BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Norandex Building Materials Distribution, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 656-8800Fax: (330) 656-8993View Additional Phone Numbers300 Executive Parkway West, Suite 100, HudsonOH 44236http://www.norandex.comView Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Norandex Building Materials Distribution, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Norandex Building Materials Distribution, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Broken seal. Hazy window.
Norandex Bld Mtl Dst Inc. invoiced with address at *********************************. ph ************. letter returned. ph not in service.Inv.****** & ******.dated 11.11.09. Apparently the seal broke because the window stopped being clear a couple of winters ago and got worse.I can't contact anyone to comlain, perhaps if I could they would help? Could you contact them? Thank you.

Desired Settlement
Window replaced and installed.

Business Response
Norandex closed its ******* location a few years ago. Norandex Corporate offices in Hudson, OH will send Mr ****** a warranty claim packet via mail. Mr. ****** will need to complete the claim form and return along with a proof of purchase and then we will contact Mr. ****** with the next steps.

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Windows bought from Norandex and they are leaky and ice forms on the inside of our house and snow. and the air leaks so bad, that the curtains move,
These windows were purchased for a new home, and were installed correctly. Have been complaining for 6 years. . Have called ******** and Nor andes and emailed and wrote letters many many times.
Norandex has failed to answer many calls and have said they were going to send a tech out. and never did. Have told us they would send parts with a tech and of course never did. we put in styrofoam pieces that was supposedly to fix the problem and never mad a difference. I have pictures which i have sent to Norandex and ******** . and they refuse to do anything. I have had other widow people come and give me an estimate. and it will be 5500. I would like ******** to come and get these faulty windows and pay me for my trouble. I have wasted money in heat and air for 6 years. I have to put lactic up with a hair dryer like you would do in a hundred year old house.
Norandex says they can't warranty their product , that ******** will. ....So we were contacted yesterday by ******** ************** and told the windows are not covered.
Well. seems like someone needs to back these up. They let the wind in . and SNOW and ICE>
someone please help

Desired Settlement
We would like ******** . or Norandex to come and get these windows. and haul them away. and pay us 5000, 00 for replacement windows.
The bill for new windows is 5500. .. so we thing we are being more than fair.

I will be putting them on my lawn with a big sign .
NOT to buy NORANDEx or ******** windows.
I live on a major highway. ***** in *****************.

Business Response
We appreciate the role of the BBB in handling these situations and giving Norandex an opportunity to present the facts.

Let us first point out that Ms. ***** is not the owner of the home in question. She is the owner's mother-in-law. That is unclear from her complaint.

Second, neither Ms. ***** nor her daughter-in-law actually purchased the windows in question from Norandex. The daughter-in-law purchased a finished home that was built by a customer of Norandex. We had no direct purchase agreement or have had any type of customer transaction with Ms. ***** or her daughter-in-law.

Norandex is a wholesale distributor of exterior building products. We neither manufactured nor installed the windows in question. We ordered windows from the manufacturer per the home builder's specifications and sold them to the builder, who installed them into the home that Ms. *****'s daughter-in-law eventually purchased.

The windows were manufactured by ********, a leading supplier of vinyl replacement and new construction windows. We have tried on multiple occasions to explain to both Ms. ***** and her daughter-in-law that if they have a window warranty complaint their communication needs to be with ********, and if they have an installation complaint they must communicate directly with the builder.

We have tried to explain to Ms. ***** that our relationship in this matter was to order the windows from ******** per the builder's specifications, and deliver those windows to the builder. There is no suggestion that Norandex either ordered or delivered the wrong windows to the builder.

It is true that Ms. ***** has communicated with us on several occasions, primarily through our website and general email account. To my knowledge, we have responded to all those communications. Our local branch personnel have also visited the home in question with the builder. Her contention that we have done nothing is incorrect.

Although, as Ms. ***** says in her complaint, there is nothing wrong with the window installation, and although ********'s service department has determined that there is no quality defect with the windows themselves (a judgment that I believe is shared by the builder), Norandex took it upon ourselves to attempt to put this issue behind us three years ago by replacing three of the windows in question at our expense. Ms. ***** claims that the replacement units---which were a considerable upgrade over her daughter's original windows---are no better and arguably worse than the original windows. Again, both the window manufacturer and installer do not support her claim.

According to the builder (our customer), the house in question has serious humidity problems, which could be the cause of her issues. During cold winters, there can be a great temperature difference between the inside and outside of a house. The glass on windows tends to have lower temperatures than other surfaces in a house, and in some cases, can produce condensation. Since the glass temperatures are lower, the condensation can freeze and produce ice on the inside of the window. This is not due to any defect in a window; it's simply a sign of high humidity in a home.

As you can see, the facts of the matter indicate that neither Ms. ***** or her daughter-in-law are actually customers of Norandex and their complaints should be directed to either the manufacturer or the installer, both of whom have investigated the issue and determined the issue to be the humidity in the home rather than any window defect or installation issue.

Again, we appreciate the process afforded by the BBB to review and process these claims, however, we hope you will agree that, based on the facts of the situation, that the complaint filed against Norandex is unfounded.

Unless we hear otherwise, we will consider this matter closed.

Thank you.


Final Consumer Response
Consumer Called and left voice message regarding complaint. She said that her daughter has signed a contract with Norandex and that the issues have been resolved as to this point.

***.

01/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor customer service with lies and deceit .
In the past I left this company due to the fact that they would send you what they wanted regardless of what you actually ordered . On many occasions I would order things and they would not come in so I would have to get from another vendor at last minute . Their excuse was always "we are the mercy of the vendor " . After years of shopping elsewhere they called wanting another chance . I tried and right out the gate they answered my phone call with " hey bo what you need " lol. Then after three weeks of waiting for stock materials and being told it was ltl out then getting caught not ltl ing it . Out of concern I ask for a managers number and they tell me " we are not at liberty to give that info out " REALLY !!!! why not . Probably because they get cussed so much they have to hide . This company is off the chain with how they treat their customers . Never should anyone be submitted to this type of treatment while spending their Money . I will NEVER step foot around these grounds again but want everyone to see that what a screwed up organization this is

Desired Settlement
I feel as though since I have waited so long that my price should be adjusted to help relieve some of my losses . How do I know I am paying too much ? I used to buy from them for a much cheaper price and my other friends that buy even less than I do pay less when they do buy from there .

Business Response
The materials were delivered to the job site in time for the installation. ******** ****** ordered additional product from Norandex to complete the job and appears to be satisfied. Norandex considers this case closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Response is as usual of this corporation. I did have to order more materials unfortunately but my original order was later than anyone expected and also came in complete so took extra longer to get the extra pieces. As long as this response is filed is my only concern because I assure that I will never submit my customers to this type of unprofessionalism.

Final Business Response
As previously indicated, Norandex acknowledges that the original order was later than anticipated, but we made no guarantee on the delivery date at the time of the order. We cannot guarantee delivery dates, as we are a distributor of the product, not the manufacturer. This customer was fully aware that the anticipated delivery date was not guaranteed. Unfortunately, in this case, the manufacturer did not meet our anticipated delivery date.

Attached are the terms and conditions under which Norandex operates. These are posted on our web site (http://norandexpro.com/terms-conditions) and are on the back of invoices/statements.

Please note the following excerpt from Item 2:

"Seller (Norandex) shall use reasonable commercial efforts to make delivery or perform services within the time requested, provided however that delivery dates are good faith estimates only and time shall not be of the essence when quoting delivery dates."

As a result, Norandex contends that no compensation/refund is due to this customer, as we fulfilled our obligations and the customer took ownership of the product.

12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a front door system from Norandex in ******. Our sales person (*********** ************) sold us a door with worry free, composite jambs and our contract reflects such. We received the door several months ago and had it installed by one of their recommended installers. When the installer came back several weeks later, he noticed that the "composite" jambs were swelling and said we should call Norandex because we had a warranty issue. We did so and received several 'stories' from *** including "Of course you have composite jambs but the "composite has some discoloration but no moisture is present" to "your installer should have trimmed the seal back to prevent water absorption". We then got a call from *************** with ********* (door manufacturer)who finally confirmed we didn't have composite jambs because *** never ordered composite jambs. When *** was questioned about this, he said "I ordered composite jambs but the door maker (*********) opted to give you oak jambs instead because your home is facing South. If we would have known, we would have told you". ******* from ********* said he never even saw our order so how could he have changed it? Furthermore, we never were advised of this nor did we approve such. This is just another lie.Bottom line, the Norandex rep ordered the wrong door (oak jambs) and instead of correcting his mistake, Norandex wants to offer us 'band-aid' solutions including 1. pull off the oak jambs and install composite ones (they don't recommend this one) 2. seal the existing oak jambs or 3. put aluminum caps over the oak jambs. Of course in reading the unit's warranty, all of these options void it.
Product_Or_Service: front door unit

Desired Settlement
We want the current unit removed and the correct door unit installed at Norandex's expense. We have sent numerous emails and left numerous voice mails requesting such. We have been continually denied.

Business Response
Norandex sold a Therma Tru Smooth Star entry door to our customer ******************* to be installed by ******************* at the ******* house. An arrangement was made between Mr. ******* and ******************* that Mr. ******* would pay Norandex directly for the door and the installation would be billed separately by *******************. Mr. ******* did, in fact, pay Norandex for the door in two separate payments.

Prior to purchase, during initial discussions with the *******s, Norandex Sales Representative *********** presented several entry door options including a finished, rot-proof primed jamb and composite frame product, as well as an unfinished door with composite frame. The *******s chose the unfinished product, and were fully aware at the time of order that the door had to be painted. The door was installed earlier this year by *******************, but was not sealed or painted in a reasonable time, which was noticed by a representative from ******************* when they came back to the house to work on a window job for the *******s. As a result, the entry door was experiencing some moisture absorption in spots.

When ******************* made Mr. ******* aware of the situation, Mr. ******* and a representative from ********* Door, the supplier of the Therma-Tru door, visited the ******* home to inspect the door. The *******s were under the impression that the entire door frame was made from composite materials. At the time of this inspection, it was determined that while the door jamb/frame was made of composite materials, the mull posts, the post between the door and sidelite, were not made of composite material. The posts were made of oak since, according to the manufacturer, a true composite post would not have the necessary strength and could warp due to more extreme weather conditions. Since the *******s did not paint/seal the frame, even though they knew it had to be done on a "non-finished" product, the unfinished oak mulls were absorbing moisture.

Norandex offered the *******s three potential solutions:

1. Pre-finisher will repair the two trouble spots with a protective seal and the cost would be covered.
2. ********* (the door supplier) would repair trouble spots and a contractor would aluminum cap the mulls with a color of the *******s choice, providing a maintenance-free wrapped protected frame with aluminum (indicated to the *******s as the "best solution.")
3. The existing door unit would be pulled and composite mulls installed by a ********* technician. The *******s were warned however that this option could result in warping of the mull.

The *******s rejected all three options, instead saying it wasn't the door they ordered, and asking Norandex to remove the wrong door in the home and install the one that they paid for. Despite the *******s belief that the door, including the mull posts, were made of composite materials, the door issues they are encountering are a direct result of their negligence to finish the door in a reasonable amount of time. Replacing the existing door, as they suggest, WITH composite mulls will not be done by *********...that is not an option as the door manufacturer will not make a door with composite mulls for the reasons stated above.

If the *******s do not accept one of the three options above, we will offer one FINAL option:

Norandex will refund the *******s the full material cost of the door: $1000.25, under the following conditions:
a. The *******s will receive an immediate refund of $500 with the remainder to be paid when the door is actually returned to Norandex in good condition.
b. The door must be returned within 90 days.
c. Both parties (the *******s and Norandex) must sign a statement indicating they agree to these conditions.


Consumer Response
Please do not close this claim. The offer being made is being taken under advisement. Given the time limit of 90 days, along with the winter weather, we are not sure we would meet the criteria if we were to accept this offer.


Consumer Response
Norandex speaks of a resolution but they have made no attempt to forward the document to us for review. How do we proceed with getting a copy of that? The local sales office rep does not return our phone calls.

Who from Norandex is making the offer?

We consider this case still open. They have made an "offer" in theory but presented nothing for review.

Kindly confirm.
***** ******


Business Response
The *******s filed a complaint with the BBB. Norandex offered a final solution through the BBB and were awaiting a response from the *******s through the BBB complaint web site. According to the BBB, the *******s did NOT respond in the time allotted and the BBB notified Norandex that the case was closed. If the *******s wish to pursue the proposed solution, they should contact Norandex Communications Specialist ***********, ************, ************************, and an official offer and agreement will be supplied. The Norandex final offer of resolution will officially expire on December 31, so we would encourage the *******s to contact Mr. ****** as soon as possible.

Thank you.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The first response on behalf of Norandex did not include information of who to contact at Norandex to receive this document. There was no way to receive details regarding their proposal. We have now emailed *********** at Norandex based on this notice. Until we can take the written document under advisement, we have no way of knowing if what Norandex is offering is acceptable.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor, Windows, Siding Materials, Roofing Materials, Building Materials

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 01/01/1967
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1968, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Leslee Roth (Merchandising Manager)Mr. Jim Christensen Mr. Bob Cole (Sales Support)Mr. Van Garber (Vice President of Marketing)Mr. Kevin Huster Mr. Scott Smith Ms. Christine Watson (Category Manager)
Business Category

Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor, Windows, Siding Materials, Roofing Materials, Building Materials

Products & Services

All exterior products for the home (selling wholesale).

Alternate Business Names
Norandex, Norandex, Inc.
Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows
Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Norandex Building Materials Distribution, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 773-8201
  • (800) 686-4570
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.facebook.com/Norandex?ref=ts
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor

Condensation on Windows
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

November 2015 ABC Supply Co., Inc. purchase Norandex Building Materials Distribution, Inc.

ABC Supply Co. is headquartered in Beloit, Wisconsin. http://www.bbb.org/wisconsin/business-reviews/building-materials/abc-supply-co-in-beloit-wi-31004512

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.