Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mark Grucella DDS & James D. George DDS

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 733-7911 Fax: (330) 376-5214 View Additional Phone Numbers 620 Ridgewood Crossing Dr  Ste K, Akron, OH 44333 http://GGDentist.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mark Grucella DDS & James D. George DDS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mark Grucella DDS & James D. George DDS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mark Grucella DDS & James D. George DDS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 06/22/1963 Business started locally: 06/22/1963 Business incorporated 09/28/1979 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High St Fl 18, Columbus OH 43215
dental.board@den.state.oh.us
The number is 30.012228.

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High St Fl 18, Columbus OH 43215
dental.board@den.state.oh.us
The number is 30.020854.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. James D. George, President & CEO Dr. Mark S. Grucella, Vice President Shareholder Mr. Paul Steigerwald, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. James D. George, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Steigerwald, Business Manager
Business Category

Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Dr. George & Grucella James D. George DDS & Mark Grucella DDS
Products & Services

This company offers This dental practice does general dentistry & prosthetics.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mark Grucella DDS & James D. George DDS has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1500 Canton Rd.

    Akron, OH 44312 (800) 366-4313

  • 620 Ridgewood Crossing Dr
    Ste K

    Akron, OH 44333 (330) 733-7911

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: son had all teeth removed and has false teeth with partials on bottom. partials on bottom broke and when asked to replace was told this will cost a total of 855.00 to upgrade in work that was done in march and april of 2015. 5000.00 was already paid. work should of been warranted and not charged extra. dentures were not good quality. Product_Or_Service: dentures

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair i want dentures fixed right and not charged extra for it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/15) */ Regarding patient ***** ******,referenced as son by the father, ***** ******, this is what was already conveyed to patient ***** ****** on 12/11/2015.The Doctor has graciously offered to fabricate a new cast metal framework partial lower denture at the cost of $330.00. ***** ******, the patient, authorized to follow up with reline at a fee of $330.00. The warranty expired on Ocotber 23, 2015 but Doctor wishes to help out patient. The broken clasp on the partial can either be repaired at no cost or remake the partial at the reline fee of $330.00.

4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told my insurance was going to cover a cleaning procedure. It did not i am not being sent to the credit bureau. I went in for a cleaning, the hygienist and Dentist both told me i should have a deep cleaning and that my insurance was going to cover it completely. Collections then called me and told me i was responsible for the price of the cleaning and that i am the one who should know what my insurance should cover, and it isnt up to their office to know that. They were very rude to me on the phone and told me they would be sending me to the ***** credit agency. Between the time they told me my insurance would cover it completely and when they started the cleaning was about 5 minutes, not enough time for anyone to research whether their insurance company would pay for it or not. I also believe going into a situation like this you put trust in professionals who are handling the health aspect (the Doctors and hygienist) but also the people handling the billing. When i asked if i could speak to a supervisor i was told he was on vacation and by the time he got my message my account would have been sent to the credit reporting agency.

Desired Settlement: Simply for them to dismiss the few hundred dollar charge they told me would be taken care of by my insurer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/20) */ Patient was seen and diagnosed with periodontal disease. Correct course of treatment is a deep scale cleaning per quadrant of the oral cavity to stop the progression that leads to gum recession, bones loss, and tooth loss. Patient's insurance company was contacted and treatment plan prepared and presented. Patient's insurance companay verified 100% complete coverage for deep scale treatment under "Preventative". Patient was treated on July 17, 2014 and 21, 2014. Upon submittal of the claim to the insurance company, the insurance company downgraded coverage due to no significant bone loss. Insurance coverage was downgraded to 60% and our office prepared to appeal this matter by sumbitted a narrative on September 10, 2014 in the patient's best interest to the insurance company. "Patient ******* was seen in our office on 7/17/2014 for exam, xrays, and cleaning. Upon examination, patinet presented with heavy generalized subginival and supragingival calculus and heavy stain. Patient also had generalized bleeding upon probing and probing depths ranging from 4-5 mm. Tissues had generalized inflammation and were crythemountous with loss of perodontal attachment. Upon review of xrays, slight and angulated bone loss were present with noticeable calculus deposits. At he time it was diagnosed, the patient had early stages of active periodontal disease. It was recomended to the patient that in order to stabilize the periodontal disease, root planning and scaling should be preformed." All treatment plans are noted that the treatment are an ESTIMATES of insurance coverage. Any balance remaining as a result of an insurance company not paying becomes the sole responsibility of the patient. Unfortunately, the insurance company did not alter their decision to the subscriber's best interest leaving a balance owed of $212.00. Patient was notified of the balance owed on 3 occassions but no payment or effort was made to satisfy the balance by the patient. Patient was contacted explaining Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was contacted by the office in order to work out a payment plan, because according to them They value my patronage and would like to keep it. However, I am asking a dentist office that has multiple locations cover a $212 cost. I was sent information by the office explaining why I must cover the $212 in it they supplied a copy of what i signed saying it was an estimate where it states "Please understand that this is an ESTIMATE. While we try to anticipate all treatment that will be required, there are cases where the extent of a dental problem cannot be fully understood until treatment has begun. Unforeseen changes in treatment can result in additional cost. We will inform you of any changes. The insurance estimate shown is an ESTIMATE only. Actual payment is dependent upon specific plan." Where i do understand it states payment is dependent on the plan, it is almost ridiculous to expect ANYONE to understand fully what their insurance would cover. Also in that estimate statement it makes it seem you will be responsible for any unforeseen treatment due to the problem being worse than what was anticipated, and additional treatment is needed. What happened in my case was the treatment was in fact not needed and therefore not covered. The hygienist thought i may need a deep cleaning, and the doctor agreed after stating it was not as bad as the hygienist had initially said. I am not in the dental profession to understand what is in need of this deep cleaning and what isnt, so I put my trust in what these professionals are telling me. Because of this and the part of the Estimate statement that makes it seem treatment in addition to what was discussed will result in extra costs i am asking that the $212 be covered by the dental office. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/07) */ To change dental coding to comply with an insurance company's decision on benefits, is not only unethical but also asking a Doctor to change a correct diagnosis. This issue is between the subscriber and their insurance company where such a complaint should be properly filed, pursued, and hopefully resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mark Grucella DDS & James D. George DDS
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart