, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 180 Southwest Avenue

    Tallmadge, OH 44278 (330) 633-6462


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We changed contractors for an insurance claim and they tried to charge us for work that wasn't done and wasn't finished on the insurance claim. They agreed on what work was done and gave an itemized list on 2/11/2015, that came to around $700. Then the following Monday (2/16/2015) They sent us a bill saying we owed $7000. We had an insurance agent come out to check it, and the agent said that J. Russell was charging us for stuff they hadn't done and that another company had done. Such as cleaning carpets, cleaning house (when another company did cleaning), replacing a toilet that was never replaced, and other charges we were told they can't collect.

Desired Settlement: Not to be charged for work that wasn't done!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/25) */ J Russell Construction wrote an estimate for damages at the ************** residence at ******************************. The estimate was sent to ************** at ********** Insurance. J Russell was asked to separate the estimates so that was done and resent to **************. The revised estimate totaled $7193.44 for the work actually performed. The balance of the repairs not performed yet totaled $19,957.39. No bills were sent to the homeowner. The insurance company provided the homeowner with the estimates. No contract was signed for the work requesting a down payment and no money has been received to date for the ******* job. There are currently $7023.53 worth of actual cost on this job. A work authorization was signed by ***** ******* on 1-8-2015 for the work we did perform.

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: never received and email or return phone call of promised estimate. three attempts on my part to get ahole of them, no returned calls or email. i had j. russell come out to look at my roof to see what was wrong with it and why it leaks. they showed -up, went up onto the roof and told me that there was a broken board that needed fixed and a lot of nails that are holding the shingles in place have worked themselves up and needed to be hammered back down. mr. ********** d=said he would be back in touch with me with an estimate to do this work. i know it is not a big job but i'm older and cannot climb about my roof. after waiting a week i folowed up with an email. in total i sent three emails with zero response. my wofe called once but it must have been after hours. i'm not positive but i think she left a voice mail. why can i not get anyone to respond? it's a simple and quick job. or is that the problem and they do not want to bother with a small job? ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: i just want to be get a response. yay or nay i don't care. i just want to know if they will do this job and if not, why not?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/18) */ Homeowner was contacted by Mr ********** on September 18 2014 regarding the work and estimate. A message was left on his answering machine. J Russell Construction is sending the homeowner a proposal for the work to be done. If Mr. ******* would like the work done, he can sign the proposal and return it to J Russell Construction along with his down payment and his roof repair will be put on our schedule to be repaired. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) they will do the work as stated from home visit and for a decent price. i just hated to go about getting answer this way. but, it should all workout now. thank you BBB

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on J Russell Construction, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart