BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Alexander Construction Co.

(330) 867-6640View Additional Phone NumbersP.O. Box 5323, FairlawnOH 44334

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Alexander Construction Co. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Alexander Construction Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alexander Construction Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Substandard and incomplete construction work
The job was started in the beginning of March with promised end date of June. The job is still in progress. A approximately two week delay was caused by Mr. ******* lack of due- diligence with New Franklin zoning laws. Additional delays were caused by the weather but work that could
Have been completed despite the weather was not done.

While some have the work has been satisfactorily completed some of the work is substandard or has yet to be completed. The following items have not been completed or need corrected
1.The step behind the new garage has not been poured..
2.The flashing on the roof on the new garage has been done improperly and needs corrected.
3.The existing garage floor he poured has cracks. He has promised to correct it and has not. His first attempt actually made the cracks worse in appearance. The second attempt just masked part of the problem by covering the cracks with and additional layer of epoxy.
4.Gutter and downspouts have not been installed
5.The joists used in the garage are substandard and visibly damaged

After having numerous conversations with Mr. ******* I thought we came to a resolution satisfactory to both parties. The agreement was to have items in question completed by 08/09/2013. After coming to the agreement It has been hard to contact a Mr. ******* and when did finally reach him he avoids the topic and would not comment on when it would be done. On the rare occasion when his workers do showed up they do little or no work.

Mr. ******* requested additional funds of $5500 on 07/24/2013 to start the final pour of the driveway on 07/26/2013. I refused the remaining payment until the items we discussed have been completed or resolved. Mr. ******* informed me he needed at least $3300 to pay Diversified Concrete for the martial. and would continue with the pour. I informed him I would have a check ready in the amount of $3300.00 on the morning. Of 07/26/2013 to pay Diversified Concrete

Mr. ******* showed up late in the afternoon of 07/26/2013 and informed us he cancelled delivery of material and the pour. He informed Diversified Concrete that my check may bounce and to wait to cash it. Per Mr. *******, Diversified Concrete refused
To come out until funds could be guaranteed. He then requested the $5500.00 again. I informed him I have no confidence in him completing the existing items and no additional funds would be provided until they are resolved.
Mr ******* informed me if I did not provide the $5500.00 07/29/2013 he would remove his equipment from my property and considered our contract concluded. I informed him if that was his stance then go ahead and remove his equipment and I will begin to pursue other options to
Resolve our issues.

It seemed the differences were worked out and Mr. ******* agreed to pour the driveway on 08/02/2013. A check for $3300.00 was again made out to Diversified Concrete, a check was made out to Alexander Construction for $1400.00 and $600.00 cash was given to Mr. *******.
Mr. ******* showed up on 08/02/2013 and returned both checks and two money orders in the amount of $600.00. Mr. ******* is now demanding $6500.00 in cash to pour the driveway.

Due to Mr. ******* delays the following problems are starting to appear
cause water damage to the floor and walls in the laundry room caused by The step not being completed and opened for an extended period of time..
Extensive damage to the property due the heavy equipment.

At this point I have no faith in Mr ******* to complete the job. I do demand the gutter is hung, the back step is poured, and the flashing corrected. This was part of the garage build and has been paid in full. If he cannot complete it I demand compensation or a refund for the tasks not completed.

Desired Settlement
At this point I have no faith in Mr ******* to complete the job. I do demand the gutter is hung, the back step is poured, and the flashing corrected. This was part of the garage build and has been paid in full. If he cannot complete it I demand compensation or a refund for the tasks not completed in the amount of $1500.00 to cover the additional expenses.

Consumer's Final Response
We had a conversation on 08/05/2013 with ****. We Both agreed it is in the best interest to consider the work completed with nothing owed.
If **** is still willing to come to this agreement I'm willing to close this case as resolved.

07/16/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Excavating Contractors, Contractors - General, Concrete Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 06/01/1991
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Zavaras (General Manager)Mr. Stanley William (Owner)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Excavating Contractors, Contractors - General, Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers new construction, remodeling, foundation repairs and replacement, basement walls, waterproofing, utility installation concrete and framing.

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Concrete Co.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • P.O. Box 5323 

    Fairlawn, OH 44334(330) 256-3055

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alexander Construction Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 256-3055
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.