BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

All About Chimneys and Masonry

(330) 273-2863Confidential per Company, BrunswickOH 44212 Send email to All About Chimneys and Masonry

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Clean, inspect, and repair all types of chimneys. Sell and install wood stoves and inserts. I do all types of masonry work as well. Custom Stonework is my specialist. 20 years experience.

BBB Accreditation

All About Chimneys and Masonry is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised All About Chimneys and Masonry's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on All About Chimneys and Masonry

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Work initiated on 11/4/2012 to install new chase cover, cap, rain guard, and fireback. Excessive smoke with ensuing use.

With excessive smoke **** returned once to remove the rain guard, refund for it. After this I have called thrre times and emailed from his web page with NO return calls. Ther still is an issue with excessive smoke in my home.

Desired Settlement
He did the work he should fix what now doesn't work that worked well for the first 17 years I lived herer before he made these chsnges. He needs to return and fix.

Business' Initial Response
I replaced a chase cover chimney cap and raingaurd for this customer in Nov. 2012. On Nov. 5th 2012 this customer called stating he was getting smoke back in the house when having a fire. I went to this customers house that day and removed a raingaurd and had him start a fire and stayed there for approx.40 mins and no smoke came back in the house. I refunded the cost of the raingaurd. I did not hear anything from this customer untill Feb. 23 2013, when I recieved an email from this customer stated he was again getting smoke back in the house when starting his fires. He also stated he had called twice. I emailed him back and apologized for not returning his calls and explained that I am closed for the winter. I also explained that this sounds like he is expierncing a downdraft which occurs on windy days. I advised him to try starting a fire on a calm day and see what happens and told him if the problem continues to contact me back. I advised him that they do make a special chimney cap that prevents downdrafts. I expained that the fireback, the chase cover and chimney cap most likely would not be the source of the problem. This customer did not contact me back, so exactly one week later I emailed him again asking if he tried having a fire on a calm day and if so what was the outcome. I included a link on downdrafts this link gives some tips and explains downdrafts and gives a test you can try to see if you have a negative pressure in your house which can also cause a downdraft. No reply was received. I wanted him to try these tests to determine if these could be the cause, because there was no smoke coming back in the house in Nov. when I removed the raingaurd, and now almost 4 months later he is getting smoke back so something must have changed during this time. No reply again so I assumed everything was ok. I am currently working out of state and have been since early Jan. 2013. Jan., Feb and March are my slow time and I had an oppurtunity to work out of state so I took it.Also during these months it is dangerous to attempt to climb up on rooftops due to snow and ice which is the olny way to access this customers chimney. I will be retuning to the office next week and will contact this customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thanks for finally responding! I have no record in my junk mail or live file of any emails. I would gladly accept your phone call in that the problem still exists. Prior to your work I had no smoke in my I do. I buned a fire yesterday and had to have it die out due to excessive smoke. Please call us!

Business' Final Response
From: ********** (mailto:*****************************)
Sent: Thursday, March 21, 2013 1:55 PM
To: ******************
Subject: case #********

Concerning this complaint #********, I do feel that this complaint is unwarrented I have explained to this customer the dangers of burning wet wood prior to this complaint. I can not make someone pay attention to what I say. Also this customer stated this was not a problem before I worked on the chimney. This is not true last fall when I cleaned the chimney before any work was done his wife stated that there was a smoke smell coming from the chimney and I advised her to try oust, a odor remover.
********** All About Chimneys

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Chimney Cleaning, Snow Removal Service, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Air Duct Cleaning, Mason Contractors, Chimney Builders & Repair

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 08/01/1992
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Olsen (Owner)
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning, Snow Removal Service, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Air Duct Cleaning, Mason Contractors, Chimney Builders & Repair

Products & Services

Chimney Cleaning and Repair,Chimney Caps and Liners,Inserts and Stoves, Air Duct Cleaning, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Masonry, Porches and Steps, Sidewalks, Snow Removal.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSun: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PM
Service Area


Alternate Business Names
All About Chimneys

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All About Chimneys and Masonry

Confidential per Company

Brunswick, OH 44212

To | From


1 Locations

  • Confidential per Company 

    Brunswick, OH 44212

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All About Chimneys and Masonry is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Chimney Cleaning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.