BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/1988

Twinsburg Goodyear

Phone: (330) 425-9191Fax: (330) 963-36949315 Darrow Rd, TwinsburgOH 44087 Send email to Twinsburg Goodyear

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/1988

BBB has determined that Twinsburg Goodyear meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Twinsburg Goodyear's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Twinsburg Goodyear
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (Complaint entered by Cleveland BBB staff - LST) Consumer originally paid $623 ($523 & $100 diagnostic fee) for repairs recommended by Company which included replacing battery and starter. Vehicle drove fine for 3 weeks and then died on the freeway. Consumer brought vehicle back. Company now says their initial diagnosis was wrong and Consumer must pay additional $1000 for a power module. In addition, when Consumer went to p/u vehicle she found the windshield has been damaged while in Company's possession.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
***********************************************************
(330)*********

December 2, 2013

Better Business Bureau
Attn: *************

RE: Case#*********


Dear Mr.******

Mrs. ***** had her vehicle towed into our facility on 10/25/13 because she said her vehicle started to make a loud screeching noise and then quit while driving, then would not restart. She gave us signed permission to diagnose the vehicle.

Our technician diagnosed a damaged starter and bad battery to start. We could not go any further on diagnosis until these items were repaired as we needed the vehicle to be able start to do any further diagnosis. She authorized those repairs to start.

After making those repairs and getting the vehicle running the only other engine related issue we found was a code logged into the vehicle computer for a crank sensor issue, which did not relate to her screeching complaint. There were many other mechanical issues the vehicle needed, as we will send along a copy of our technicians write up with this letter, but none related to her initial complaint.

We informed her after driving the vehicle multiple times on the roadways and rechecking for related issues we could not duplicate her complaint. We do not just sell customer parts or try to guess what is happening to a vehicle unless we can quantify the issue, we understand she may have had another issue, but if the problem is intermittent and the vehicle is running fine at the time it is in the shop we can only repair the issues at hand and that is all we charged her for. We acknowledged all that to her and let her know if the screeching problem happens again to bring it back in for further diagnosis.

Obviously the deeper issue was very intermittent, as the vehicle was towed back in to us on 11/14/13 with the same complaint as on the original date. That was 3 weeks after it left originally. Three weeks for the original complaint to happen again is extraordinarily intermittent. I cant imagine the cost one would have to charge to keep a technician on a vehicle for 3 weeks or more to get a vehicle to act up with that kind of intermittent issue and no manufacturers diagnostics codes showing or any other tell tale issue.

After inspecting the vehicle the second time we found the starter was damaged again, upon pulling it out of the engine, this time we were able to see marks from where it looked as if the starter motor was engaging the flywheel after the engine was already running, causing this damage to happen.

The problem being why is the starter motor engaging very intermittently after the motor is already running. After replacing the starter motor the second time, again this issue would not occur in the shop or during our multiple road tests, and with no manufacturers warning lights or diagnostic codes to work with.

We then proceeded to spend multiple hours trying to diagnose an issue that again was not happening. We did this by a process of elimination of wiring by continuity testing, following a schematic and eliminating all possibilities, except for the TIPM computer module, which of course the manufacturer has no direct test for, you can only try to eliminate everything else and the replace the module with a good known part and see if it cures your issue, which obviously in this case may take several weeks to find out as the problem was that intermittent.

In this particular case we were convinced this was the problem, a computer that was very intermittently shorting out and trying to start the engine when it was not supposed to. We then called the customer with our diagnostic opinion, gave a price on the repair for parts and labor with only a minimum diagnostic charge of one half hour although we spent many multiple man hours diagnosing.

The customer declined the repairs, we replaced the second starter at no charge even though it was not the starters fault it was damaged. The customer was advised we cannot control defective manufacturer's parts and intermittent issues. The cost of the repair would have been the same to the customer had the problem been discovered the first time although they would have paid more for the diagnostic's initially, which we did not charge them for the second time.

Initially we did not do the wiring testing and process of elimination as we could not see the starter damage marks and could not duplicate the customers' complaint, nor did we charge for it. We only initially charged for what we checked and repaired.

We did everything on the same professional basis as we always do, engaging the customer in the process. We only wish it was simple to find intermittent issues as I am sure doctors do too. We understand that people do not realize that there are far more electronics on a car today than the Apollo 13 that went to the moon.

As far as the windshield crack, the vehicle was towed in to our facility. The crack was there when the vehicle arrived here. I myself saw it along with the technician and pointed it out to the service writer before we performed any service. Also we did no work in the area of the crack. Last but not least many cracks start from a stone or debris chip and could be exacerbated from the stress of being winched up or the front end being lifted up and towed. Just a thought on my part if the customer says it was not there before. We have no way of confirming it.



Sincerely
*************
Owner


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was a crack across the entire windshield, which was not there when it was dropped off. I was at Goodyear when the car was dropped off, and the damage was not there at that time.

Final Business Response
In response to Mrs. *****'s windshield crack. Yes, there was a crack in the windshield the morning after the vehicle was towed back in to our facility, we did not cause any damage to the windshield. We assumed that she was aware the her windshield was cracked at the time, there is a very visible stone chip where the crack started directly in the middle of the windshield where the defrost vent duct is located.

The crack in the windshield was derived from the chip. The most plausible cause is from heat, in this weather, the constant freezing and heating of the windshield with a chip will cause a crack very quickly. Also the stress from towing, lifting vehicle onto tow truck may have caused the crack. We have no idea what company towed this vehicle and if they noted any windshield crack.

To be amicable towards Mrs. *****, we will extend the offer of replacing her windshield for the cost of goods. I have estimated Mrs. *****'s cost to replace at $150.00. If she wishes to have the windshield replaced, we will need a one day notice to order the windshield and she will need to drop off the vehicle for a day.

Thank you
*************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: invoice ******
worked on car went back with complaint was told not are problem
Went there on a Sat 5/11/2013 morning with a clunking noise on my car, they took it for a test drive, came and told me my rear shocks were bad. It would be $220 to fix & it would be about an hour, 45 minutes later service manger comes out and tells me that I also needed rear sway bar bushings but could not find the part (found @ TWINSBURG NAPA $8, 15 MINS AFTER leaving)so I would need to come back to get that fixed, at $15 for part and additional one and half hour labor charge of $150. (alot ot repeat labor charge) When car was ready price went to $270 (shop fees never mentioned). When drove the car to work on Mon. car still clunks & now it has a vibration on highway. Took it back, and went on test drive with Technician, he felt vibration,when we returned the Tech went in back and "***" came out told me (stantard lines) the tires needs balancing, brake pulsation, front tires, which he had charge me for. "NEVER" look under car to see if anything was wrong with work. Did not offer to check either. Told me I could take some where else. on Tues 5/14/2013 could drive car becuase vibration to bad for 30 mile commute.
(Had turn to around, now late for Work) This will be the last time I go there!

Business' Initial Response
In response to Mr. ******'s complaint, we have since resolved this matter. Mr. ******'s issue was due to the fact that he felt we did not give enough attention to the matter of his issues with his vehicle after he came in a second time. After that occurrence, we decided to contact Mr. ******, apologize, give his issues more time to satisfy his concerns, after which he tried to make his own repairs after our inspection. Some items he could not repair and he has since come in on 05/30/13 to have us finish his repairs, and left a satisfied customer.

Sincerely
*****************************

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response. A communication error and vehicle has since been repair to complete satisfaction

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
03/30/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 06/01/1988
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Fozio (President)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers auto repair services and tires.

Alternate Business Names
Fozio Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Twinsburg Goodyear

9315 Darrow Rd

Twinsburg, OH 44087

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9315 Darrow Rd 

    Twinsburg, OH 44087(330) 425-9191

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Akron. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Twinsburg Goodyear is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 24, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.