BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/15/2011

Al & Sons Concrete & Asphalt

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 867-5342Fax: (330) 666-9365View Additional Phone Numbers984 Clearview Ave, AkronOH 44314-2649

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/15/2011

BBB has determined that Al & Sons Concrete & Asphalt meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Al & Sons Concrete & Asphalt's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Al & Sons Concrete & Asphalt

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ************* and Husband ****** had concrete work done and within weeks the concrete is cracking and in some areas the work is unfinished.
My husband and I hired Al & Sons to repair our front stairs,flower planters and side walls. Unfortunately the job was not performed well because within weeks after the job was completed cracks started to appear and we noticed areas that were uneven. We attempt several times to contact Mr. ****** concerning this matter. Finally a week later when we where not home, Mr. ****** come out and repaired some of the cracks but not the uneven areas. Since then more cracks have appeared and My husband called to asked if he could come out and take a look at this before we left for vacation on June 25th and we have not heard back from him. To resolve this problem, I would appreciate half of our money back to get someone else to fix the problem or simply for Mr. ****** and his company to stand by their word and fix the problem correctly.

Desired Settlement
Half of our money back or simply correct the problem.

Business Response
(BBB - converted from original. See Document file.)

This letter is in response to customers, Mr. and Mrs. ********'s complaint regarding the work completed by my company, Al and Sons General Contractors. I received the notice of the complaint from the Better Business Bureau on July 15, 2014.1 would like to clearly state the particulars of this complaint in helping to resolve this issue fairly between all parties involved.

At the end of the month of March 2014, l initially went to the home of Mr. and Mrs. ******** to look at the planter walls and sidewalls. I explained to Mr. ******** that the best and only way to proceed with this area, the flower planter walls and sidewalls, was to tear it down completely, haul it away, and replace it entirely with new planter walls. Mr. ******** stated that he could not financially afford to tear everything completely down and replace it. He asked me immediately after discussing this with him, to go and look at the neighbor's wall across the street two doors down. I examined the neighbor's wall and concluded that it had been plastered. In comparing Mr. ********'s walls with the neighbor's walls, it was clearly evident that Mr. ********'s walls were in the worst condition. Mr. ******** responded to that by stating that he did not want anyone to walk up the stairs which were in the middle of the flower planters walls because they were in such bad condition. In examining Mr. ********'s walls, I clearly noticed that the walls were splitting not just cracking. I explained to Mr. ******** that my professional decision would be to remove the sandstone caps that were on top of the wall and fill in the top of the wall with B-19 and concrete.

As we were completing the job, we decided to fill in the top of the wall with concrete only in order to secure this structure further. Two of the four walls were noticeably crooked and leaning, which made it unrealistic to try to straighten the walls. So, our only option was to plaster the walls. Also, due to the condition of the other two walls, they could only be plastered. We proceeded to plaster only underneath the face of the steps.

In reiterating my previous statement to Mr. ********, uneven walls cannot be repaired. They have to be completely torn down and replaced. Further, Mr. ******** stated his preferences due to his financial limitations, which restricted how much l could do in completing the job and providing the best possible results. l also explained to him all of the details of the job and what the job would require. My options, according to his preferences, were seriously limited in comparison with what actually needed to be done for long-term results. l provided him with the best explanation covering all of the details prior to his signing the contract.

Two to three weeks later, Mr. ******** called me stating that there were some new cracks in the walls that we had just repaired. We immediately went to his house to repair the cracks while Mr. ******** was at home. One to two weeks after that Mr. ******** called me again stating that there were more cracks on another wall that we had also repaired. We returned to his house to repair those as well, while his daughter was at home. At that time, l was unaware that Mr. and Mrs. ******** were on vacation.

We received compliments from the neighbors on the job we had done. The neighbors commented that the walls looked much better. I took before and after pictures for documentation as with every contracted job for which I accept responsibility. Mr and Mrs. ******** needed to be clear on all of the contract details which specifically states: 'NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR CRACKAGE AND SPALLING OF ANY CONCRETE WORK'. I attended to their requests immediately by returning on two specific occasions to rectify the problem. The cracks in the complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau were inspected by me personally. I examined them and clearly noticed that they were hairline cracks which we, without delay, repaired upon their request. I have corrected the problem per their request and provided them with the best possible service according to their financial circumstances. My company aims to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers.

************* Owner
Al and Sons General Contractors


Consumer Response
This letter is in response to ************* of Al and Sons Contractors. I was to respond to his statement by August 4, 2014 bit as unable to due to a close friend of the family passing.

I do not debate the condition of the stairs and walls at my residence. The problem is once the job was completed my husband immediately called Mr. ****** to point out cracks that were appearing. Mr. ****** came out to repair an area and since then has never returned to finished repairing other cracks and uneven areas he was notified about. I am not talking about a leaning wall as Mr. ****** stated. I'm simply speaking about areas which concrete was poured and not leveled off or smoothed out.

Mr. ****** hasn't returned our phone calls. He promised to come back out to meet with us and hasn't and on several occasions Mr. ****** has tried to avoid my husband in public. I feel he is very unprofessional and dishonest. we have been more than patient on trying to resolve this issue with Mr. ****** and is getting nowhere. I feel confident enough to pursue this matter in small claims and it saddens me that it has to come down to this.

Sincerely,

*************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Concrete Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 06/01/1965New Owner Date: 07/20/1975
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Arthur Gooden (Owner)
Business Category

Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

This business provides paving of concrete driveways, sidewalks, curbs, parking lots, and masonry work involving blocks, bricks and stones.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Al & Sons Concrete & Asphalt

984 Clearview Ave

Akron, OH 44314-2649

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3423 Shade Road 

    Akron, OH 44333

  • 984 Clearview Ave 

    Akron, OH 44314-2649(330) 867-5342
    (330) 608-8820
    Fax: (330) 666-9365

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Al & Sons Concrete & Asphalt is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 608-8820
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Concrete Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.