BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/2009

Bell Construction

Phone: (877) 980-2355Fax: (330) 634-9287View Additional Phone Numbers672 Eastwood Ave, TallmadgeOH 44278-3139 Send email to Bell Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/2009

BBB has determined that Bell Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bell Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bell Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Money is owed. **** claims they did work outside the original agreement. I claim they did not meet the terms of the agreement.

Original agreement states clearly, **** will supply all materials and labor. The only re-used material listed is the aluminum siding. The agreement states they will install Windows (plural) and doors, (none were needed). The agreement states new gutters and leaf guards will be installed on the rear section of the house. The agreement states the electrical work will only consist of removing wiring back to the boxes.
The agreement was to put new roof on the entire house after the two rooms and the side porch were removed. There was no part of the house not to receive a new roof.

**** charges me an additional $575.00 for the front porch roof and electrical boxes. I protested this charge face to face with ****** ****. He agreed it was in error and said, " I will have it removed so it doesn't go to collection", quote. He shook my hand on it. Now **** says the $575.00 is for additional leaf guards, a window and wiring.
My position is this: **** did not fullfill the terms of the agreement. I was charges for two new windows and received one. I was charged for new gutters and they reused the old ones. The "wiring" they refer to was simply cutting the old porch light wires and putting them in a box and switch receptacle. This was spelled out in the original agreement, it is not additional work.There are no additional leaf guards except for a couple cylindrical screens used in the downspot. These are about 3 bucks at Lowe's.
It takes several phone calls and /or emails to get any kind of response from ****. Whenever I do contact someone I usually hear, "this is the first I heard of it". I'm really getting tired of that. I paid $28,120.00 for the work. **** fell short in completeing the job as specified. **** is trying to charge me for what the call addition work. Nothing could be farther from the truth. They owe me , I figure about $200.00 reimbursement for one new window and new gutters I was charged for but did nor receive. In addition, I have asked at least three time for a simple letterhead statement to ********* insurance stating they have completed the work so I can get my insurance money. I have much, much more work to do on this house, ****** **** told me I was a good customer and would like to quote on the ather jobs to do. How **** handles this complaint will determine that.
Regards,

Desired Settlement
$200.00 refund for stated shortcomings in materials and a letter to Westfield Ins. so I can receive my money. Remove the bogus $575.00 charge for "additional work".

Business Response

After speaking to homeowner, I was notified that there was error in some of the things that were said to the homeowner. We at Bell Construction will accept responsibility for the error in communication and deeply apologize for any inconvenience that it has caused. We have agreed to come to a desired resolution and look forward to working with the homeowner in the near future.

Final Consumer Response

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bell construction roofed my house . The awning they roofed leaked next to 2nd story bedroom wall. It rotted 1 roof rafter under the awning. It also rotted the end of the beam that holds the 2nd story bedroom.
Product_Or_Service: roofing
Account_Number: ************

Desired Settlement
Fix the beam, replace the roof rafter, and stop the leak.

Business Response
Please review our response and documentation regarding this complaint. This customer's complaint is unfounded and should not be posted in our BBB file, be held against us, or affect our rating. We value and take pride in taking care of our customers. You will see by the documentation provided, that we responded professionally, in a timely manner, and researched the issue for all details. The issue was not brought to our attention until years after the work was performed, and was outside the scope of work and contract we were hired for.



Consumer Response
II never received a written responce from Bell Construction. I was not happy with the phone conversation as It was their responsibility to correct the problem that occured from a place they left unsealed and not shingled. I own the house and hired Bell Construction to do a job that resulted in structual damage. How much time I spend in the house has nothing to do with it. The fact is they are not going to fix the problem. You would think a professional roofing of your home would be warrantied longer than two years. It isn't professional to treat a customer for an $8000 job in this manner but they got paid and i got took. This has really been a costly unpleasant deal for me. As a handicapped person I really feel taken advantage of.

sincerely,
**********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Home Improvements, Patio & Deck Builders, Cabinets

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/13/2009Business started: 05/01/2007
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremie Bell (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Joshua Bell (Owner)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Home Improvements, Patio & Deck Builders, Cabinets

Products & Services

This company offers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bell Construction

672 Eastwood Ave

Tallmadge, OH 44278-3139

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 672 Eastwood Ave 

    Tallmadge, OH 44278-3139

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bell Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 697-7779
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.