BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2000

A J & S Concrete, Inc.

Phone: (330) 733-8012Fax: (330) 733-94721793 Krumroy Road, AkronOH 44312 Send email to A J & S Concrete, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2000

BBB has determined that A J & S Concrete, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A J & S Concrete, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A J & S Concrete, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
6 months after AJ&S replaced my concrete driveway it began to breakdown. AJ&S has not returned phone calls and won't discuss the issue at hand.

July of 2013, I contracted AJ&S concrete to replace an existing concrete driveway. I took photos of the driveway less than 6 months after completion to show the state of disrepair and breakdown. I contacted *********** about the issues that were appearing. **** came out to meet me and take a look at the concrete. After he viewed the driveway he didn't dispute there was an issue with the concrete. He stated he would be in contact with the concrete companies representative. A week or two followed and without notice ****, and who I'm to guess was the concrete company rep, showed up and had a curbside meeting at the end of my driveway. I was never notified of his arrival and they both had left without approaching the home to include me in the discussion or the outcome of the meeting.
I gave **** and his company the opportunity to contact me in the weeks to follow about the meeting and what was discussed. This is the point in time that my phone calls weren't answered and my request for information on the status of my complaint were ignored. To date, 9/8/14, I have been unable to resolve the issue or even have an opportunity to discuss it with AJ&S. Thanks to AJ&S I have a "NEW" driveway that several concrete companies advised me will need to be replaced, the current condition is not one that can be repaired.

Desired Settlement
AJ&S had the opportunity to resolve the issues with the driveway, however I don't believe this to be in the AJ&S customer service model. Its model is to ignore the customer in hopes that they will not follow through due to the difficulty in contacting them and cost to correct. I now have in hand several estimates from reputable concrete companies that state I need to replace the driveway. If AJ&S isn't willing to make right what is wrong, then I will be left with taking them to court for the cost to have another company do the replacement. At this point I'm not certain that I would feel comfortable having AJ&S complete the work due to the handling of this job from the start.

Business Response
AJ&S concrete Inc. poured Mr. *******'s driveway on July 17, 2013. Sometime in the spring of 2014 Mr. *******s contacted me in regards of his driveway. We met and he expressed his concerns that he had with the condition of the driveway, it had some slight issues. From what I had seen, the issues were caused by the material in the concrete itself and not the workmanship. I told Mr. *******s that I would contract the concrete supplier, *********************, Inc. ********** has recently changed ownership so It took some time and haggling to talk with a Representative about the concrete issues. After some time, I met with the Rep of *********************. After talking with them for two months they decided that they were not going to pay for the material because it was still in "good usable shape". To conclude, I replaced the entire driveway, cost free to Mr. *******s out of my pocket. We tore out the old driveway on September 15, 2014 and replaced it on September 17, 2014 as requested by Mr. *******s. All is well.

***********
AJ&S Concrete Inc.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
AJ&S concrete has replaced the "bad" concrete driveway. They did as good of a job as previously poured, I'm sure we are both keeping our fingers crossed that the supplied concrete won't breakdown this time around.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Concrete Contractors, Paving Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1999, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Suzuki (President)
Business Category

Concrete Contractors, Paving Contractors

Products & Services

Specializing in Driveways, Parking Lots, Floors, Sidewalks, Etc.

This company specializes in concrete driveways, patios, steps, garage floors, and a variety of parking areas.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

20 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A J & S Concrete, Inc.

1793 Krumroy Road

Akron, OH 44312

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1793 Krumroy Road 

    Akron, OH 44312(330) 733-8012

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A J & S Concrete, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Concrete Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.