BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2003

Dunn-Right Custom Carpet Cleaning, LTD.

Phone: (330) 336-9795Fax: (330) 598-1726View Additional Phone NumbersP.O. Box 157, WadsworthOH 44282 Send email to Dunn-Right Custom Carpet Cleaning, LTD.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2003

BBB has determined that Dunn-Right Custom Carpet Cleaning, LTD. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dunn-Right Custom Carpet Cleaning, LTD.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dunn-Right Custom Carpet Cleaning, LTD.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inaccurate quote - Unprofessional customer service in response to complaint

Quote received for job over the phone and quote received at job was double the phone quote. Called in 2 times before receiving return call and when call returned rude unprofessional response to complaint.
No offer to satisfy complaint, response to complaint was why customer should have been happy with what was received.

Desired Settlement
none

Business Response
Please note, we did not receive any information about this complaint until 7/17/14.

Response from **** Dunn, Business Owner for 13 years: Ms. ****** called to get information regarding cleaning her carpets. She asked how much it would cost to clean a living room and family room. I told her it would cost $139 to clean those two areas and that we allow up to 250 square foot per area. She then asked how much it would cost to add on a set of stairs. I told her it would be an additional $45 to clean the stairs. She wanted to schedule an appointment. We set up a day and time that was convenient for her. After her appointment was scheduled, she briefly mentioned a problem she had with cat odor. I told her we would have to take a look at it to see if we could help her out. I explained that l am unable to price out pet odor issues over the phone because the severity of the issues vary greatly, I said we would have to see it first.

Response from **** ******, carpet cleaning technician employed by Dunn• Right for 4 years: I showed up to clean the carpets and we started going over everything Ms. ****** wanted cleaned. When we got done going over the front room and the family room it was clear that the point of our service that day was to take care of the pet problem. She told me that that part of the carpet cleaning process was not discussed in detail over the phone with the business owner. She said that the price for just the carpet cleaning by itself ($174) was not what she was initially told either. But I reassured her that there was no way that she would be given a quote of $139 for two rooms and a set of steps. She did say that she went over the steps with **** on the phone, but only as a possible add-on. My taking was that she was told $139 for the two rooms (which is our normal price) and if she added the steps it would be more than $139. Regarding the pet issue, I then went over every detail involved with first-time customers dealing with pet urine. It is a separate process from the carpet cleaning that requires us flushing an odor neutralizing product down through the carpet and padding and it costs $89 additional to take care of the pet issue. She said that she was not told that on the phone. I asked if she told him about the urine on the phone and she said that they did go over it, but that it was more of a situation for me to look at once I arrived, so no price was given. Despite all of this, I asked her if she still wanted the pet process done and she gave me the go ahead on it. I told her I could just clean the carpets and not do the pet process. So, before I even began, we were In agreement on $174 for the two rooms and set of steps, and $89 for the pet flushing process. She then signed the bottom portion of her invoice that states: "I have read and understand the above." At that point I had her authorization (both verbally and with her signature). When I got finished with the job she told me she was very satisfied with the service, but still upset about the misquotation on the phone. She told me she was going to call **** later about it, and I did apologize for the possible miscommunication. After the job was completed, she also signed the part of the invoice that states: "Work completed to satisfaction". At this point, she had signed two different places on the invoice and had told me how happy she was with the service. I spent an additional hour and 15 minutes and 5 gallons of odor neutralizing product to take care of the pet odor issue. I arrived at her home at 8:40 and left at 11:00.

Response from *** ******, Lead Technician employed by Dunn-Right for 9 years: Ms. ****** called and asked for the owner. I told her he was not in but I would be able to assist her. She started by telling me that **** cleaned her house earlier and that she wasn't calling to complain about the service. She said that she was very happy with everything that was done and that **** did a very good job. The reason she was calling was that she wasn't happy with the price of the job. She said that she was quoted $139 for two rooms and a set of steps, and that she also had a pet odor problem. She said she was misquoted and the carpet cleaning cost $174 and the pet odor treatment cost an additional $89. I explained to her that it was not possible that **** would quote 2 rooms and a set of steps for $139, that would always be quoted somewhere between $174-$184. I also said if she was originally intending on doing just the two rooms then that is where she probably got the $139 quote. She did tell me that she added the steps as an afterthought. She also told me that she wasn't told that there would be an additional cost for the pet odor treatment. I said that if she and **** discussed the urine problem over the phone, **** would probably have said it would need to be seen before we could assess the severity of the damage, and how much it would cost. This is a common problem that cannot be assessed over the phone. Depending on the severity, we may need to use more than five gallons of product. She did discuss all these prices with **** before he completed any work I told her that I would have **** call her, but that the prices given to her were accurate.

Response from **** Dunn: *** was taking the business calls while my family and I were out of town celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary. I was on the phone with another customer first thing Monday morning when Mrs. ***** called and left a Voice mail stating she was very unhappy with me because I had not returned her call yet. As soon as I hung up with my current phone call, I returned her call. I explained that I was with my family celebrating our wedding anniversary. She told me she was very happy with the job we did but did not think that we should have charged her $89 to fix her pet problem. I reiterated that I quoted her for two areas, and that she had inquired about the price to add a set of stairs for which I had quoted her an additional $45. (*** ****** was sitting next to me during our first conversation when I originally quoted her job. He remembers me quoting the steps as an add-on.) I also reminded her that I told her we had no way of assessing the severity of her pet issue until we could see it in person. Her argument with me was not that we didn't fix her pet issue, it was that she "did not budget in the additional $89 for the cat problem", (those were her words), She then said if she compared us to Valu-pack, she should have paid $99 to have her carpets cleaned. I explained that she could not compare our services, equipment or employees with a coupon, discount company. I also told her that I don't usually encounter customers who complain about us fixing their pet problem, they are usually very happy that they did not have to rip out and replace the carpets. I was very confused that she was happy with the services, yet did not want to pay for them.

This conversation went on for 25 minutes. At that point, I realized she just wanted me to give her money back even though **** spent an additional 75 minutes and used 5 gallons of product to fix it. I cannot justify absorbing the cost based on this complaint. **** had given her the option of only cleaning her carpets and not doing the additional pet odor treatment. She chose to have the stairs cleaned and the pet process done. I have thousands of customers in my database who don't even ask for a quote because they swear by our services. To even have a customer complain, in all honesty, is something new to me. I take it very seriously especially when we did do the job we promised.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

My first reaction to reading the response from this business owner is incredulous at the fact that he feels all I wanted was my money back when nothing is further from the truth. I never asked for any discount or return on what I paid for the services. I called in because I was surprised that the quote I received over the phone and quote on the job was double and not even close to the phone quote. He is correct in saying I did not budget for this, I did not budget for double the price. When I stated this to him and asked how he would feel if he was quoted a price and then asked to pay double his response was that he would be happy with the service he received. I find this hard to believe.

I also stated that if an accurate quote could not be given over the phone then maybe an in home estimate would be appropriate. The owner told me he was doing me a favor because he knows how much gas costs to run his trucks and it would be costly to have an in home estimate. My mistake I thought that was the cost of business.

I did explain about the pet issue over the phone as this was the only reason for getting my carpets cleaned. As for the statement that they cannot quote a price for a pet problem they have a $89 price for the 5 gallon product they use for pet odors. This price could have been given as a baseline for the pet problem which it was not.

I did not compare them to valupack, I told the owner that I had never had my carpets professionally cleaned and my baseline for price was on a groupon I had just seen for 5 rooms at $99 so when I was quoted $139 for the 2 rooms that sounded expensive to me but I was ok with proceeding as I had heard good things about their service.

My complaint is not with the service provided by the technician but in the response and attitude of the owner. In our conversation I felt as if I was being yelled at and told why I should be happy and not complain. I told the owner that the reason I would NEVER refer him was because of the way he was handling this complaint.

I can understand that the owner needs personal time but I would think someone else would have the authority to resolve issues.

Final Business Response
Response from **** Dunn, Dunn-Right Custom Carpet Cleaning:
1)In response to Mrs. ******™s complaint that an in-home estimate should have been given for the pet odor issue since a price could not be estimated over the phone: **** did give her an in-home quote on the pet issue. She had the option of not having the problem areas flushed and treated. She agreed to proceed and have them treated. She signed the invoice before work was started, after **** priced out the pet odor treatment.

2)In response to her comment that the quote she received over the phone and quote on the job was double: In her conversations with *** (her first contact to voice her complaint) and with ****, she complained of being quoted $139 (over the phone) to clean 2 rooms and a set of stairs. With her most recent response, she states “…when I was quoted $139 for the 2 rooms that sounded expensive…” This statement contradicts both of her claims to *** and **** that she was quoted 3 rooms at $139.

3)In response to her comment that she “would think someone else would have the authority to resolve issues”, *** spoke with her and took her information, along with her complaint. He recalled his conversation with her in his previous response. He told her the prices she was given were accurate with what our business charges. We are a family owned company consisting of myself and my wife along with three full-time employees. We are not a franchise with hundreds of employees. She called in two times before receiving a return call. The first call was taken by ***, the 2nd call was early Monday morning and I called her right back after finishing a call with another customer.

Mrs. ****** claims “the price quoted over the phone was double and not even close to the phone quote”: Once again: I quoted her $139 to clean 2 areas. She then asked how much it would cost to add on a set of stairs, which I replied “an additional $45”. After pricing out the carpet cleaning, she mentioned she had a pet odor problem. That was when I said we would have to see it in person because the severity of the issue varies greatly. **** priced out the 3 areas ($174). This was an accurate quote and coincides with what I originally quoted her over the phone. Next, **** priced out the pet odor $89. This was not included in the price over the phone, once again, as I told her I did not know the severity of the issue. Therefore, I correctly priced out her job and it was not double. She chose to add on the extra room (stairs) and add on the pet odor treatment.

I take great pride in the business I started from scratch that has allowed me to provide employment to myself and others. I am very passionate about the service we provide. I have come to learn that no matter how hard I try, I cannot please everyone. Thankfully the other 99.9% of my customers are completely satisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Upholstery and Rug Cleaning, Tile & Grout Cleaning, Water Damage Restoration, Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 02/01/2002
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffery A. Dunn (Owner/Operator)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Upholstery and Rug Cleaning, Tile & Grout Cleaning, Water Damage Restoration, Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dunn-Right Custom Carpet Cleaning, LTD. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • P.O. Box 157 

    Wadsworth, OH 44282Fax: (330) 598-1726

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dunn-Right Custom Carpet Cleaning, LTD. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 723-9707
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Cleaners

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.