Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Alpha Dental

Phone: (419) 289-1505 Fax: (419) 289-1578 1445 Claremont Avenue, Ashland, OH 44805 http://www.alphadental.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alpha Dental include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alpha Dental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 23, 2012 Business started: 12/01/2008 Business started locally: 12/01/2008 Business incorporated 05/26/2010 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High St Fl 18, Columbus OH 43215
dental.board@den.state.oh.us
The number is 30.023003.

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High St Fl 18, Columbus OH 43215
dental.board@den.state.oh.us
The number is 30.023324.

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High St Fl 18, Columbus OH 43215
dental.board@den.state.oh.us
The number is 30.023061.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Michelle Brown Dr. Elisabeth M. Lee
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michelle Brown
Business Category

Dentists


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1445 Claremont Avenue

    Ashland, OH 44805 (419) 289-1505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid 70$ for sedation and they were unable to start the iv so I had to reschedule and they wouldn't give my money back today. I paid 70$ to have my teeth removed under sedation and because they were unable to start the iv today I was told I had to reschedule and the dentist and dental assistant said I could get my cash back since they were unable to follow through with my procedure. The ladies at the front desk said they already deposited my money in there bank and I will have to wait 10 business days to receive a check in the mail. This is wrong because I handed them 70$ cash and an hour later they couldn't and wouldn't give my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my cash money back today. I got poked 7 times from them trying to start an iv and since it didn't work I had to reschedule and I didn't get my money back, that makes no sense at all...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/05/02) */ Here at Alpha Dental, we strive to provide the best healthcare possible. Since this is not a cookie-cutter profession, different patients with different anatomies would mean limitations of the care we would be able to provide. In the case of ******* *******, we had her scheduled for IV Sedated Oral Surgery. Our sedation Doctor tried to start an IV on the patient a few times, but her veins were simply too difficult at several different sites that we tried. Some common reasons why IVs are not able to be started are: patient is on hemodialysis, they have small veins, or they are cancer patients, IV drug abusers, or anyone with a chronic illness that "used up" all their good veins. Sometimes, patient's veins are simply too trombosed or weakened. Or the visible ones are simply too small. Firstly, the $70 the patient paid is typically non-refundable. This is because the Doctor's time is scheduled very tightly and there are many people on the waiting list. Since this is an instance where we were unable to start the IV on the patient, we authorized for a refund. There is no fault on either party in this case. We have a policy at our office where once the cash drawer reaches a certain amount of cash, the front desk is instructed to quickly deposit the cash at the bank. This is both for security and safety issues. As a small private healthcare provider, we do not have a safe where we can keep large amount of cash. In the case of Ms. *******, the cash that she paid was deposited because the drawer met the threshold, thus, we had no other option but to issue a check out to her through our regular accounting process which would take 10 business days to reach their house (dependent on USPS). The patient became irate at our answer and began to dramatically raise her voice and make a scene at our reception. She was given a letter promising the refund. At no point did we say that she would not be receiving a refund. On an updated note, the refund request has reached our accounting department and I have been notified that it has been processed. We will be following up with the patient to make sure she receives the check.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alpha Dental
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)