BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/1996

Unified Construction Systems, Ltd.

Phone: (330) 773-7377Fax: (330) 724-4706View Additional Phone Numbers1920 South Main St., AkronOH 44301 Send email to Unified Construction Systems, Ltd.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/1996

BBB has determined that Unified Construction Systems, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Unified Construction Systems, Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Unified Construction Systems, Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unified construction insulated my home. sent by ********************** warm choice programs . while insulating my attic they cracked my ceiling.
I contacted ********************** about damage to ceiling told unified would handle it several complaints no on contacted me I had neighbor try to repair now finally someone called said they won't fix .

Desired Settlement
repair of damage done to my ceiling

Business Response
We did work for ****** ***** but we did not hear anything about any problems with our work which was completed on 6/25/15 until 7/31/15 at this time we called the customer and she said we cracked a ceiling (that we insulated) but she had it repaired before we knew of any issues and the repair was not satisfactory for her. Unified (because damaged area was worked on by someone) didn't see it before it was repaired (everything was fine when we finished work) so we do not believe it is our issue and how can we be responsible for something that we supposedly damaged that we never had a chance to look at before another company/person repaired it? Talking directly about the home owners claim that see tried to reach us nobody here (at Unified) heard anything about this concern until 7/31/15 and she received a call from us the next business day 8/3/15 to discuss the issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called ********************** right after work was completed. they said someone would be out to check the job. I had an appt. w/ ************ and no one showed up. I called them again ,they gave me a new appt. when ************ person showed up he documented the crack. the company should come to my home and see damage themselves instead of passing the buck.

Final Business Response
Unified Construction cannot be responsible for something that we did not see before the homeowner had attempted to repair supposed damage, because homeowner could not wait until ********************** (company Unified was contracted with) came out and seen ceiling and she took action (then wasn't happy with repair)how can we be responsible, we were never given opportunity to see ceiling before it was repaired nothing was visible or a problem when we completed the project, now after someone else screwed it up she wants us to repair it,this isn't the way to place blame after the fact. We completed this work on 6/25/15 started project 6/22/15 (at this time our crew lead introduces himself with a paper with our company name and office number on it and gives to the homeowner for their records) why didn't homeowner call us, we never heard anything from her, ************ informed us on 7/31/15 and told us someone had already attempted repair and performed a poor job. Homeowner should have the person who preformed repaired take care of their problem.

07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After attempting to repair a crack in our basement wall, the wall still leaks. Several areas of our hardwood floor, walls and carpet were damaged.
We hired United Waterproofing Systems to seal a crack in our basement wall. Upon completion of the job, the crack still leaked. We contacted the company and they stated that a supervisor (Galen) would come out and look at it "when they had a chance". My wife and I had a trip to the west coast scheduled for the next day so we agreed to touch base with them when we returned home.
Upon returning home, we noticed several spots of epoxy on our hardwood floor between the entrance to the basement and the garage door. Following the trail of epoxy drips down the basement stairs to the finished portion of the basement, we found nearly 100 drips of cured epoxy on the walls and carpet leading to the repair site. Needless to say, we were not happy with finding our brand new carpet damaged in this manner. We notified the company of the damage to the house but were brushed off and told it was not their problem.
We finally convinced them to come back out and at least make an attempt to fix the still leaking wall. When they arrived, we also showed them the damage to the carpet and the walls. Upon inspection, the Supervisor declared that the epoxy could not be from them as it was blue in color and they used a translucent product with a brown hue. This observation ignores two critical facts. First that it was dripped onto blue carpet, giving it a blue appearance. Second, the drips on the painted wall are brown in color, just as he described. My wife even had the repair technician drip some on carpet and hardwood samples and the resulting spots appear identical to the damage to the actual flooring.
In the end, the company has refused to discuss repair or replacement of the damaged property that they have caused.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of damaged carpet in finished basement

Business Response
Someone had worked on the cracked wall before we were called to the home, we did inject the cracked wall again for the homeowner and have been back 4 times to inject this area again to try and solve the water issue, on one of our trips out the H.O. told us of a material spot on floor, we showed our material (color doesn't match that of material on floor) we suggested that the first person to work on the area may have done this as our material is transported carefully in and out of the home in plastic bags and wrapped tightly. Unified has questioned all persons (2)that worked at this site and has determined it is not our issue. We feel due to the material that was first applied (not by us) this may be the issue with water leakage? The customer is irritated due to multiple trips to site (paid COD for work and now is blaming us for damages someone else did),Unified's intention wasn't to bill for extra trips (and hasn't) just try to be part of the solution. Unified has gone above and beyond for this customer

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are several "facts" in dispute in this situation. The response by Unified ignores all objective evidence that has been presented and substitutes a weak attempt at deflection of the issue.
The attempted blaming of a previous attempt to fix the wall in causing the problem ignores the facts and substitutes the word of the worker that obviously caused the damage by his negligence.
The facts:
1. The previous attempts to fix the wall were performed prior to painting the walls and the installation of the carpet. Logically, this would make it impossible for that epoxy to have been dripped on the carpet and the wall. This fact seems to be overly complicated for the Unified representatives to understand but unless they have invented a time machine, it is not possible that the damage occurred in the way they suggest.
2. The unified representatives seem to rely on the color of the epoxy not matching as their primary defense. This color argument again ignores all physical evidence to the contrary of their position. The epoxy on the walls is brown in color matching the epoxy sample provided by the workman during the second repair attempt. Additionally, the workman dripped samples of the epoxy on a carpet remnant and hardwood samples. Given the blue color of the carpet, the semi-opaque epoxy has a bluish appearance on the carpet sample. This exactly matches the appearance on the basement carpet spots. No amount of hand waving by Unified changes the fact that the sample spots and the basement damage are in fact the same material. This is also true of the hardwood damage caused by the company.
3. Suggesting that it is normal to use a plastic bag to transport the material in no way provides evidence that the workman followed procedure during this work. In fact, there are several facts pointing to the lack of procedure following during this entire job. To use what the workman is supposed to do as a defense is laughable given the quality of the workmanship and the unprofessionalism demonstrated by the organization to date.
4. In the end we contracted with the organization to fix the crack in the wall, to suggest that the second attempt was done as a courtesy to us is ridiculous. The other two visits were to inspect the damage caused by Unified, and seemingly to attempt to find excuses to avoid taking responsibility for their incompetence. To suggest that this was done as a favor to us and "Unified's intention wasn't to bill for extra trips (and hasn't) just try to be part of the solution" is laughable given that we still have a leaking wall and a damaged basement. We would have been much better off having never allowed these "professionals" into our home.


Final Business Response
We have had the highest standings with the Better Business Bureau. Our track record speaks for itself.
Customer told our technician, while on site, that this area had been worked on by other company/individuals before us. Per the homeowner the product used before we worked there was a Hilti brand which is a blue product that is the same color that damaged homeowners property. We do not use that particular product.
Our people say that this is not our material that damaged property and the customer says that it is. There would have to be proof that it is our material before resolution.
In regards to the water problem:
This was worked on before we got there. It hindered our product from being successful to stopping leak. The exterior of this wall is not accessible. (i.e. siding, steps etc.) We have shown good faith and been there numerous times to try to help customer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractor - Insulation, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Waterproofing Contractors

Additional Information

top

Unified Construction Systems, LTD is the parent company for United Waterproofing, AmeriSeal & Restoration, LLC and Unified Comfort Systems.

The information in this BBB Business Review only includes background, any licensing and other information known to BBB for Unified Construction Systems, LTD.

BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 07/02/1992
Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Terry Arny (Office Manager)Mr. Robert F Cailor (CEO)Mr. Bobby Moyers (COO)
Business Category

Contractor - Insulation, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Waterproofing Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers waterproofing, weatherization, foam installation, masonry restoration and sealants.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Unified Construction Systems, Ltd.

1920 South Main St.

Akron, OH 44301

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1920 South Main St. 

    Akron, OH 44301(330) 773-7377
    (888) 379-7733
    Fax: (330) 724-4706

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Unified Construction Systems, Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 379-7733
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractor - Insulation

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.