BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/17/2008

J B L Concrete Construction

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 931-0642Fax: (330) 877-4817View Additional Phone Numbers3773 Ranfield Rd., KentOH 44240

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/17/2008

BBB has determined that J B L Concrete Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered J B L Concrete Construction's rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised J B L Concrete Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on J B L Concrete Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had JBL Concrete put in a new driveway for us and the far end by the street started cracking apart the following spring. Drive was put in Summer of'12
There are several areas where the surface of concrete chipped away. The worst area is where it is very thin by street. It is almost cracked up to the main part of the driveway. I called in late spring of 2013 after I saw how bad it had gotten. They were going to fix it last summer or fall and didn't come out. Now a year after that, still no repair work.

Desired Settlement
Saw cut behind the cracks at the end of the driveway and neatly put in tar patch. Also fill in some of the cracks in drive.

Business Response
BBB received voicemail from Mr. *****.

He took care of all work about a week to a week and a half ago.

02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last year, JBL Concrete put in my new concrete driveway. In the process, siding on my garage was damaged.
I have paid for the work in full. I could have withheld some of my final payment, but I assumed JBL would respect the customer enough to follow through on promises to repair the damage. It has been four months. I am so sick and tired of waiting. Every time I come home, I drive onto my gorgeous driveway and the first thing I see is that missing wooden siding. I want this fixed. My contract with JBL states that all resolutions will go through BBB, so I have no other recourse than to file a formal complaint.

Desired Settlement
Two weeks ago he told me he had the new siding cut and would put it in "tomorrow." Tomorrow came and went. Either he fixes this problem, or he hires someone else to fix it. Either way, I should not be left with missing garage siding. I want to feel respected as a client, and I don't. I paid a lot of money for the driveway. I want the siding to be fixed and to be put back in looking like a professional job.

Business Response
Ms. ****** ******** had a piece of siding that was damaged on the job site. There was a misundestanding on the siding repair and she was not happy with how it was repaired, but we resolved this issue by sending out a professional siding company. She is now satisfied with the results.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes the repair has been made to my satisfaction.

11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In January 2013 JBL Concrete was contracted to install a new stoop along with some repairs. They did half the job and never returned to do any more.
Mr. ***** ***** of JBL Concrete was contracted to replace the front door stoop at ******************************************. They were also contracted for some repairs to the steps and sidewalk leading up to it. As per conract they were also to include a light broom finish. Put a cure and sealer on concrete. Retuckpoint cracks in old block. Refasten down metal railing, and clean up job properly.
On 1/28 0r 29/2013 They came and did the work.On 1/30/2013 Mr. ***** came back out and knocked away the framing boards and was given a check for the full amount of $900.00.
He never returned to clean up the job, or retighten the railing. He also never put a cure or sealer on the concrete. We heard nothing from him or the company again.
Repeated calls went to his voicemail. When he did respond a few times he promised to come out and look at it. He finally showed up to look at it in September or October of 2013. I showed him the bad cleanup work, showed him where pieces had started to pop out. I told him I had retightened the railing. I also told him they had never sealed the concrete. I also told him I had never put salt on it. He responded that he wasn't sure about never sealing it. When I told him he had never returned after knocking away the forms, he asked if the water was still hooked up. I told him it was. He told me he would be back out, pressure wash the concrete, seal the concrete and use concrete disolver to help clean up the excess concrete.
I further told Mr. ***** that I wasn't trying to be a jerk but, if he didn't straighten this out I would use other methods to resolve this.
Mr. ***** never returned again, nor has he called.

Desired Settlement
As JBL concrete did only half the job, they should either fix the job right, or, give back half the money.

Business Response
I met with ****** ****** in late fall and explained to him right now the weather is too cold to seal the stoop and steps. I informed that I would reseal it in the spring and this was the last time we spoke.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
His response is a complete fabrication. He never said that. He had all summer to fix this. I can't believe at this point that he would be a man of his word and return in the spring.

Consumer Response
Thank you for your time. The contract states that he would abide by binding arbitration by the BBB. I'm sure he wouldn't mention or accept it in real life anyway. Like I said his word is not honorable.

I do hope this helps others think twice before using his services.

God bless,
*********


Consumer Response
They were supposed to poor a pad for the front entrance and repair a piece of the sidewalk. The contract stated they would do cleanup, seal the pad, and fix cracks in the foundation. It was supposed to be able to be arbitrated with the BBB if there was a complaint. The poured the concrete just fine. Their clean up consisted of knocking off the framing boards and leaving after they got their check. They never sealed it and never cleaned up a thing. When I complained to the BBB they basically called me a liar and offered to seal it AFTER a hard winter when salt was needed. They NEVER offered the arbitration the contract called for.


Business Response
BBB received phone call from business. He has contacted the consumer and will be meeting with him in the morning of 10/29/14 to resolve dispute.


Consumer Response
BBB had phone conversation with consumer. He stated the business came out today and finished the sealing. He is still displeased with the quality of the job, but does not expect further action from the business.

BBB administratively closing case.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Concrete Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/27/2006Business started: 03/01/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Lewis (Owner)
Business Category

Concrete Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services

Service Area

Northeast Ohio

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for J B L Concrete Construction

3773 Ranfield Rd.

Kent, OH 44240

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*J B L Concrete Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 221-8967
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Concrete Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.