This business is not BBB accredited.

Bell Construction

Additional Locations

Phone: (330) 472-3353 Fax: (330) 634-9287 672 Eastwood Ave, Tallmadge, OH 44278 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bell Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2009 Business started: 05/01/2007 Business started locally: 05/01/2007
Business Management
Mr. Joshoua Bell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joshoua Bell, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Improvements Patio & Deck Builders Cabinets

Products & Services

This company offers

Additional Locations


    5138 State Route 43

    Kent, OH 44240


    672 Eastwood Ave

    Tallmadge, OH 44278


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bell Construction received the advance $5000 for a contract work at my house in 2014. After the advance they send me the letter stating that I am in queue and the work is scheduled in August of 2015. I had made several calls for the status of the work but there is no response now. I had talked with the representative who was taking the orders at that time in Chester Springs area but he also gave me very poor response stating that he don't control the work he just take the orders. Today I have gave a call to the main office but there is no live person just answering machine. This company is a fraud company. I am going to file the complain in the local jurisdiction to ban this type of company doing any business in this area. I have also notified my Insurance company so that they can stop more fraud from Bell Construction to other customers like me.

Desired Settlement: My advance $5000 back.

Business Response: I am currently working with the customer to resolve this issue. This file was lost in transition during some company changes. 

6/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
7/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hail Damage work is incomplete since October 2014 also workmanship Warranty paperwork as promised got never delivered after repeated reminders Mr. Clinton M****** of Bell construction started on on our insurance claim for hail damage back in ?October 2014, although the roof was complete the other work like window screens, and patio door screen are still not replaced, also deck lighting which was a part of insurance claim is still not fixed. Moreover, at the time of roof repair there were some issues and installation procedures were not followed so at that time Tom Q*** and Clinton promised to provide 20 year Labor free workmanship warranty which i never received, in fact i have not received any warranty paperwork at all. after repetitive calls to Clinton calls and text messages are not returned and last time i got him on the call was because i called him from unknown number he promised to call back again and i am still waiting.

Desired Settlement: I need bell construction to complete the work immediately and give me the paper work for workmanship warranty as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/07/09) */ In response to the BBB complaint. Bell Construction made several attempts to come to a resolution with the homeowner but was cursed out and ran off of the property. If Bell Construction felt that their was a real problem with the installation of the roof we would have fixed the install problems instead of offer a 20 yr workmanship warranty. however, due to some unreasonable issues, we were forced to agree with unreasonable demands. NO COMPANY OFFER 20 YEAR WARRANTY. Bell Construction does a lot of work across North Eastern United States and we stand behind out work 100% We will always continue to work with homeowner to come to a resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2015/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from Bell Consrtruction in nothing but a lie. The so called resolution offered to me by Mr. Joshua B*** was to withdraw my BBB complain before any resolution can be discussed. As far as 20 yr workmanship warranty is concerned that was not my idea and in fact it was offered to me by Tom C**** of Bell construction. What i wanted at the time was to rip off and redo the roof. but after only tom C**** and Clinton M****** persuaded, that i agreed to go with 20 year workmanship warranty. so in truth the 20 year warranty was not something i wanted. If Mr B*** think they would rather rip off the Roof and redo, i am more than happy. Moreover, Mr. Joshua has not responded to emails sent to him at all.

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bell construction roofed my house . The awning they roofed leaked next to 2nd story bedroom wall. It rotted 1 roof rafter under the awning. It also rotted the end of the beam that holds the 2nd story bedroom. Product_Or_Service: roofing Account_Number: ************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Fix the beam, replace the roof rafter, and stop the leak.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/07) */ Please review our response and documentation regarding this complaint. This customer's complaint is unfounded and should not be posted in our BBB file, be held against us, or affect our rating. We value and take pride in taking care of our customers. You will see by the documentation provided, that we responded professionally, in a timely manner, and researched the issue for all details. The issue was not brought to our attention until years after the work was performed, and was outside the scope of work and contract we were hired for. Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/03/24) */ II never received a written responce from Bell Construction. I was not happy with the phone conversation as It was their responsibility to correct the problem that occured from a place they left unsealed and not shingled. I own the house and hired Bell Construction to do a job that resulted in structual damage. How much time I spend in the house has nothing to do with it. The fact is they are not going to fix the problem. You would think a professional roofing of your home would be warrantied longer than two years. It isn't professional to treat a customer for an $8000 job in this manner but they got paid and i got took. This has really been a costly unpleasant deal for me. As a handicapped person I really feel taken advantage of. sincerely, **********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bell Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)