BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/2001

Olivo Excavating Company

Phone: (330) 666-7127Fax: (330) 666-71273378 North Martadale Dr., AkronOH 44333 Send email to Olivo Excavating Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/2001

BBB has determined that Olivo Excavating Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Olivo Excavating Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Olivo Excavating Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

**** gave me a verbal quote of $2500 move plants, cut a swale, grade & put plants back. Nearly all plants were killed & the job was not done properly.

The job was to scoop up plants, move dirt to redirect water away from the house and then replace the same plants intact. During the job dirt was retrieved from an area not previously discussed and added to the space where dirt was to be graded. All plants that were dug out by ****'s machines were severely damaged causing several thousand dollars in damage. I found a few pushed over the back hill into the woods --**** never mentioned this to me.

After the job was "completed" the first time I called **** to let him know I was not satisfied and sent images. He sent his son who did more digging but actually made the grading problem worse and dug into my neighbors property -which I had very clearly advised against from the beginning.

I do acknowledge that some drain pipe was installed to my satisfaction. The problem is the sloppy digging for the drain pipe uprooted a large Birch tree and killed it.

Desired Settlement
I spoke with **** asking for a refund to an angry response that he "doesn't buy trees". I am seeking a full refund of $2500 minus the cost of materials for some pipe that was installed. The condition of my yard is far worse now than before Olivo Excavating Co was hired.

Business Response
I gave Mr. ******* a verbal quote to grade and cut swale in front yard. The first thing I told him that the trees must go. They were too low in grade . Mr. ******* also needed to build up grade against house. However he did not want to listen to my 23 year of excavating advice. Mr. ******* will probably send me a letter when he get water in his basement. I am an excavator not landscaper or tree mover. I offered to help Mr. ******* dig out trees with machine just to help I as I have done may time in the past for many customers. But I do not guarantee life of scrubs or tree. Moreover I charged $2,500.00 for two machine to grade. Downspout pipe work was included, no labor cost only material ($200.00) . I do not Know what he is talk about sloppy digging. Excavating is not usually the final product. A landscaper usually follows behind my or any other excavator work. Mr. ******* was referred to me by the ******** family. Maybe he should contact them to find a landscaper who followed me for there work.

I have always tried to do the right thing in my business. I know that you can not always please the customer 100 percent. Mr. ******* is a Know it all. I will not give him a penny for his trees or shrubs. If The BBB is not satisfied with my response they can cancel membership. Thank you **************************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied with this response and will continue to pursue a fair resolution. The damage done to my property by Olivo Excavating far exceeds the $2500 in question. **** was highly recommended as a good family man and a fair guy. As a result of this I made the mistake of writing a check on the spot rather than taking the time to inspect the work. The health of the plants was implied from the beginning. After I raised a question of the damage **** stated he probably wasn't the right person for this type of job and if he could do it over again he should have turned down the work. I understand **** is running a business and would be willing to accept a lesser amount that allows him to cover his costs on this job. To make a profit from a job where significant damage was done to a customer's property does not seem reasonable. If **** is unwilling to "meet in the middle" I would like input from the BBB on how to escalate our dispute so we can come to a fair resolution.

Consumer Response
I'm sure you can tell from the response we received that this may not be an easy process. Are there resources at the BBB who can help to settle a dispute like this? I'd hate for ****'s reputation to be damaged by burning a bridge with the BBB but I cannot afford to walk away from a job that was done so poorly for such a high price.

Thanks in advance for your guidance.


Business Response
BBB received voicemail from business. After case review, Mr. ***** sent a check for $500 to the consumer. He hopes it will help satisfy the consumer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Excavating Contractors, Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 06590 for this company.

Type: unknown

Business Category

Excavating Contractors, Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Olivo Excavating Company

3378 North Martadale Dr.

Akron, OH 44333

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3378 North Martadale Dr. 

    Akron, OH 44333(330) 666-7127
    Fax: (330) 666-7127

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Olivo Excavating Company is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Excavating Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.