BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/17/2009

Mohican Reservation Campgrounds & Canoeing

Phone: (800) 766-2267Fax: (419) 994-5836View Additional Phone Numbers23270 Wally Rd., LoudonvilleOH 44842 Send email to Mohican Reservation Campgrounds & CanoeingView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/17/2009

BBB has determined that Mohican Reservation Campgrounds & Canoeing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mohican Reservation Campgrounds & Canoeing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mohican Reservation Campgrounds & Canoeing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Manager in office was extremely rude and unprofessional. We were told we could bring our own kayaks for our river trip. Even on the day of the trip an employee even gave us a time to gland asked us to confirm with manager. Manager said absolutely no way no how. When asked if we could put them in ourselves she said no way it's all private land, I am not going to say it again. After renting kayaks had to wait over an hour for all the proper equipment for kayak to go. In that time four large groups put their own equipment in the water. Employees at the launch site said that's regular there. After trip there was a concern about a kayaker that had been missing for an hour and a half. The response from the same manager that caused earlier issue wouldn't even look in our direction and said we aren't obligated to file a missing persons report for 12 hours. A bigger stress was put on the concern for the kayaker missing. At this point the manager raised her voice and swore at concerned camper to which an argument took place to where both parties were shouting. Office called police, said we were asked to leave. The officers found out drinking took place on river and told us to behave at our campsite and leave in the morning. Once officers left our campsite was harassed three times to which the owner said the police ruling doesn't matter "this is my campground" and we need to leave. We called the police and told them that we were being harassed. Don't know if the police came back but the harassment stopped after that.
Product_Or_Service: Campground

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for the recent case letter. Mohican Reservation,Inc. has been in business for over 3 decades and strives for customer satisfaction & service. Mohican Reservation, Inc. is also a BBB member. Constant improvements are always being made in its facilties & staff for the betterment of the park and for its guests. I investigated this unusual case as well as I was took part in it as well at the end of the day first hand. I take letters such as this very seriously and will repsond accordingly.
First off to get the trasportation of private watercraft straight.Mohican Reservation does not transport personal watercraft. We have under certain cases if we were not busy and if we have transport going out at the same time done this but for the msot part we do not.It has to be a perfect situation for it to work out. The weekend of August 9-11 was one of our busiest weekends of the year. Yes all customers are told they can bring their own watercraft for their own river trips & enjoyment.They can use our pick up and drop off points if need be. This has nothing to do with our river trips & times we offer and provide.Most land in the area is private and you must have permission as such in this case you have to make arraingments if you have your own personal watercraft of pick up and drop off points and parking etc.
Secondly there was a short wait that day for our own rented watercraft to go out for boats as well as equipt at one point for a bit. This does not happen much or last long but it does happen time to time. If a customer does not want to wait they do not have to and they do not have to wait or go out on their trip they rented and we offer full refunds. This customer decided to wait and go.We did have approx. 6 not decide to wait and came back and got full refunds without issue.
Third.We did not have any missing cusotmers on the river that day and have not had any all year and never lost anyone on the river to date. This cusomter came back in right after they returned making a report and did not even give ample time for the other person to return. Boaters can leave at the same time but do not always come right back in at the same time. A report on our end was taken into consdieration but no action as required at that point as they did returned.
This explains the issues on the business end of this complaint.
Finally these customers harassed the office and its office staff several times on an ongoing basis as to at one point made threats to our staff as well as them hitting & pounding the office door with other customers,families & staff in their presence which was not good scene and for business.Their kids were opening items in the store withour paying or for any regard for what they were doing. I was not on location at this point yet but instructed our staff to have them removed from the park and these customers refused. At this point I instructed the manager to call the police to have them removed. After the policed came to handle the situation they came to the conclustion they were very intoxicated and could not be put out to drive but if we had any more issues with them to have them come back and than they would arrest them at that point and remove them from the park. We could however move them to the parking lot area till they sobered up to leave.I instructed staff to have them removed from thier campsite to the parking lot. Again they refused to do this. At this point I just got onsite in the park and went to their location and stated to them how this was going to be handled.I also stated we had their actions on security video. I said this is my park and you will vacate your campsite and go to our parking area and if we had too the park would shut off their campsite utilities, etc. and if we have any other issues from them I would call the police again and than they would be arrested for prosecution.What happened after that is a sober nice women from their group came up to me and admitted all their wrongs that took place and was really sorry and and she had a baby in her hand and said all she wanted the grouop to be able to do is stay the night and they wouldn't give us any more issues and they would leave in the morning to never return. I said that will work but apoligize to the manager in our office. They said they would but never did that. They were good after that discussion with me and they left the next day without issue but they did keep complaining to our security staff later that night of what took place and again no apoligy was ever made.Once our staff was put into a threatening situation and our office door being pounded their was no reasoning at that point and a line was crossed and it was time to be removed and vacated.I feel were were very nice in this case considering what took place and there is no negociation to be made.
Mohican Reservation, Inc in this case is not going to issue any refunds.
Thank you!
**********************, President
Mohican Reservation, Inc.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/18/2011Problems with Product / Service
07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: We reserved sites- not usable when we arrived (flooded). Refused refund of deposit as we had to find camping elsewhere. Rude, hung up on us
We reserved 4 sites from them for family get together 4 months ago. When we arrived sites were with standing water and flooding, with no indication usable. Requested refund and not willing to discuss. Told by owner could not help us and to talk with manager. When I called manager she would not listen to me, interupting, yelling, sarcastic, then hung up. We had to make arrangements to camp elsewhere but want deposit back as the sites were not usable and as advertised. $210 depost.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Christopher Snively, Pres
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: mohicamp@bright.net
I was personally in our office and do not agree with the consumers complaint. The sites were usable as we had campers all over our park. I have been in busienss at this location over 25 years. Customer satisfaction & service is a key as well as improvements to our park & staff. Camping is an outdoor activity but a few of the sites were very wet with some standing water due to a week full of heavy rains. The front desk clerk at the time onsite did not have the authority to issue a refund in this certain case but the office manager & owner did. I am the owner and mentioned & suggested we could move them and offer another site that was not wet or issue a rain check.Either was satisfsactory to him. He went on & on and ranted and raved and even threatend our staff and was bacially out of control. Even lieing so I had to personally & quitely escort him to the door and to vacate the park immediately. I told him as well as the office manager said a full refund would be giving which it was issued on the credit card. This case is & has been resloved and a full refund was issued on their credit card. Thank you!

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am saying no only because your message says saying yes means we are completely satisfied. I am satisfied in that we finally got our refund after several initial refusals and being yelled at by he, his manager, and staff. Much of what he writes is a fabrication and misrepresentation of what occurred. It was his staff and he who were threatening (to me over the phone as well as my brother while there) and both he and manager initially refused to return deposit. However, as we have our refund and his response indicates his low level of professionalism, I have no interest in further effort.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

06/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Campgrounds & RV Parks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 04/01/1987
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 4 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 04/30/2015.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1987, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Snively (President)Customer Contact: Mrs. Jennifer Settles (Vice President)
Business Category

Campgrounds & RV Parks

Products & Services

This company offers one of Ohio's Most Scenic Rustic Riverfront Sites! RV's & Tent Camping.Canoeing, Kayaking, Rafting & Tubing. Cabins, Tent & Tipi Rentals.Catering - Live Entertainmnet. Speical Group Rates & Packages. Home of the Great Mohican Indian Pow-Wow!

Refund and Exchange Policy

No Refunds.Rain Checks Only under strict review of the situation.

Alternate Business Names
Mohican Reservation Campgrounds & Canoeing, Mohican Reservation, Inc.
Industry Tips
Summer Camp Programs

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mohican Reservation Campgrounds & Canoeing

23270 Wally Rd.

Loudonville, OH 44842

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 23270 Wally Rd. 

    Loudonville, OH 44842(800) 766-2267
    (740) 599-6631

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mohican Reservation Campgrounds & Canoeing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (740) 599-6631

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (740) 599-5720
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Campgrounds & RV Parks

Summer Camp Programs
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.