Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (330) 915-4959 Fax: (330) 915-4959 3900 Pearl Rd, Medina, OH 44256

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that HomeWerks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on HomeWerks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 2011 Business started: 09/13/2010 Business started locally: 09/13/2010 Business incorporated 09/13/2010 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Daniel E. Fister, General Manager & Partner Mr. James Brown, Partner Daniel E. Fister, General Manager & Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel E. Fister, General Manager & Partner
Business Category

Contractors - General Foundation Repair & House Leveling Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing Fire & Water Damage Restoration Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Building Restoration & Preservation

Industry Tips
Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 3900 Pearl Rd

    Medina, OH 44256 (330) 915-4959


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with this company to replace missing shingles on my roof in June 2013- shingles are still missing, I have further interior damage. This company assured me that the contract was valid as long as they could obtain a new roof from my insurance company. As of this date my shingles are still missing, the insurance company has no intention of replacing my roof. A structural engineer came out and evaluated the damages which were only partly due to weather. In the meantime further interior water damage has occurred. I called JCI several times especially in teh late fall of last year- concerned that the shingles weren't being replaced before winter. They assured me then and then again on several occasions thereafter that they working on it/ trying to contact the insurance company and convince them that I needed a new roof. Finally in late July of 2014 I told them I no longer wanted their services and requested an itemized bill for monies they had spent to repair ceilings that were water damaged. I had to make at least 5 phone calls before I finally got the invoice. They had spent 900 dollars to repair the ceiling which is unbelievable to me, and 900 dollars for phone calls etc. So in essence I still owed them money for work they didn't perform and additionally they threatened to sue me for breech of contract. This is not a company I would ever recommend to anyone. Just as aside note *********** - who works with them hounded me on several occasions left his card in my from and back door and followed me in my driveway before I signed the contract or even talked about replacing the shingles. I guess that should have been my BIG clue right there.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the money that wasn't spent on fixing the roof and detailed invoice for 900 dollars of ceiling repair. I would also like to know what kind of phone calls were made for 900 some dollars. My insurance check that I signed over to them did not include phone calls just repairs that were partially done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/30) */ To Whom It May Concern: 1. ***************** contracted us to replace her roof through the insurance process. 2. We have a letter from *** stating that her shingle color was discontinued in 2002 and there is NO current match that should be mixed on the same roof plane. Therefore, we continue the process of showing the insurance company why they must replace her entire roof. 3. Since there was no response from the insurance company after sending them a copy of the *** letter, we continue to work for our customer until the insurance company agrees to pay for the entire roof to be replaced. 4. We spent 34 hours on this job trying to get her roof replaced and typically we do not charge the customer for as long as it takes until it ends in the right result for the customer. ***** has not allowed us to do so. 5. The insurance company admitted to her having wind damage, but since they since they ignore the reason for replacing it, we continue to work for our customer until they get the result they deserve. In this case, ***** deserved a new roof. Respectfully, Management Team JCI Restoration, LLC. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1.If the company states that 34 hours was spent trying to replace my roof, I would like to know where exactly that time was allotted (making phone calls, writing letters, etc.). 2.This situation regarding my roof has been going on for a year. While 34 hours spent trying to replace my roof might seem like a lot of time, when broken down, it really comes to less than 3 hrs a month for an entire year spent trying to replace my roof. 3.The company assured me that they would be able to convince my insurance company that a new roof was needed due to the outdated shingles but they have not been able to do so. 4.Over the course of the year, I have had to contact **** several times to get an update on my roof and was repeatedly assured that they were working on it. As far as I can discern they were spinning their wheels because after a year the only thing they have to show for it is a letter that the shingle color of my roof is no longer being manufactured. I have never seen the letter. When I asked for it I was told I could not have it because they spent their personal time on getting that information.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on HomeWerks
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)