Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Residential & Commercial Renovations, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 815-1476 7686 South Cleveland Massillon Road, Clinton, OH 44216 http://www.lets-renovate.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Residential & Commercial Renovations, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Residential & Commercial Renovations, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Residential & Commercial Renovations, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2004 Business started: 04/01/1984 Business started locally: 04/01/1984 Business incorporated 08/19/2009 in OH
Business Management
Mr. Chet E Hayes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chet E Hayes, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Patio & Deck Builders Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Doors Windows

Alternate Business Names
Residential & Commercial Roofing
Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows Roofing Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Residential & Commercial Renovations, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7686 South Cleveland Massillon Road

    Clinton, OH 44216 (330) 815-1476

  • P.O. Box 276

    Clinton, OH 44216

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor was to be completed by June 26, the completed work is less than half, has not been on site since mid june. Has not communicated with me Contractor was hired for a 203k streamline loan project he was slow starting but managed to complete about 40% of the work. He stopped communicating directly to me any will only communicate with third party bank inspectior who alleges the contractor a I have had a falling out, this I know nothing of. I was happy with they quality of his work just not with some of the damages caused during the process and not with his sporadic schedule. The project is four months past the Contract date and he hasn't had anyone on site since mid June. He has made requests for special considerations to the bank inspector which I agreed to with minor stipulations one being a commitment on a completion date I have heard nothing nor has any progress on my house has been made.

Desired Settlement: Complete my job by mid October

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/11/11) */ Received from the business via email: Mr. D*****, Thank you for your phone conversation and for allowing us the opportunity to respond to Mr. R***'s complaint. Residential and Commercial Renovations, Inc. was the second company to work on Mr. R***'s property. His initial contractor refused to continue with the project and we were asked to step in. This is a 203K regular contract as opposed to a "streamline" as Mr. R*** stated. The major portion of our work consisted of completely removing, re-engineering, and installing the new roof in a different orientation. We were required to submit drawings to the building department for approval; Mr. R*** drew up the drawings, which were incorrect. Any delays were caused by the drawings, approval process, delivery of the trusses and weather. The new roof was built and the work approved by HUD and the building department. During this time we also performed other work as defined on the HUD contract such as electrical, plumbing, heating, basement structure and foundation repairs Mr. R*** kept adding work to be done, such as building stairs, which we did but was not part of the HUD approved 203K contract. On a regular basis, Mr. R*** berated our laborers as well as me. While I tried to work with Vince, he was belligerent. We were working on his property consistently until he turned my dry wallers away and told them he was going to "buy a gun and shoot me." We pride ourselves on our professionalism and high quality of workmanship. I will not allow my crews to work on any site that may be unsafe and/or hazardous. We work closely with the HUD inspector as well as the bank and continue to maintain an excellent working relationship. Should you have any questions please feel free to contact me at (330) 815-1476. Regards, Chet H**** Residential and Commercial Renovations, Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. D*****, Mr. H**** has several completely wrong and has embellished in many cases in his response. First off the First contractor on the job did not refuse to continue working with me I fired him for several reasons including showing up on site and asking to borrow my tools because he didn't bring any but that situation doesn't have any bearing on my complaint with Mr. H****. Mr. H**** and I had a contract based on the Work write up completed by the Professional Property inspector LLC. As required by the 203K Streamline loan to me by Fifth Third Bank, Yes it is in fact a Streamline loan. On our first meeting after accepting the contract and work as written Mr. H**** asked me to meet him at a bar to discuss the project and after verbally going through each area in the scope of work with him he said "Well we will see but I don't think I can get you much more than a roof on your house for this figure" I said well if that is the case you should back out now and he said No I like you you're a family man like I am I'll get this done just work with me on some areas. The Drawings I provided were done by me but reviewed and stamped by a structural engineer, so when he said his truss company was having a problem he asked me to call Bob and Carter lumber who told me at the time the issue was not with the drawing but with Mr. H****. Bob stated Mr. H**** was unsure on how to address two specific areas in the framing and wanted to only order part of the trusses and install them first but also the was not a formal order placed because Mr. H**** was lacking a deposit. As for the drawings submitted and on file with the building department they are still the original stamped prints I provided and the truss cut sheets from the first contractor's plans. Mr. H**** states that I kept adding work such the stairs this is an embellishment. The stairs were in fact on the plans since before I closed on the purchase of the property he failed to read the plans in many instances this became apparent when he started asking for change orders on these items. Furthermore The only change I requested was too add three windows on the second floor which I asked for a price for and he did not provide so I ended up installing them myself. I felt this was the best wat to proceed since when I asked for a price to re-shingle the garage roof he told me $900 did the work and said I owed him $1900 which I paid the following day. Also Mr. H**** told me they had to replace 7 sheets of sheathing on that garage roof but the roof is exposed from the inside and only 1 1/2 sheets were in fact replaced. Also concerning extra work I covered all the carpeting that was to be saved, with 40 mil thick plastic and Mr. H**** not only removed the plastic he removed the carpeting and left it in an area exposed to the elements where it was ruined. Also during the of the drywall of the house which me and my family completed I asked if he wanted me to pull back the wiring that was in the way for the roof removal he said he would have his crew handle it well did, they cut the wiring with reciprocating saws forcing the whole house to be re-wired. I never berated any of Mr. H**** "Employees", they were all sub-contractors anyway. But I did regularly get told off by them because Mr. H**** had them working on a Saturday or Sunday which I had no say so in. Mr. H**** would typically only work on my project on the weekends. I have one incident where Mr. H****' crew cut a tree that did not need to be cut and they cut it poorly I called Mr. H**** and told him about my issue and he said to "Let the guys have it "when they got back from lunch. This incident with the dry wallers, who brought no drywall to the job, has completely been twisted. This happened in September after no work had been done on my since June 29th and I told them they could Dry wall since the contract clearly stated no drywall to be installed until the mold remediation was completed and provided an clean clearance test. They were upset and started getting mouthy with me and I told them to Call Mr. H**** who I tried to call twice prior that day and I told them that them showing up on my property a Saturday afternoon and 3 pm and demanding to perform work that was not eligible to be performed was them holding a gun to my head. However these juveniles spun it to Mr. H**** was beyond my control, and Mr. H**** choosing to act like a child and not call me, accept my calls and them get a lawyer is and was completely un-necessary. Mr. H**** was in over his head and looking for any reason to abandon my project and while most of the work performed was of a higher quality his professionalism with dealing with the situation and people involved was at the level of a toddler. Including having someone from his ring of people come to my house enter using the lock box key and removing several boxes on electrical material including all the switches, outlets, and light fixtures they removed to install the new electrical the cause the need for. For which a police report was made. The contractor they had who started the electrical never applied with the county for a permit or local license this should show you the type of people he works with. Lastly, I tried to work with Mr. H**** and provided a lot of give and very little take, I gave Mr. H**** a very expensive Glue-lam beam, that was removed from the old structure, so he could resell it and use on a different job. His employee Nick took a large of copper that was flashing on the old skylights for his own personal gain. Regardless of all this he mediation process with the bank to try to get him to complete the job he agreed to complete I agreed to every one of his childish demands including not being present at my own property and not communicating directly to him but rather through a third party. The facts that Mr. H**** keeps a paid membership with the BBB and the delay in the responses give me very little hope that the BBB would properly down grade Mr. H**** rating and prevent people in the future from being screwed by him. Sincerely, Vincent J R******

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor sliding door install 18 months ago. Contacted the owner Chet and were told that wasn't his problem. We contracted this company through a rehab loan on a foreclosed property and had them install a 9 ft sliding door. There clearly was water damage to the frame and sub floor when they came out to quote the job and we were told by Ryan G*****, the salesman, it would all be replaced . They had a couple of guys come out to do the install in November of 2013, who told us the install was done properly they replaced any framework that needed to be but they weren't responsible for the hole in the sub floor next to the door. This didnt thrill us but ok we would fix it. I asked specifically about the warranty and was told the install had a lifetime warranty. Now may of 2015 we are replacing our kitchen floor and go to rip out the sub floor near the door and can see it was clearly installed on a rotten frame, not very safe or very good business practice. We contacted the owner Chet H****, who first claimed there is no warranty, who then said well its been over 2 years so it's not covered, who then told us he would come out to take care of it. To which he said text him our address etc and he would come out within a week to look it over. That week passed we contacted him yet again and he refuses to even come look at the install and told us to contact an attorney because he's not responsible for a poor install job. We paid over $3500 for the door and install in November 2013, thru our rehab loan, paid in draws through ****************************. We were never given the actual name of the install company or any paperwork on the door itself even after asking for it.

Desired Settlement: I want the door to be taken out, the frame replaced like we were told it was and the door reinstalled properly. If they don't wish to correct the error then I would like a full refund so that I can hire someone else to do the job correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/06/29) */ BBB received phone call from business owner. The business stated that the work was HUD related. The work only had a 1 year warranty (203k mortgage loan). The 203K is very specific in the details, everything has to be in writing. The salesman states that he never said there was a lifetime warranty. The business feels that this issue should have been brought to their attention immediately. As it was not, they are not responsible for any repair work. Nowhere in their contract does it state that any woodwork would be done. Additionally, the 203K has a section on flooring and will not pay the contractor if the work is not done correctly. There was both a HUD inspection and bank inspection done. Both authorized payment to contractor.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Residential & Commercial Renovations, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart